We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A true five star hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is perfect. They even have their own house boat to take you across the river to the sky train. I am not exaggerating when I say this was the best breakfast spread I've ever seen in my life. Set your alarm early and go to town. The management and staff were superb. This is a world class hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParanoidBernzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,502
    623
    148
    41
    35
See reviews for
811
1,998
234
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phillan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

4.5 stars

We were here for a few days around new year's eve 2013/2014 (I've taken some time to write the review) and generally enjoyed the experience. People have written superlatives about the hotel, most of which I don't disagree with, so I will contribute only some thoughts that may help other readers.

First, I'd like to note that we were paying inflated prices for this hotel on New Year's Eve (about US$800/night incl tax for a deluxe room). At most times of year, this hotel is a great bargain -- in fact only 1 week after our stay, our room rate would have easily covered a suite. I mention this because my expectations at the higher price level are higher (even if they shouldn't be).

The location of the hotel is perhaps not as convenient as the Mandarin Oriental. The boat line that serves many of the tourist destinations stops across the river, as does the train, and requires a separate (ableit charming) boat cross the river to the Penn. Although the Penn boat is charming, it's a minor inconvenience to do more than once or twice a day.

We were on the 27th floor, and had a room that had a musty smell. I assume there is some leak around the windows, which I can imagine get quite soaked during heavy rains. It was bad enough that upon being escorted into the room for the first time, we asked for something to be done. They placed a dehumidifier in the room (they had it ready, which made me wonder), but it didn't do much. We quickly got used to the smell, but it's something that could be improved.

I didn't care for the Oscar de la Renta bath products. I know, I know -- who cares. But, to me, they smelled cheap compared with the luxury products found in many 5 star hotels.

As others have commented, the food here is just ok. The breakfast buffet is great -- but lunch and dinner items are not memorable. In fairness, they're not that expensive, either (compared to US east coast prices).

Other things: As others have commented, the pool area is great -- really does feel like a resort in the city... Views are great. The service is generally impeccable and nothing is too much. While it is a fairly large property with tourist buses letting off large groups, the property is large enough to absorb them without too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the peninsula for one night, and in my opinion, this is the best place to stay in thailand. Really attentive and helpful staff. Will be back for sure and will recommend anyone I know without a moments hesitation to stay here. Amazing place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mariodidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Marioddidier,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you are impressed with our service and will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Bangkok on your next trip to Thailand.

Best Regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is fantastic. The staff, location, food, quality of the rooms all exceed expectations. If you want a special place to stay in Bangkok I think this is it. We stayed here for three nights, I wish it could have been more. The attention to detail is excellent and with the boats outside on the river boats to take you anywhere you want to go this is a great location. Go and I'm sure you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have just returned home after staying at the Peninsula Bangkok for a week. I last stayed there 7 years ago and it is still an exceptional place to stay. Is this the best Hotel in the World? I think that only the other Peninsula Hotels are in a position to argue differently. Why do I rate it so highly? While the rooms and facilities are first class in every way, the staff are, every single one of them, superb and committed to making each guest's stay as happy and memorable as possible.

Getting a hotel car from the airport is much more expensive than a standard taxi but it is a great way to start a holiday and also eliminates any hassles when arriving tired after a long flight. We were told by email exactly where the Peninsula representative would be waiting for us and there he was, and one minute later we were on our way to the hotel.
Check in was done in the room and then as fast as we could get changed we were headed for the pool.
Aaah, the pool; just looking at photos of the pool (actually 3 pools at different levels) doesn't prepare you for the joyful experience of paddling around surrounded by lush garden and seeing and hearing the traffic on the river at the end of the pool area.

We had a grand deluxe balcony room on level 27; there are 2 of these room on each floor and while the climate in Bangkok for much of the year might not make you want to linger outside for long, it is great to be able to see what the weather is like and get away from the aircon (which can be turned off if need be). The bed is large and feels firm but produces the soundest sleep we have ever experienced in a hotel; i think the Peninsula could have a profitable business selling the beds to happy guests. There was a dressing area with ample hanging and storage space and a large bathroom with two vanities, a large shower and a deep bath with a tv above it.

On our first night we had dinner at Thiptara restaurant - Thai cuisine in traditional wooden buildings or open air along the river. We had a tasting menu of regional dishes and each dish was excellent.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and was a buffet at the River Cafe; again, excellent. The start of each day was delayed because of the temptation of linger reading newspapers and returning the the buffet to taste something new (while something as simple as baguette and hotel made jam was eaten every day of our stay because of the stunning goodness of the bread and the not seen before flavors of jam and marmalades).

Friends joined us one afternoon for a swim and then dinner at the River Cafe; an exceptional spread and the desserts were a hit with everyone; although we did all think that we should have started with the desserts as we were a bit full by the time we got to the end of the meal.

One of us had a facial and a massage (the best ever) at the Spa. Highly recommended!

Other reviewers have commented on the hotel being on the 'wrong' side of the river; it is not; it is just on a different side of the river, and its location allows each day's adventures to start and end with a boat ride in one of the hotels beautiful wooden boats. For me, the Peninsula's location is one of its attractions. Also, all the rooms face towards the morning sun, rather then the much hotter afternoon sun.

i highly recommend a stay at the Peninsula Bangkok.

Room Tip: book a grand balcony room. i have also stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and the separate living area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ross B,

We truly appreciate the effort and time you’ve taken to give such a detailed account of your stay with us at The Peninsula Bangkok. As you have described, our unique location by the river, our lush and tropical surroundings, our facilities (especially the pool and spa) and of course, our staff, are all the reasons why we are so proud to be ranked amongst the best hotels in the city. Feedback such as yours is invaluable to us and to our staff who thrive on exceeding the guests’ expectations and delivering on our promise of exceptional service. We’re happy to count you as a loyal Peninsula guest and look forward to welcoming you back to Bangkok or to any of our other stunning properties around the world.

Best Regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usady, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Peninsula Bangkok was an amazing experience. The staff, the service, the apartment, all so much above expectation. This is truly the place to stay. Everything you read is better in person. A special holiday, this is the place. Thank youThe Peninsula Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gku2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear gku2014,

We are always happy to hear from guests who are satisfied with our hotel’s unique location, facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another memorable stay in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Top Hotel second time staying at the Penisula will be back in Feb 2015 have stayed in many hotels in Bkk this is the best 5 star quality all the time Grand dulux Balcony room superb the views were stunning

Room Tip: the higher you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinj w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 862 in Bangkok
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing