We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in the luxury segment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #11 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the peninsula in August for 2 nights. This as been our second stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the check-in process was very swift and we were escorted up to our rooms. To our surprise one of our two rooms was upgraded to a suite, which was very spacious and elegantly furnished and had a big bathroom with a TV by the bathtub.
We stayed on the 28th floor and had a beautiful view over the river and the city.
For breakfast we went to the River Terrace and Cafe and had the buffet breakfast there. The choices were overwhelming: Thai fare like curries, Chinese dim sum, fresh fruit with a mango station, eggs prepared to ones liking, western cheeses and meats, a variety of breads and rolls, etc.
Even though the breakfast was buffet style, the river terrace had a quaint atmosphere. The service however was lacking. It took too long to clear the tables of used dishes, which kept piling up and the personnel wasn't too friendly and attentive.
We also tried this restaurant at night, buffet style, and found the same to be true.
The bar next door has a good variety of cocktails, friendly service, but the chairs and sofas are a bit outdated, made out of plastic and uncomfortable.
The swimming pool was especially popular with our kids, but doesn't have a kids area where the little ones can stand up in.
The cabanas are a nice touch and free of charge ice-cream is served occasionally.
The spa is great and has a very friendly reception staff. The atmosphere is tranquil and relaxing. We tried a couple of facials and massages and were impressed.
Upon a swift and friendly check-out, we asked for our luggage to be brought down to the river boat, which was so fast and efficient that it arrived there before us. They even had a boat from a different hotel we were going to already waiting for us.
All in all a great upscale, luxury hotel to which we will certainly return to next time we are in Bangkok.

Room Tip: High floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnMaLaJo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear AnmalLaJo H,

Thank you for staying with us together with your family earlier this month. Your detailed account about your stay is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to learn that you got the chance to take advantage of most of our facilities and services during your stay with us. However, we are sorry to hear that we are unable to live up to your expectations with regard to a few areas of the hotel, and we will certainly look into ways of improving the guest experience in this respect.

In the meantime, we would welcome the opportunity to have you and your family back with us in the near future.

Best regards,
Rolf Buelhmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 4,472 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed at the Peninsula hotel in Bangkok three times and enjoyed every minute. While it has not been for 2 years I still savor every minute I spent there. The first time I stayed there was during the SARS scare and I was anxious about my first stay in Bangkok. I knew of the Peninsula standard from their property in Hong Kong so I searched online and luckily found a great deal and booked my room. There is nothing better than being met at the airport by a uniformed chauffeur bearing a signboard with your name and being whisked away to the comfort of the hotel limousine with cold water and the newspaper waiting. Every time I have been greeted by name when I arrive at the hotel entrance and greeted as if an old friend. The hotel is pure refined elegance and the rooms fabulous. On one trip I was arrived at midnight and was told that because the tje hotel was full I was being put in the suite adjoining the Presidential suite. WOW! days of luxury. Who could waste time sleeping? The location is great because you have a convenient shuttle across the river- but also have a feeling of discrete separation from the frenetic city. The restaurants are superb and offer a chance to eat at all of them progressively at a great price. I use the Peninsula as my standard when staying around the world. One last word- the staff is unparalleled in providing discrete but personalized service. Never fawning but always solicitous I always feel pampered and cosseted in Thai hospitality. I look forward to my next visit with great anticipation.

Room Tip: All the room s face the river so there are no bad rooms- but the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBWJerusalemIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear CBW Jerusalemls,

Thank you for your thorough account regarding your past stay with us. We appreciate your trust in our brand and are pleased to learn that we have managed to exceed your expectations during your visit.
Like so many other business travellers, you have recognised the convenience of reaching the city by shuttle boat and BTS SkyTrain within a short period of time, but still feeling a natural separation from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok by crossing the Chao Phraya River.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon to The Peninsula Bangkok or to any other of our hotels around the world.

Best regards,
Rolf Buelhmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 6 days and it's one of the best hotel i stayed in. Big very clean spacious rooms ( our room was facing the river - with balcony ) good friendly service and compelete with amenities. Location is very accessible ( i love the shuttle boat river crossing - it was a brilliant experience ) to city centre and various local restaurants and shops. There's selection of breakfast .. asian, continental, vegetarian, hot and cold.. simply a massive buffet. The dining experience in the hotel was brilliant as well. The spa and the pool is one the best.

Will definitely go back here. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Request a river view hotel + balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Angelickho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Angelickho,

It was a pleasure to read your observations during your recent stay with us, and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your week at The Peninsula Bangkok to its fullest.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon for another vacation in Thailand.

Best regards,
Rolf Buelhmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

One of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in, it is the standard I now use when judging other hotels.

I'll say almost everything was great about the hotel, even the breakfast buffet had lots of interesting items.

The shuttle boat also takes you near the train that connects to the airport if you want to get to the airport for 3 dollars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieBearington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mr Richie Bearington,

Thank you for considering The Peninsula Bangkok as one of the greatest hotels. We feel extremely honoured receiving such feedback. Comments such as yours motivate the entire team to continue to provide great service and memorable experiences to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Rolf Buelhmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Despite staying in luxury hotels all over the world, I still rate the BKK Pen as one of my favourite hotel stays. The service is impeccable. The hotel full of old world character and charm. The spa is one of the best I've ever used. The only downside is that the restaurants are a little quiet these days and the location is not central. But, if you are looking for somewhere perfect for a few days relaxing after a hectic Asia trip then I can't think of anywhere better in BKK.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 5StarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Assistance Director of Food & Beverage at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear 5StarSteve,

Warmest greetings from The Peninsula Bangkok!

Thank you for your kind comment regarding your recent stay with us. It is with great pleasure to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your leisure time in our hotel, especially The Spa. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Somchai Pongchareon
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok four times now and regard it as one of the best hotels in the world. Its location on the river provides easy access to downtown via car, boat or train, as well as a pleasant retreat from the bustling city. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed, with most providing great views of the city and river. The buffet breakfast on the terrace beside the river is luxuriant in choices and quality. The service is second to none thanks to dedicated, friendly and considerate staff who care for your every need. Special thanks to Weeranart Chueawatthanakun at the front office for his outstanding professionalism.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for being such loyal guests at The Peninsula Bangkok. It is always a pleasure to read comments from returning guests that put us on the same level with some of the best hotels in the world. It will be our pleasure to share your kind feedback with all the concerned staff, especially with Khun Weeranart, who is one of our team members that goes above and beyond to make sure that our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Room was modern and the river view was great. Pool was nice and stayed open late. Breakfast choices were plenty. They treated my daughter (4 years old) like a princess the whole trip. It was great!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bonnie2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bonnie2420,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us, you really have made our day. And how should we treat your four-year-old daughter other than the princess that she is?

Next time you are travelling this way, please do make the time to stop by and stay for a few more nights.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
8,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £155 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing