We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some small complaints overwise perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Some small complaints overwise perfect”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The hotel had a special package deal for thai citizen and expat residents so we decied to give it a try.

Up on entering the lobby I found that the reception/check-in desk was tucked away in the coner and the conceigre desk was smack in the middle of the lobby. The waiting are was small for a hotel of this size and 5 star rating. The check-in process was overall pretty slow, but because of the special promotion it was acceptable, if it was a normal day I'm sure it would be fast plus we were upgraded from a deluxe to grand deluxe room so no complaints.

The room it self although a bit old was very nice and well decorated. The multifuntional control that operarted everything in the room was a nice touch. Only have three complaints about the room.

The TV was a big disapointment, it was a small tube TV that is place in the entertainment center. What was really annoying was the remote in order to change channels ect. you would have to angle it a certain way and push really hard otherwise it would not change.

Another thing that I did not like was the A/C, when we got to the room it was pretty hot instead of the controls being near the door, the A/C setting are on the multifuction controls next to the bed and does not display the temperature. So at night it would change from hot to cold, the high and low settings are identical and I could not tell if it was working or not.

The bathroom and dressing is very nice and have no compliants here.

Service was good but not great, on our last night they had slipped a note under the door telling us that they enclosed a express check-out form for us to use, so instead of waiting in line to we could just drop it off at the concerige desk. Nice touch, but we had to look everywhere for it, eventually I gave up and the next day called to find that they placed in one of the drawers of the work deck, not only that it was mixed with envelopes that you could send to the GM for comments, somewhere that I never would've thought to look.

One last complaint was the telephone, the morning of our last day it would ring every 5-10 mins, each time it was fax was coming in we had to call the operator.

Breakfast was one the best I have had, selection was not as good as other places but everything was good.

Overall it has some small faults, but it would not stop from going back, and would recomend that you should stay atleast one time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,539
    630
    150
    42
    35
See reviews for
833
2,011
235
411
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the Bangkok Peninsula last July for my husband's birthday en route to Koh Samui to stay at The Sala Samui (another incredible hotel!!) and had the most amazing time - The Bangkok Peninsula has set the standard for us for staying in city hotels.....

We took a taxi from the airport and were a little bewildered when we were dropped down a narrow side street. However, a door opened and we were ushered through a luxurious waiting area, given cold towels and water and helped onto a boat which whisked us across the river to the hotel. It really was a lovely way to arrive.

The lady who checked us in then escorted us to our room and showed us all the amenities. It was much more personal than arriving at reception and then being handed over to a porter.

The pool area is fantastic - we had a day of lazing in one of the poolside sala's, being brought cold towels and fresh water. The sushi we had for lunch was incredible.

We would highly recommend trying dinner at the restaurant at The Banyan Tree hotel (almost opposite the Peninsula) which is al fresco on the 64th floor, a fabulous experience and whilst not cheap is certainly worth every penny. It is one of the most memorable meals we have had in terms of setting.

Breakfast at The Peninsula was an incredible buffet feast complete with real honeycomb dripping into a gulley and filling little bowls at the end. We sat on the terrace outside watching the boats going up and down the river, so relaxing for a city hotel!

So all in all, one of our favourite starts to a holiday......and the benchmark for city hotels. We are planning a trip to Hong Kong and will most definitely be checking in to the Peninsula!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We were not surprised but pleased by the continuously excellent services. The rooms are still nice but the TVs and bathrooms are a bit dated. Breakfast buffet was delicious. The gym allowed the extra breakfast calories to be indulged...The spa was pretty nice, as was the pool. In a city like Bangkok, it is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I had originally planned to stay at this hotel for 14 nights, but checked out after 3. The room was beautiful, service excellent, and food very good. However, even though we stayed on a non-smoking floor, we had smokers in the room next to ours. The smoke would come under our door and then get picked up into the ventilation system and spread throughout our suite. We even moved to another suite on a different non-smoking floor and the same thing happened - this time at 3am!

Their final solution was for us to move into a deluxe room for a night, then they would clean the suite and have us move back in....of course no guarantee smokers wouldn't once again move next to us. We decided this was much too much hassle and felt we were being penalized more than the smokers on the non-smoking floors.

We suspect it was members of a tour group who were ignoring the rules and smoking in their rooms. The Peninsula Bangkok staff needs to more strictly enforce the hotel rules and also not lower rates to the point of attracting poor mannered guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

having gone to pattya for our 2wk holiday and stayed at the dusit thani it was good-- but not the peninsula as we usually go to hongkong and stay at the pen their,it was time to try the pen bangkok-so we did it was like coming home right down to the british electrical sockets, room up grade x3 it was wounderful roomservice atreat and the breakfast mt son had 2plates of salmon.afternnon tea good but not hk standard.pools great as was food by the pool.free dvd's children love this overall fantastic!!! the pen hong kong next year, dusit thani was good but not the pen! city views from 32nd floor amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed 4 nights in July upgraded to Suite for $50 US per night. Was well worth it. Lovely lounge room, seperate bedroom, 2 toilets, lovely bathroom and the best views. Staff were excellent and pool lounges very comfortable. Was worth every cent as there are good deals at the moment. Also had a weekday Spa massage for $150 Aus 2 hours of treatment in an absolutely beautiful SPA.
Try restaurant on the river, 5 mins by taxi on the same side as Peninsula. Princess Terrace Pub and Restaurant. New riverside restaurant and with some of the best Thai food I've had. Not expensive either.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My boyfriend and i stayed in Peninsula Bangkok over weekend. Our first impression was how polite and professional the staff were. Our deluxe room was really nice. A view from our room was ablsolutely gorgeous. Spa was fantastic. The food was great, especially breakfast. My only complant is about the swimming pool. It was so crowded, too crowded that i didn't even want to use. May be because it was a weekend? Overall, we were satisfied and will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimpayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing