We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious decadent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious decadent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

The Peninsular is slightly away but well connected. The Spa is fabulous. There as a conference going on and yet one could spend time without being hassled.

The service is very good but the front desk manager was irritating.

We used the spa treatments and when we werent happy with one of them, it was repeated next day free of cost. The Spa Manager was very friendly and gave good suggestions.

The food was not very good. especially since we are vegetarians there was little choice for lunches and dinners. Breakfasts were well laid and aplenty choices there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nahata101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,381
    601
    143
    40
    35
See reviews for
774
1,939
225
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

I have just returned from another wonderful stay at this hotel having stayed there five years ago and being suitably impressed. I have stayed in many hotels in Bangkok since but hands down the Peninsula is by far the best. Yes, my opinion is somewhat swayed by the wonderful oversized baths complete with inset television. But aside from that everything gleams, there is no sign of wear or tear anywhere in the hotel, the staff are professional and polite and the breakfasts are simply wonderful. The only slight downside is that it is the wrong side of the river and not in the heart of the shopping district for a shopaholic but that is such a small price to pay for a hotel that is run to perfect precision.
Book the Peninsular - even the fussiest of guest can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulublue32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for some of our honeymoon. It was perfection. The room was amazing and the attention to detail throughout the hotel was superb. The staff are fantastic and immaculately turned out. Everything was great. Couldn't fault it. Definitely one of my favourites - will return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kangaroo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

This hotel is so good! It was our third time in Bangkok (the other two staying at Banyan Tree) and will go back again and again.
I really don't know where to start from. The breakfast was an actual feast and the ability to eat outside next to the river makes it unique.
The reception and concierge staff are very efficient.
The room was not a large one but the view was just magnificent.
Last but not least are the "leisure" facilities, e.g. swimming pool, and of course the FANTASTI C SPA!
When I booked for a traditional thai I didn't expect this... The time that you can spend before your therapy in the lockers its a spa itself. Sauna, hamam, hot and cool splunge pools... By the time I had to do the massage I was half relaxed. The therapists are great. They asked me if I had any recent problems with sleeping, breathing, etc and when I told them about my trouble sleeping the therapist gave me to inhale an oil and she also put it on my chest. Believe me it was the first night out of five that had a great relaxing sleep.
My boyfriend used the gym and he came back speachless not because of the facilities themselves (its not big) but from the service.
I could go on and on with the restaurants etc but it wouldn't change the good impression.
Stay there, it worths every cent of it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This is a big luxury hotel just near the river. The room was very nice with luxury dark furniture. The room was good size, and so was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very good too, but when I leaved the table to get more food, when I came back my juice, tea and knife and everything was gone like I was finished after 5 min.!?
When I checked in I booked the Mercedes S-class to the airport. When I checked out the next day they didn’t know anything about my booking. And the staff didn’t seem to care either. This is not good for this kind of hotel. But the car was available so I got the trip anyway. But the Merc was 7 years old!
So The Peninsula was a good experience but some things is not “5 star”.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trondheim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This was the big splurge of our trip, and having read so many good things about it, there was a lot to live upto. The Peninsula did that and more! We were blown away with the service, food, room and amenities, and the location is the best. If you can afford the treat then this is a great place to base yourself to explore the worlds most exciting city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froghop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We spent two nights at the Peninsula in early October as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip. I loved the fact that it was on the other side of the river, it was part of the fun to travel back and forth in the the Pen's little boats and it took very little time indeed.

We had a balcony room with spectacular views but unfortunately it was far too hot to utilise the balcony except in the evenings. The room was beautiful with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, LCD TV, TV over the bath, dressing area, beautiful bathroom etc. The in room safe was not large enough for my lap top which I wasn't very happy with. The only complaint was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and we love our early morning coffee - however room service delivered a big pot of coffee in about 10 minutes.

The pool was beautiful, particularly if you get a sala with a fan and lights, very comfortable indeed.

We ate breakfast at the breakfast buffet, huge range but I wasn't greatly impressed with the egg chef, he did not seem able to cook a soft poached egg and due to the language barrier he kept telling me it needed 15-20 minutes to poach one!! I gave up and had fried eggs instead. The dinner buffet at the Riverside Terrace is fantastic value, beautiful freshly cooked food in a spectacular setting. We had toasted sandwiches in the restaurant and by the pool - they were very expensive but very, very big, you really only need one to share. We also had the afternoon tea as part of our package and that was very nice indeed. We also did the Sunset Cruise to the Temple of Dawn. I highly recommend this - for about $40AUD you get an hours cruise with spectacular scenery, very nice canapes and unlimited cocktails, wine or champagne. Excellent value.

As other people have mentioned, it is wonderful to use their Mercedes transfer service. We were taken to the airport and escorted inside, straight to the front of the Thai check-in queue. The driver took control of our lugage and passports and the Thai check-in staff completely ignored the fact that we had over 20kg more luggage than the allowance. The driver was quite surprised that we were flying economy though - I don't think they go to that queue very often!

Overall it was a very good hotel. We have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in KL and I felt the service there was just a bit better than at the Pen. Maybe next time we will try the Mandarin in Bangkok to see how that compares.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,905 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing