We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel i have EVER stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best hotel i have EVER stayed in”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Sukhothai was an incredible experience. We didn't leave the hotel nor did we need to. The service is on a different level, the room was devine and the food spectacular.

Room Tip: We splashed out and got an upgraded room and boy was it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,805
    441
    99
    50
    31
See reviews for
308
1,027
258
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the Shukothai 2 nights, just to wrap up our 2 week hoiday in Thailand visiting different areas of the country. We traveled with kids. The quality of all services provided, the food and the friendlyness of the staff are outstanding. The hotel is well located. A little oasis in the middle of the crazyness of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterDeBeCe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I chose this hotel because it was the most reasonably priced of all the hotels in the American Express Platinum Fine Hotels and Resorts Program in Bangkok. While surely this is pricey relative to other Bangkok hotels it is so worth it. The grounds, facilities, amenities and room are all impeccable and the staff is world-class. Of particular note are the health club locker rooms, tennis courts and overall location set back from the busy street. The breakfast buffet is the most amazing and comprehensive I have ever seen. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever with the stay; they made us all feel like royalty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaxicoBurress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The main positive of this hotel is that it is low-rise and set back from busy Sathorn Road. The hotel therefore avoids the usual noise and bustle of major hotels located on busy streets. The grounds are gorgeous and beautifully maintained. The pool is probably the best of all of the five star hotels in Bangkok - large, plenty of deck chairs and sun: many of the other hotel pools in this city seem to be shaded by high rise for at least half of the day.

Because of the low rise nature of the hotel, rooms can be a long way from the lobby (ours seemed like a 10 minute walk). Also, some of the rooms are getting towards needing an upgrade. Not bad, but heading towards the tired end of their lives.

Our room also had free wifi (can't all hotels do this?) and complimentary soft drinks from the mini bar. This was a nice touch, it costs the hotel very little and guests appreciate it (particularly my cheapskate Singaporean colleagues!).

Overall, one of the better five star hotels in Bangkok. If you want a little bit of serenity in an otherwise very hectic city, The Sukhothai is a good bet. Be prepared to do a bit of walking between the lift and your room, though!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Lovely, quiet hotel like a Buddhists' Retreat. Warm, charming and efficient staff.
Our room (facing a pretty water garden) was small and quite dark. It was high tech but the lights switches were too complicated.
We loved the Thai Restaurant but found the Italian one very expensive.
The location is central but the traffic is woeful, so we would use an hotel with river transport in future.
Thanks to all the brilliant staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Sukhothai is the type of hotel you always dream of.
Attentive staff, amazing food, comfy beds & so very welcoming to families.
I am very fussy & have a great attention to detail (something which drives my husband crazy at times....) and cannot fault this property.
Each time we have been in Bangkok, we try a new property, hoping to the "the one we shall return to". We have now found it.
Thank you to the Sukhothai for making our stopover a happy & relaxing one.

Room Tip: Book through the hotels booking service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgieC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

my wife and I came here for the first leg of our honeymoon... We were treated like royality and loved every minute of staying here. the staff couldnt be any more helpful in every way! strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants to pay for bangkoks finest luxury. fantastic pool!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robostler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 871 in Bangkok
6,299 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 871 in Bangkok
4,147 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 871 in Bangkok
4,399 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing