We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service and nice 25m pool in downtown area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and nice 25m pool in downtown area”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights and have been switching three different rooms because of the air-conditioner problem as well as the mattress is too soft and imbalance. The staffs are friendly from the porter, reception to the gym staffs. All are helpful and friendly.

Besides the people, La Scala restaurant is a must visit rest. But the other restaurant serves Thai food situated outside the hotel property, the food quality is totally disappointed. Too upset that I erased the name of the resturant. By far, the worst Thai cuisine I'd ever had here. Over-price and poor food quality. I ordered the seasonal dishes - clams from Manila and New Zealand Mussel both are far from standard. Even the basic dish, 'pak Thai' was lousy, tasteless...very disappointed cos this is my last dinner for this trip.

The pool, the gym and recreation club are fantastic. I am running out of time in managing work out, sight-seeing, shopping, and swimming. Here are the tips: work out in the morning, then breakfast, use the biz centre checking emails, shopping and sight-seeing in the afternoon. Come back and have dinner in the La Scala restaurant or dinner after swimming, sauna ...thumb up!!! If u don't mind walking 5 mins to the next store - Banyan tree top floor for a drink - you made my day.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlehse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciated your compliments regarding our helpful and friendly staffs. We’re really appreciated your “thumb up” on our La Scala restaurant.

We have taken a well noted on your comments toward our food quality at Thai restaurant and we’ll definitely addressed this to the team for further improvements.

Hope you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcome you back in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    425
    97
    49
    26
See reviews for
294
1,008
244
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and could not be happier with the choice.
Summary:

Location: excellent, easy to walk many places. Also close to the metro. Car service for those who desire is great

Atmosphere: Outstanding. Since it it not a high rise you truly feel that you are in an oasis in the city. This feeling is helped by the grounds which are magnificent. The pool is very tranquil and with very nice facilities

Rooms: Very nice, high end. Beds are very comfortable

Service: Truly 5 star. All staff are wonderful, the concierge service is amazing. My only observation is that pool side service is a bit slow if you are in a rush (a bit silly since going to the pool is usually a leisure activity), but getting a "quick bite" by the pool takes some time

Food: Only had the breakfast that was included with the room(other than snacks by the pool), but definitely go for this option. The choices were vast (both western and asian) and the quality was very high

Spa: Not the cheapest in town, but very nice and worth the money.

Gym: Excellent. A nice selection of equipment

Summary: Would absolutely stay here again without a second thought. Make sure to get a package that includes breakfast as it is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandCdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for choosing to stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Your comment on the service at the poolside will be addressed with the management team accordingly for further improvement.

We hope to welcome you back at the property again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are lovely. The pool area is serene. Everything about this hotel is first rate. I cannot find anything bad to say. I wll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana60newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that our hotel facilities and services together with the friendliness staff met your satisfaction and impression.

We hope to welcome back you again when you next in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

From the start, the location and design of this hotel set it apart – a relatively low building in spacious grounds set back away from the busy Sathorn Road. From our room it was hard to believe that we were close to the middle of the bustling city.

Our executive suite was spacious and well-furnished, with all the comforts of home and more; daily generous supplies of fresh fruit and chocolate truffles added to our enjoyment. The only small quibble was that, in this day of computers, cell phones and other gadgets that need charging, there was a lack of conveniently located power outlets, but with some ingenuity we found enough.

The courteous and efficient staff were attentive and well-drilled to go the extra mile to make sure that one’s every need (and more) is met.

As pointed out by other reviewers, beware that Sathorn Road can be a traffic nightmare; we arrived at 5-30 pm on a Friday night and it was a parking lot. Our driver missed the discreetly marked hotel entrance on first pass and had to proceed until he could do a U-turn and return – it took 30 minutes to get back to the entrance. We also found that taxi drivers were not keen to take us to the hotel once peak hour started; although we had a very good reliable local guide with us, we were refused by 6 or 8 taxis before one agreed to take us if we paid a premium (3 to 4 times the metered rate, though still only $US10). Obviously this is not a fault of the hotel, but I mention it as something to keep in mind when you stay there.

We would have no hesitation in staying at the Sukhothai again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing and sharing your stay experience at The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us and impress with our hotel facilities and amenities.

We hope to see you at the hotel again in this near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vimarn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

There are so many excellent reports about this beautiful hotel, which is the reason why I have never written a review about it. We have stayed numerous times at The Sukhothai and after having stayed here again just recently for eight nights I simply feel compelled to write a few words. It is true that the hotel is not the latest one in Bangkok, but it is full of atmosphere, experience and radiates a charm unseen in any other five star hotel in Bangkok (we have tried most of them). We stayed in an executive suite, which was spacious and perfectly maintained and serviced; personally I find the beds a bit too soft, but that does not do any harm to the overall impression. The staff is extremely friendly and always greets you with a "welcome home Mr. .." when seeing you first time even after a long absence. Breakfast at Colonnade is marvelous and so is the wait staff under the supervision of Khun Botan (specially Khun Sammy who has been around for such a long time already). It has been a couple of years since we dined last at the Thai restaurant Celadon as we never thought it was quite average; however, after learning that there is a new chef we gave it another try and were very pleasantly surprised as the quality and preparation of the various dishes was simply impressive. It is really worth visiting it again and I hope they manage to maintain the standard now achieved). We spent quite some time by the pool, which is such a relaxing experience in this busy city. The pool and its surroundings are probably the largest of all Bangkok hotels with sufficient beds. The entire staff is very polite and helpful. We ate lunch there twice and found the food very good; they have to bring your orders over from the main kitchen, so you may have to wait a few minutes longer than usual, but that is not an issue at all. The service at the front desk needs improvement as the staff seems not to work as a team and should better coordinate among each other. For us The Sukhothai defenitely outperforms other Bangkok's five star hotels in many ways and therefore remains our darling in Bangkok. We already look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The deluxe studios are also excellent; they are in a different building just next to the pool, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you very much for your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok and provided us with your positive feedback on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your comprehensive and positive review for our hotel ambience, facilities, excellence services and our attentive staff members.

We are truly appreciated your recognition toward the Colonnade staff especially Khun Botan and Khun Sammy and we will definitely relay your message accordingly. Regarding your comments on our Front Office staff, we will take into discussion for further improvements.

We look very much forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Unfortunately just a brief 2 night stopover stay between Australia and Cambodia but thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Very close to the Park for running, spacious rooms, wonderful food and very polished professional service.
Bangkok has no shortage of excellent hotels and I have been fortunate to stay at a few - however I think in the future I will stick to The Sukhothai and hopefully the next stay will be a little longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your top score comment for The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are pleased to hear that even it was a few nights stay with us, we have surpassed your satisfaction with our spacious room, delectable food and beverages and excellent service. We look forward to your return and hope that your next visit will be a little bit longer.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genova
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hospitality at it's best
What a place,you can't find anything better than this.A famous Thai hospitality.A world apart,from the first step you get into the hotel,it's maintenance,it's atmosphere,it's rooms, and it's services.All in an elegance manner.
Hard to find such a perfect combination nowadays in a so called 5 stars hotels anywhere in the world.One of the best experience and One of a favorite place in my heart.
At The Colonnade.
It's truly is,the most important meal of the day is Breakfast.
A good mixture of international breakfast but it's came with the BEST BREAKFAST TEAM OF SERVICES,everything is been taking care of,even the smallest details,so personalize,so passionated,you feel so pampered and never want to leave and even if you have to, you feel so good that you know you going to have a good day ahead.
A Unique Place,and it's good to know that you can go back to The Sukhothai,and still have a feeling of old Thailand as it's was once so famous for.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your review and it is pleasure to hear that you truly feel clam and relax once you step into the hotel. We are appreciated your kind words especially about the service of our professional Colonnade staff which we will share to them accordingly.

We are hoping to welcome you back here soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,946 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,079 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing