We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service in one of Bangkoks Finest Properties.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have stayed at The Sukhothai a few times over the years and the overall quality of the experience is consistently top-class. From the moment you arrive to the time you depart nothing is too much trouble. The staff remember you, they greet you with genuine enthusiasm, they love their job and their hotel and it shows in their caring approach.

The hotel is one of Bangkoks older properties now but none the worse for that as it is superbly well-maintained and sits on a lot of land. By modern standards, with 9 floors maximum it is very low-rise and never appears crowded. The executive rooms are well-appointed with generous sized bathrooms and a large sitting room and bedroom combined. There was a bowl of fresh fruit and a plate of home-made chocolates, both of which are replenished daily. Complimentary daily newspaper and wi-fi too. In-room Nespresso coffee maker with real milk available in the fridge.

No nonsense about changing the sheets every 3 days here. One day I managed to spill a small drop of juice on the duvet cover after the bed had been made and was amazed to discover that the cover had been replaced again during the evening turn-down service!

The breakfast buffet is huge and the famous Sunday Brunch Buffet even huger! The only downside is that wine is not included in the price. Booking for Sunday Brunch is a must. I hope the left-over food goes to a good cause because nothing ever seems to run out.I havn't tried the Italian restaurant yet ( Bangkok has way too many Italian restaurants) but Celadon, the Thai restaurant serves some of the best Royal Thai cuisine I have ever tasted.

Really it is difficult to fault this hotel. I personally prefer it to the Oriental and would humbly suggest that it is Thailands best city hotel and definately one of the best city hotels in SE Asia.

Room Tip: I always choose the Executive Deluxe Room which is a good size and well appointed.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,464)
There are newer reviews for The Sukhothai Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently travelled to Bangkok with our two sons 14yrs and 17yrs and we had the ultimate pleasure of staying at the Sukhothai. This hotel is undoubtedly one of the best in the world. We loved everything about it and I wish I could have stayed there for weeks basking in the comfort and luxury and kind attentive service of every single person at the hotel. It was heavenly. It's been a while since I experienced such pleasure in a hotel and such a gracious welcome. The entire hotel staff anticipated our every need...for parents and children alike. Fantastique et Formidable ! thanks for the excellent stay.

Room Tip: Join leading hotels of the world for an upgrade !
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

After a long journey from the states, we were warmly greeted at midnight by the staff and shown to our luxuriously appointed room that overlooked the pool. Following an informative and lengthy tour of the room, we venture to the hotel bar for a night cap before heading to bed. Though the bar would normally be closing, they were gracious enough to stay open to allow us some unwind time. The Zuk bar has both indoor/outdoor seating and pours a nice cocktail. The hotel's breakfast buffet is one of the best I've seen and something that we looked forward every morning on our three day stay. The staff could not have been more accommodating, especially when securing taxi rides making sure thatl we got to our proper destination. The pool is spectacular, as you normally do not find a 25 meter at a hotel. The staff was attentive poolside with setting up towels/chairs and ensuring our comfort.
The weekend market is a must see when you're in Bangkok...ahh the things you can find!
The Sukhothai is a handsome and stunning property in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShireTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

from the chocolate buffet --with not only champagne,but a design-your-own 'liquid chocolate' drink,more cakes,cookies, and candy than seem imaginable, PLUS sandwiches, sushi, and way more than anyone would want to eat(unless skipping dinner) to the thai silk elephant on the pillow at turndown, this hotel is exceptional. we were there new year's eve, and they invited ALL guess to have a glass of champagne in the bar, typical of the spirit of hospitality and generosity that pervades the place. having stayed at the plazs athenee, dusit thani, mandarin oriental, and the peninsula, i chose to return to the sukhothai. the only downside is the location, which basically requires a taxi(thru awful traffic) or a long-ish walk to the sky-train, to get anywhere

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe suite on the garden side, having turned down an upgrade to the smaller(but wit...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is beautiful and luxurious with impeccable service. The setting is very traditional. Rooms are spacious with every amenity. Breakfast buffet was incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccanyc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Absolutely fantastic have just spent a week there and do not want to leave have finally found a BKK hotel that I will return to. Every thing just works the whole operation is in unison .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWIllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I would wholeheartedly agree with all of the reviewers who have described the Sukhotai as an oasis amid the hustle and bustle of the city. Its a wonderful hotel, with manicured gardens and ponds on approach making you feel like you've escaped from the noise and heat of downtown. The rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool, which sees a lot of action during the day. The pool is great (a decent length and warm) and the fitness centre is also well above average for a hotel gym. We would certainly stay here next time we're in BK.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKBen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#31 of 880 in Bangkok
6,450 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#21 of 880 in Bangkok
4,239 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 880 in Bangkok
4,436 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 880 in Bangkok
8,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £94 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing