We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel in the middle of a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in the middle of a busy city”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed overnight last week for business. I was upgraded to an executive suite which is large. Regular rooms are fine too. Service is great and bfast is included (basic fare but good nonetheless). Tried the spa, good but as expected a bit pricey. Italian restaurant has a menu that's expected but food a bit salty.
Overall recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtravellerhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,724
    421
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
290
1,001
241
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here on the first 4 nights on our honeymoon to Asia, but both my wife and I have spent an extensive amount of time here over the years......

We arranged a car to pick us up from BKK. Excellent Mercedes with suited 'n' booted chauffeur. A real pro and a lovely intro. At $45 USD this was an absolute bargain as well.

In room checkin by the manager who was a lovely Japanese lady called Yuka - super efficient as you'd expect.

The room was excellent - a studio at about $350 USD inc. breakfast. They laid on a bottle of prosecco and a note from the GM (not as common as you'd think based on our month away and an appreciated touch)

Pool area is great - and as it was the rainy season, very calm.

The poolside restauarant had the best noodles we ate in Bangkok (and they give you a little ice bucket for your beer!)
The formal thai restauarant had the best thai food we ate in Bangkok.
The cocktail bar made the best drinks and had the nicest staff in Bangkok.

(this alone makes The Sukothai stand out and as Bangkok is one of the most friendly cities in the world with some of the best food, this is quite something in my view).

The Banyan Tree and it's rooftop bar is walking distance but there is a distinct difference in the atmosphere to The Sukothai - it's busier & less personal.

Thai boxing arena at Lumphini is close by and all the bars off Sukhumvit Road are 20 mins away by cab.

Overall nicer than staying by the river in my opinion - The Sukothai really is special.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Had been recommended this hotel by a colleague as a tranquil oasis in Bangkok with outstanding service. Well, it is! Was meeting my partner in Bangkok and thought we would try this hotel over the usual choice of the Mandarin Oriental. Welcome was warm and even though our room was not ready an alternate was found in just minutes (I had arrived hours earlier than expected and do not lay any blame on the hotel). Was gracefully taken to the room and shown all of its amenities.

First impressions are of space, space and more space. Had booked an Executive Deluxe Room and it had all you could need. The bathroom alone was the size of many hotel rooms. Fresh fruit and chocolates were on offer as well as complimentary beer, juice and soft drinks from the minibar. The style is "modern Thai" with much wood and silks. The TV is a good size and can be watched from the lounge or the bed (it spins around) and the addition of a DVD player and iPod docking station were great.

La Scala Restaurant is hosting executive chefs from around the world from the top 50 restaurants. Took a punt to get a booking. Requested inside and was told it was fully booked. Headed out for a bit to come back to see we had a booking on the Terrace which was great. The impression that I got was that the restaurant was full. It should have been made clearer that the terrace was an option - perhaps just a little bit lost in translation!!

The dinner was wonderful with the staff excelling in delivery of food and wine. We also got to meet the chef and he signed our menus - cheesey I know but we were on holidays! Even if you are not staying at the hotel it is worth checking which chef is visiting.

Breakfast at Collonade was also great. Again, the unassuming staff remembered your requests and brought cooked items to your table (such as items from the egg station). This was definately quiter than the hustle and bustle of the Oriental even if it is without a river view. Food quality was outstanding and consistent.

The peace was continued around the pool and there was a distinct lack of children (a big positive for me!). The staff were very attentive in setting up your towels and bringing you water. I think they could improve on offering you a menu when you sit down as it is hard to catch their eye if you want to order something to eat or drink. A minor quibble really.

Final day we had afternoon tea / chocolate buffet (yes, all we did was eat) and the maitre d' was incredible. She remembered us from breakfast and when the first champagne clearly had lost its fizz she replaced it with a glass from a new (and better) bottle. On enquiring when we were leaving (we had a 6:30 am car booked) she insisted on organising breakfast for us. She just asked us what we wanted and when we wanted it delivered. And guess what we had everything we asked for and it was not one minute late - just wonderful.

Also used the hotel cars a couple of times and they were also great and not too expensive.

So, the longer I stayed, the better it got. From the service level and the attention to detail. This will definately be a hotel I will come back to and recommend.

Room Tip: Pick an Executive Deluxe Room over the Suite - it just feels more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I just returned from a trip to Bangkok and Cambodia. We stayed in the Sukhothai Hotel in Bangkok. When I first arrived I was worried that the location was not that good. I was wrong. I actually loved the location of the Sukhothai. You could walk to Silom Road, there were wonderful restaurants that were very close, and you are so close to the subway.
The hotel was wonderful!
I looked at all the 5 star hotels in Bangkok including the Oriental, Four Seasons, St Regis, Dusit Thani and Shangri-La. I liked our hotel the best.
Our room was fantastic. We had an Executive room that had two bathrooms, a huge bathroom with soaking tub, fabulous shower, large area with a sofa in the middle and two of everything.
The beds were really comfortable and we had a sitting area and seperate work area. The decor was beautiful as well, the blinds were made of wood and when you opened them we had a view of the pool.
The staff was wonderful. As soon as we arrived, which was late at night, we had them come in and help us with all the electronics and re-charging them and setting up all the converters.
The restaurant was great! We went to the restaurant for Breakfast daily. I loved that they remembered us and remembered how we liked our coffee and brought it before we even asked.
The grounds were beautiful, we saw a wedding going on, which we loved.
They have a famous Thai restaurant but we did not have time to go. I have heard it is great!
They have a small gym and a spa that is really nice near the pool.
This hotel is an authentic Thai Hotel and everything about it is 5 star.
I highly recommend it for Business travelers and tourists as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Sukhotai is maybe a bit old style but still a really good and classy hotel. Rooms are spacious well furnished with a good bed. The breakfast is good but nothing specific. The Thai restaurant is really good and worth to be tried. The swimming pool is big and peaceful. They organize a chocolate afternoon which is a good idea :). The staff is nice.
Classic but good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Having only stayed at the famous Oriental in Bangkok previously, I opted this time for the Sukhothai as it is a Leading Hotels member.
The entrance to the hotel is the first clue to what lies inside. Turning into the drive off one of the busy main roads, you proceed down a formally planted avenue to the hotel itself.Inside, the decor makes superb use of different wood finishes, and the perfect staff escort you down a long wide corridor which architecturally reflects the entrance avenue. Your eye is drawn to the garden at the end of the entrance walkway, and you get glimpses of other formal pools on the way to the lifts.
My room (701) was perfectly appointed with a view over the courtyard garden and pools. Inside was all mod cons. The bathroom has everything that you might need, and is perfect for double occupancy - two sinks and two separate loos. The Sukhothai is also the only hotel that I have ever stayed in that provides a rubber duck for your own personal use in the bath - what a nice touch!
The only criticisms are that the air conditioning controls are by the bed, and not centrally located in the room. Additionally, it's time to upgrade the coffee machine in the room to a Nespresso, which is now available in Thailand.
Dining choices are the Colonnade, or the exceptional La Scala. Normally I prefer to eat local style cuisine when I am travelling on business. This trip, after a week of Chinese meals, I went for the Italian option at La Scala, and the food was superb. I only had breakfast in the Colonnade, but the choice was wide and varied, and the quality hit the spot. There is a large, well appointed bar. More importantly for us smokers, there is also a separate section where we can indulge our vice, which is well ventilated, light and feels like a part of the bar and not an outhouse!
All the staff are individually charming, professional and efficient. I needed an additional suitcase for my purchases, and within a few minutes of talking to the reception, a messenger was dispatched to buy me what I wanted.
I even took advantage of a couple of spa treatments, which were so relaxing that I dropped off to sleep during both.
I can also recommend a wander around one of the hotel shops. If you are looking for modern design pieces that reflect contemporary Thai design, then have a browse in Lamont which is situated on the ground floor. The ladies of Lamont are delightfully helpful, and not pushy, and made the shopping experience there most enjoyable.
Thank you Sukhothai. I will be back.

Room Tip: Splash out. I had a beautiful room on the seventh floor which was more than perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthonybard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Sukhothai is one of the best hotels in Bangkok. The entire design of the hotel is amazing and refreshing. The rooms and bathroom are very well designed that you don't see such kind of art works in most places. The entire service including the entire staff are really wonderful. The food is tasty and I really enjoyed my stay very much. thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amha_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 852 in Bangkok
3,888 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 852 in Bangkok
6,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 852 in Bangkok
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing