We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel & Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at Peninsula for 5 nights in July/2014. We got a transfer from the hotel, a very nice BMW equipped with wifi and mineral water. We arrived at Peninsula around 11 in the morning and for our surprise that room was ready to us.
I got a Balcony Room and received a upgrade for the Grand Balcony Room, from there we got an amazing view... The service was impeccable, we have absolutely nothing to complain.
We had dinner two time at Thiptara, the food and service it is just amazing!
The only thing that I have to complain is about the boat that stop work at midnight, even in the weekend, but it wasn't any major problem as well.
I really recommend The Peninsula Hotel in Bangkok.

kob kun krab :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the top floor with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Gustavo P,

Having a balcony so high up in a city is quite unique these days. Glad you enjoyed being able to take in the views of the city from it. Also, we really appreciate the comments about our team and service. How well you are looked after can make or break a hotel. That you are prepared to recommend us shows that the team in this case made it!

We look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,458
    615
    147
    41
    35
See reviews for
793
1,976
231
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful luxury hotel with amazing staff.felt very pampered. Riverside location away from the hustle of downtown Bangkok. Boat ride across the river very regal but it takes a long time in the heat to get via boat then sky train to main shopping district. Taxis refused to take us either there or back citing the traffic disruptions caused by rioters.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear silver57,

Sorry to hear that you were caught up in the protests in the city. They did make moving around quite difficult for a little time. Being on our side of the river does provide that little bit of peace and calm.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was the perfect place to stay in Bangkok. It really offered its guests with the comfort and quiet of a luxury hotel, with the proximity to the main city areas. It was accessible to all the attractions and their boat service to the other side of the water was fast (we never waited more than 5 minutes). The concierge was extremely helpful in assisting the planning of our three days in the city and had good recommendations. The breakfast buffet was very large with many varieties and we were able to eat outside on the balcony with the wonderful views. Relaxing at the pool after a busy day sightseeing was a welcome relief to the heat and still afforded views of the city! Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaNYC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear VictoriaNYC06,

Only a short boat ride across the river but a whole different perspective of Bangkok becomes visible. Looking back at the city, particularly at night is a great site and being those few minutes away provides just enough of a buffer to make it feel like a relaxing world away.
Thank you for the nice comments. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at the Peninsula on several occasions and it never fails to deliver. Great hotel, great location and wonderful staff! This trip was our honeymoon and the hotel did everything it could to make our visit very special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritRockdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear BritRockdoctor,

As a supporter of Peninsula already, it is great to be able to have you with us for such a special occasion as well. Glad to hear the team looked after you. It is a special time, memories to last a lifetime.

We look forward to welcoming you back for anniversaries in the future.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Travelled with a family of 4 ( 2 adult, 1 infant and a 4 years old) Booked a one bedroom suite with twin beds for 4 nights. The normal check in time was 2pm, we were 10 minutes early a Japanese gentleman behind the front desk insisted that we waited at the lobby because the checked into the time was 2pm. I was a bit puzzled as I looked at my watch it was only 10 mintues till then but since the family was tired and did not want to be difficult so we waited. Frankly for such a renown hotel I was surprised by the lack of consideration.

The room looked as we expected to be clean and spacious with the baby crib and a complimentary baby basket. However when I looked in the bedroom it was a standard king size bed which was disspointing since requested for a twin. Once informed he rectified straight away. The house keeping was prompt and apologetic as they could see that we were tired and the kids were uneasy.

Once they left I was shocked because from a standard king, they just split the beds into 2 to make 2 singles. The beds were not even standard single beds. They were ridiculously small. While the beds themselves were comfortable but my husband is 6.1" so he had to stay in one position to prevent from falling.

The next morning I went to the front desk. This time it was a Japanese lady. I informed her my problem, she did not even let me finish she immidiately said " They are typical twin beds. We don't have anything bigger than that.." The attitude was impolite and unprofessional.
Since she could not assist nor give me a better option, I asked her to turn the rediculously small beds into a standard King for me and my husband, and get an extra bed for my 3 years old.

My comments are not about value for money. Because we all know if you look for the most for your bucks you would need to look elsewhere. The brand represents luxury, prestigious, quality and comfort which the price reflex in everyway therefore rightly so for those who book at Peninsular Hotel they would want more than just a standard king bed. Also the hotel should put a clause on the web that state if you are looking for twin beds in one bedroom suite it highly not recommended should you be taller than 6".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Am P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Am P,

We are certainly very sorry to hear of your experience and thank you for your comments. Should you wish to discuss further the short comings of your stay, please do contact the Hotel directly, we would appreciate the chance to follow up with you personally.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly for the price we were disappointed. The hotel is becoming run down particularly the rooms. We were also disappointed with the food & the service which clearly was not 5*. We stayed at Sheraton Grande on Sukhumvit which was in a different league in terms of service, food, rooms, swimming pool, breakfast....i could go on but you get the idea!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Assistant Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear james a,

Warmest greetings from The Peninsula Bangkok.

I have noted with great regret that you have not been fully satisfied with our food and service. I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

Best regards,
Somchai Pongcharoen
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was slightly concerned at booking this hotel because of its location on the opposite side of the river where I would normally stay, but I am so delighted that I made this visit to the Peninsula. Actually its position makes it perfect for a quiet escape from the noisy and chaotic parts of the city. Additionally the hotel, whilst being grand and quite traditional, does also have a resort feel about it, since its spa, pools and riverside location offered so many areas for true relaxation and pampering. Check-in was flawless and I was swiftly taken to my 30th floor grand deluxe room, which was highly spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping was fantastic throughout my 6 day stay. Service at the pools was first class and always appreciated: cold drinks served immediately on arrival, free ice creams served and lovely lunches to be enjoyed too. The salas provided great space for lazing and reading. I enjoyed room service meals...beautifully presented and ably served. The Thai restaurant is a great setting for an evening meal and again service so friendly and helpful. Staff at the Riverside Cafe were so kind to me each morning at breakfast and quickly learnt my favourite items and had them ready to serve! Concierge services were very good. Two disappointments (minor)...terrible service at the Business Centre (how antiquated) and on one occasion I was badly dealt with by one of the front door staff who seemed too busy chatting to open my taxi door!
All in all this is a wonderful hotel and during this rainy season there are many good deals to be had! I will certainly return soon!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JimDKL,

It is great you had the chance to spend than a few nights relaxing at our "resort in the city". Looking back on the city from our side of the river affords wonderful views, a more relaxed atmosphere while only being a 5 minute boat ride away from one of the liveliest cities in the world.

Sorry to hear there were a few lapses in service, we will work to improve these and do apreciate your feedback.

Hopefully we can welcome you back when you are next looking to relax in the city!

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing