We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SO Sofitel Bangkok(Bangkok)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveller rating
2,019
476
112
56
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,019
476
112
56
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate buffetthai restaurantzuk barbeautiful hoteldeluxe suitesathorn roadhealth clubbusy citycoffee machinethe banyan treebusiness districtluxury hotelpool sidef bfour seasonsour honeymoonceladon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,446 - 1,451 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

room, facilities and food were excellent. but on my last evening on a 4night biz trip, i caught a staff hotel in my room, nxt to my bed at 1 am while i was asleep. i was shocked and confronted him and eventually got him off my room. i reported to the duty manager but to date no clear action has been taken....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ichan1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, General Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are most concerned and regret to learn that you were disturbed in the middle of the night by the Room Service waiter, who entered your room to obtain the breakfast door knob menu for your early breakfast to be served at 04:00hrs. in the morning.

After a thorough investigation with the staff concerned, we found that:

1. Upon your arrival, our Duty Manager learned that on your departure date, you had an early flight and expected to leave the hotel at 05:00hrs. To anticipate your need, she offered to have breakfast served in your room due to breakfast in the restaurant normally starts at 06:30hrs. She then called to Room Service to alert the staff to expect your breakfast door knob menu order and breakfast to be served at 04:00hrs.

2. At 01:30hrs., as the normal duty of Room Service Night Shift to collect the breakfast door knob menus from all rooms, the Room Service waiter went to your room.

3. When he arrived in front of your room, he found that the room door was open (we have verified this through our electronic door lock system records, which clearly indicates that there was no use of key opening of your room door at that time by our staff). As the door was open, the waiter knocked on the door one time and waited for a few seconds before entering the room. If the door was not left open, and the breakfast door knob menu was not left hanging in front of the room, as per our normal practice, our waiter would not disturb any guest in the middle of the night.

4. Room Service waiter, was also concerned about your safety as the door was left open. He should have called the Night Manager to take action instead. Once he entered the room, he found you were on the bed and waking up to see him. He was shocked and immediately apologized to you. He then asked for the breakfast menu and you got out from the bed to hand the menu to him.

5. After leaving your room, he immediately reported the incident to the Night Manager. When finishing reporting the incident, you called to complain to Night Manager and he apologized for this unfortunate incident and inconvenience caused to you. At 05:00hrs. upon your departure, he once again apologized for this incident. On the same day, Khun Wasunthara, our Assistant Front Office Manager sent an apology email to you to apologize for the incident one more time.

We truly understand your concerns and please rest assured that in the history of the hotel guest safety has never been compromised in any way. The waiter concerned went into the room, with the intention of looking for the door knob menu and out of concern as to why the door was left open. We are certain that his intentions were honest and that he was doing his best to ensure guest's well-being. However, he has been warned and counseled accordingly to fully comply with our policies and procedures. On this occasion, we have obviously failed to meet your expectations and for this we apologize

We assure you that this is an isolated incident and that the Sukhothai Bangkok team can indeed do better to accommodate you. We do hope however that we will be able to make good on the poor impression we have made and would like to think that we may be able to continue to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best regards,

Gregory Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

To stay here is a dream, I have stayed many time on business but this review is based on a pleasure holiday.

We stayed for 2 nights and could not have been treated better, the staff looked after us very nicely and always on hand if we needed something. We took the sunday Brunch and we can highly recommend - the Sukhothai has one of the best chefs in Bangkok on hand.

If you book a package that has breakfast included, you can have this delivered to your room, something we did and it was a lot of fun.

The pool was just the way to cool off after a hot day looking around Bangkok, and very nice service next to the pool.

Looking forward to going back

Room Tip: Alway ask for a pool side room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonykatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you had received great services from our staff and enjoyed our legendary Sunday Brunch. On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, we are hoping to welcome you back again.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed whilst on a business trip. I've visited Bangkok about half a dozen times before, staying at Lebua State Tower, the Sheraton, the Met, and the Peninsula, all of which are great for their own reasons, but the Sukhothai was such a luxurious, boutique, tranquil experience that it easily rivaled the Peninsula and vastly out-classed the others. Great restaurants, fantastic rooms (although I'm biased as I was upgraded to a suite), and really charming, friendly staff. Rooms set around a courtyard (poor description - think lily pond with a fairy-lit tree in the centre). Beautifully quiet. Lovely pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us recently. We appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

i stayed 4 nights with my wife in Sukhotai, the overall all stay was very good.

The hotel decoration is very Thai style and we liked it, the service was very good and the staff were very friendly.
The concierge service is unmatched, they are very helpful and they are willing to go the extra mile with you and make sure you are satisfied..

They have also a very good variety of pillows you can choose from, which solves the main problem i face when i stay in hotels..

The hotel feels a bit old though especially in corridors were sometimes there's a funny smell (dust or something else) ..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejam00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing a compliment review for us. We are pleased to learn that our hotel facilities and services met your satisfaction. We have well noted on your comment and will bring up to the management’s consideration and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

There are plenty of great hotels in this bustling city. We stayed at the Hansar the last round. With our extended family attending this group vacation, we decided to try something a bit different. After scouring for the best deal possible in the midst of summer break, we decided on The Sukhothai. A well-made decision indeed. This is really an oasis in midst of hectic Bangkok.

This is definitely catered to a more sophisticated and business clientele. However, our family and rowdy kids truly enjoyed the pool, a great spa and an excellent array of restaurants...I was a bit conscious on disturbing other guests. I tried the Celedon (the Thai restaurant on the premise) several times and years before. I was not disappointed this time around. We were also pampered every morning with a fantastic buffet breakfast. Although I am not a breakfast person, I made an effort to go every morning.

As with any great hotels in the world, the service really makes the difference. Guests are always greeted with a smile and a personable friendly exchanges...ever helpful and never intrusive. I truly felt being in a family than a hotel.

As with any modern family nowadays, we don't often get a chance to see each other across the world. Thank you, Sukhothai, for making our family trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diggaddidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback, it’s pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Delighted you were satisfied with our leisure facilities including the spa and pool. We are especially glad to learn that you found our breakfast buffet to be fantastic and that you were not disappointed with your dining experience at Celadon. We also thank you for your acknowledgements on our service. We hope in the near future we would have the chance to welcome you and your family back again.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews