We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment we got off the plane to the time we left. They made sure everything was perfection. They offered complimentary breakfast buffet which was delicious, offering almost anything you can think of. Excellent food, service and staff. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Gym & saunas were great. The best part was taking the hotels ferry boats across the river at no charge. We took advantage of the private tours they had which was the best thing to do while sightseeing. No need to get lost. There was a driver always waiting in an air conditioned Mercedes van taking us everywhere while our guide would give us the history and showing us around. He would even stop for to do some shopping. Ice cold water and wet towels for your hands was available after being in the sun viewing each sight. The airport transfer from the hotel is a must. They pick you up and take you in the hotel's Mercedes car with staff taking you and your luggage all the way into the airport at check in. You don't have to lift a finger. We went by a few other hotels in Bangkok and the Peninsula is the newest and best hotel by far. I highly recommend you stay here at the 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasakiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,323
    588
    140
    38
    34
See reviews for
750
1,904
222
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Well, I am a bit upset that this hotel was just so good. So the only thing I can criticize is that it was ''too perfect''. We arrived before check in time... "No problem, your room is ready." We had booked the cheapy room? " No problem, here you got a suite upgrade..." We are leaving at 6 am and can't make it to breakfast buffet? "No problem, free room service breakfast"... Joking aside, where else do you see such a pattern of great servicing? Reservation personal was so accomodating with changes that I was impressed... Check in was pleasant, nothing like smily and polited staff who do try their very best for the best service when you are after a day of travel ... We were walked in to the room by the front desk staff... The room was a very nice and spacious suite, with great view of the river and the other little hotels (Mandarin included)... It was classy and nicely furnished, with extra comfort sparks like a TV in the bathtube... The Gym was a bit small but adequate for a travel work out... The grounds were very nice, great front garden, a very nice river cafe/bar where the staff was attentive but not sufocating... The breakfast buffet was great, variety and quality superior to most, if not all, 5 star hotels sunday brunches in the US.... The only thing they did not have was mimosas (We were there in a mid week period) included in the juice bar... We took the river boat many times, always pleasant staff. We also had a sunset boat trip organized by the hotel, where wine and canapes were served with the sight of great temples and night sights of Bangkok... Few hotels I really want to go back to but the Peninsula Bangkok is a real bliss and tops that list...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miamian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
306 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The Peninsula overlooks the Chaoprayha river with gorgeous views of the ferries and barges plying the waterway. At breakfast you can sit by the water at the River Cafe and enjoy a coffee and croissant looking out at the magnificent old customs house.

The accent is on heavy luxury with thick carpets, antique artwork in the lift lobbeys, and dark wood furniture and fittings. The bathrooms are large, with marble floors, segregated showers and toilets and baths. Newspapers are not crassly hung on the doorhandle outside the bedroom, but are discretely placed in a special pigeonhole in the foyer to the room. The pool is large and spacious with teak sun loungers; the towels are thick and sumptuous; there's a spa - all is as you would hope for in a fine hotel in the grand European tradition, right down to the gilded lampstands and vellum stationary.

There were a couple of areas for improvement. The lifts can be slow at peak times. The television in the room was tiny and was an old cathode ray number. For some reason there is no kettle provided (although housekeeping did send one up with a selection of teas). But it seems churlish to criticise when the most things are perfect about the establishment.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed a few night here in a $130 night room overlooking the river. The rooms are large and very nice. The breakfast is great and the service is top notch. To get to the city take a boat taxi across the river to the sky train.

It's monkey-hot in the summer, so be prepared to sweat all the time when you're out. I ate at the hotel almost all the time just to make sure I didn't get sick. Probably too cautious, but I never had any problems.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

I won't add to what others have said, but might instead compare it to the Oriental, across the river.

Firstly, I found the Peninsula to be quiet, which is exactly what I wanted. It was a great 'retreat' from Bangkok's heat and busy pace. In comparison, I found the Oriental to be be a lot busier, with day trippers, visitors etc, giving it the feel of being an attraction. In this regard, I find that its easier to be 'lost' amongst the crowd as a guest at the Oriental than it was at the Peninsula.

Room wise, I had a great corner room with sweeping views of the river. I liked the electronic gadgets the room had and the way it was designed, with an ingenious dressing area. The design of the safe and the compartment that stored the shoe horn, etc was similarly well thought out. In comparison to the Oriental, the room was thickly carpeted whereas the Oriental room I had, concentrated on a more colourful, historic feel, giving it a lot more character. On points, I'd give it to the Peninsula for comfort reasons.

I can recommend the night buffet at the Peninsula, as with Thiptara, the Thai restaurant, where I had a pricey but excellent meal. I would have to say that whilst excellent, the variety of options at the Oriental pips the Peninsula. I much prefer the fantastic shop at the Oriental and bought some bedsheets there. The bakery there is similarly good value and excellent.

Breakfast wise, I have had better at other, cheaper hotels than I have had at either the Oriental or the Peninsula, though would have to say the buffet I had at the Peninsula was excellent, though charging 90 baht for bottles of plain nestle water was a bit cheeky.

As to staff, I would say that the Peninsula had more consistently 'excellent' staff than the Oriental by far. The pool guys at the Peninsula were far nicer than the ones at the more cramped Oriental pool. Room service was exceptional at the Peninsula, I didn't even see a vaccum cleaner, everything was done by stealth, amazing. At the Oriental, my room was across the hall from the attendant's station, where the hall staff would congregate and be pretty loud, to the extent where I wondered if I was in a two star Chinese hotel instead.

Overall, I recommend the Peninsula and will stay there again, though do have one suggestion, in comparison to say the Banyan Tree the bathroom amenities are poor. Bath salts etc wouldn't hurt considering the attention paid to all other details.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maugrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

This hotel is perfect one in Bangkok i've stayed. it is very nice hotel with ideal location for tourist and business. I will com back soo with our family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonytran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel is ideal for anyone who is coming to Asia for the first time. It is the perfect place to recover from your 18 hours of travel before you begin to travel around the region. It is a true five star hotel with plasma screens in the bathrooms and all of the modern toys you would expect from a James Bond film. If you are a regular to Bangkok and want to experience the city life - then the location may be a bit out of the way. For those who are just looking to relax by the pool alongside the river and then spend one evening exploring the city - then this is perfect. You can always take the boat across the river for drinks at the Oriental or at the State Tower.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,762 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing