We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benefit of the doubt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Benefit of the doubt”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here overnight with my wife and 3 year old twin boys in February 2013 in a deluxe suite with a connecting superior room. Both rooms were spacious and comfortable, the only surprise being that the high quality toiletries in the suite were not matched in the connecting room. Room rate for both rooms was pretty reasonable by European standards.

We had a very warm welcome on arrival and check in was undertaken in our room. At that point we raised several administrative matters - dinner reservation confirmation, baby sitting, return transfer to airport, check out time. By the time we returned from lunch everything had been confirmed in writing to our room. Very efficient.

Lunch was a disaster. We wanted something casual so went to the poolside snack bar for burgers. 5 minutes and a request before we were seated (there were empty but un-cleared tables). 10 more minutes for menus. 30 minutes more before we were asked for drinks and our order was taken. At that point I asked for the removal of the dirty plates that had been sitting on the adjoining table attracting flies and a full 50 minutes after we got to the restaurant the adjoining table was finally cleared. Drinks service was ok but the children were now almost an hour after they were expecting to eat and getting fractious so I asked for some bread.to keep them going. This never arrived. Instead, about 15 minutes after we'd ordered food the burger side salad arrived. The chips followed 5 minutes later and the burgers 5 minutes after that. I don't think I've ever been served one course in so many stages before. Quality was very average but I was so hungry by now that I'd have eaten something from McDonalds. We declined desserts as we wanted to use the pool while it still had some sunlight on it and finally escaped about 2 hours after arriving. This was the only time during 2 weeks in Thailand that i resented the automatic 10 service charge.

After that I'm pleased to say things improved again. We had pastries and coffee from the delightful coffee shop and then managed to spend some time enjoying the large swimming pool for the rest of the afternoon.

In the evening a baby sitter came and looked after the boys while we had a drink in the bar and then ate at Celadon, the hotel's flagship Thai restaurant. Service in both bar and Celadon was friendly and efficient but we were a bit disappointed with the food in Celadon. 10 days before we'd had dinner at Nahm (the Thai restaurant at The Metropolitan, which is 2 doors along the street from the Sukhothai) and, given all the hype that Celadon gets, we'd been expecting a similar quality meal at Celadon. It's not that there was actually anything wrong with the food at Celadon. It just wasn't anything special and cost roughly twice what we pay for similar at our local Thai restaurant in the UK.

The following day we had a continental breakfast at the coffee shop and returned to the lovely poolside for a couple of hours and had a thoroughly nice time with complimentary cold water and sorbets being brought round.

Checkout and airport transfer were both smooth and efficient and help at the airport with bags checking in was a very nice parting touch.

I'm marking children's activities as terrible as I'm not aware that there were any. If there were the mark is justified for the hotel failing to bring them to our attention. While the boys are young we couldn't stay here for any lengthy period of time due to the lack of a kids club.

So I sit writing this review somewhat conflicted as to what I think abut the hotel. Overall I thought it was lovely and I'd really like to go back if I was on a trip when there would be poolside time. There is a quality about the place that is difficult to describe. Maybe it comes from the low rise accommodation and the feeling of space about the place. Most things about the hotel were excellent and we were really only let down by the catering experience. As far as Celadon goes, I think our expectations were probably too high. As to the poolside restaurant, the courtesy and efficiency of the staff in the rest of the hotel was such that I'm inclined to think that the poolside restaurant must have been having an off day and can't possibly be like they were on our visit normally. I don't see any other reviewers having an issue here so I'll give the hotel the benefit of the doubt on this occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UgyLid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for sharing your experience during the recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are appreciated your valuable time writing this review and pleased to hear your compliments regarding the check-in process, our functional accommodation, professional service from our staff and infinity pool. We will definitely take your comments for our further improvements.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,765
    431
    98
    49
    30
See reviews for
299
1,013
252
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a short stay in The Sukhothai recently on a trip to Bangkok.

Almost everything was perfect...

Firstly the bad stuff (which is minor)...

1) The staff at the poolside brought us the wrong dish for lunch (chicken satay instead of steak sandwich). Due to time constraints we said we'd eat it anyway. It would have been nice to deduct it from the bill as it wasn't really what we ordered.

2) The prices for the spa are very high compared to other places in Bangkok.

However, the good stuff MORE than makes up for those two small niggles.

Very friendly helpful staff met us at the door. A fast check in with great receptionists (Yui in particular was extremely friendly). We had a room upgrade to an executive suite because our room wasn't ready. I have to admit it's probably the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in.

Top of the range TV system, office space, cappuccino machine, lounge area and a HUGE mirrored bathroom decked out with teak wood and brass fittings, enormous soft bed, deep fluffy bathrobes and even a 'pillow menu' to ensure you chose exactly the right pillow for a good night's sleep. Everything was first class and we loved it.

We had several treatments in the spa and as I mentioned they were more expensive than usual, but of very high quality. Once again, the staff were very professional and helpful.

We dined in two of the restaurants AND ordered room service all of which exceeded expectations in terms of taste, presentation and service.

Before heading out for the night we needed to buy an item from the in-hotel convenience store. Unfortunately it was closed. The night manager, however, found the key, re-opened the store and helped us find what we needed - the extra mile that leaves a lasting impression.

When we left, we were so impressed we bought one of those fluffy bathrobes as a souvenir.

If you're in Bangkok, stay here... You deserve it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_bobPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, we are truly appreciated your comments and compliments toward our hotel even though it was a short stay while your were in Bangkok. Thank you for your recognition of our staff in each department especially, Khun Yui from Front Office department, which we will definitely share your compliment to her accordingly. We are glad to learn that you are satisfied and enjoyed our in-room technology, accommodation with in-room amenities, as well as the spa treatment and dining from our outlets on property.

Hope your next visit, you will be able to stay with us a little bit longer to enjoy other room type as well as other service provided in the hotel.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Sukhothai Hotel in Bangkok Jan 30-Feb 4, 2013 and could not have found a more beautiful, serene spot in the middle of Bangkok. The staff was attentive, and more than helpful, the room was lovely,The concierge staff is great about recommendations for restaurants, etc. and one of them is a Clef d'Or.
Breakfasts were wonderful too. They have spa juices, and all manner of fresh fruit, as well as American, Japanese and Chinese dishes.. The hotel is set back from the street on an approach lined with "Buddhas", and the hotel has an air of serenity about it, which is welcome after a day on the streets of Bangkok. The property is surrounded by gardens, which adds to the peacefulness of the setting. We treated ourselves to massages, which were expertly done at their spa.
Tea and desserts are served on weekends in the lobby restaurant, and that was great fun.
While it is not close to the sky train, taxis are so inexpensive that getting around was never an issue. One can always take a taxi to the closest station, about a 15 minute walk, but we never did.Highly recommended- we would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful compliments on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted by your kind words on our attentive staff, ambiance of the hotel as well as the spacious accommodation. Glad to hear that you enjoyed treatment at our greenery Spa Botanica and Chocolate Buffet on weekends. We are also grateful to learn that our location is not an obstacle for you to enjoy your trip around Bangkok.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Short & sweet, one of my favorite hotels ever. It's traditional while still providing every amenity you can imagine. It feels like a secluded little oasis, yet you're smack in the middle of bustling Bangkok. Spacious, quiet rooms, huge bathrooms. Room service was glorious, spa was beautiful. On-site restaurant Celadon is one of the best tables in Bangkok. Late afternoon lunch & cocktails poolside was nice. Can't forget about Tui, our guest concierge, so warm & welcoming! Cannot say enough good about Sukhothai. It's a special, special hotel. Go.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilafoxermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments and choosing us to be one of your favourite hotels. We are pleased to learn that you love our in-room amenities and accommondation as well as enjoy the meal at our award winning Celadon Thai restaurant, Pool Terrace Café & Bar and room service. We will also share your compliment to our concierge team accordingly.

Look forward to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel after 5 nights at a golf resort outside of Bangkok. As others are stating, the service is excellent! The room was well equipped and very comfortable. The atmosphere is very relaxing as it sits back from the very busy street in the financial district.

Traffic in the neighborhood is pretty bad. Make sure to allow at least 20 to 30 extra minutes if you have reservations outside the hotel or if headed to the airport allow at least an hour if you leave in the rush hours.

A very nice place the sleep, swim in the large lap style pool and relax at the many tables and loungers around the pool. The concierge is extremely helpful arranging tours, excursions and taxi services and the entire staff is very gracious and accommodating with request.

The location is convenient to China Town, and only about 30 minutes from The Palace, Leaning Buddha and many other areas that may be of interest.

The Sukhothai is a great hotel. . . I simply don’t like to pay 10 times more than something is worth.

So, some friendly advice. . . Have the taxi stop at a store and buy your cold drinks and snacks for the room. With a single minibar Coke costing US$11.97 and a Coke in the restaurant being $7.05 it’s beyond being overpriced. A bottle of water was $5.98 while two personal pizzas and two beers at the Italian restaurant were $93.00.

We booked the entire trip on Expedia with breakfast included. They refused to honor the breakfast and charged us $30.00 each for a breakfast buffet. They did remove one of the two from the bill at check-out after getting the right person to read the reservations.

Overpriced? Well, it’s your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back around the courtyard are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimtrip53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing reviews and sharing your compliments and concerns through Trip advisor. We have a great time reading your experience while staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok and grateful to receive kind words regarding the room, pool and service from our staff. However, we have taken your friendly advice to our consideration for further improvements.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you at our property in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A remarkable discovery. This lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms, large comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, light and heavier bathrobes, all the toiletries you could need, mirrors, marble, fresh fruit, truffles in the room, comfort and quiet in a very busy city. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Suite. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your discovery experience during your stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are truly appreciated with your compliments on our spacious room, functional bathroom and other in-room amenities. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great pool area to relax between meetings, sight seeing or whatever you are doing there!

Amazing breakfast buffet and even a special chocoholic afternoon tea available in the lounge, plus great spa and more - enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for these wonderful recommendations and great tips to enjoy yourself while staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are pleased to hear that you love our pool, buffet breakfast, the legendary Chocolate Buffet and treatment at our greenery Spa Botanica. We are hoping to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,153 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing