We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here recently for three nights while on a Tour of Thailand and found the experience wonderful. Very clean and modern hotel with large suites available and very comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was out of this world and quite delicious. We are so glad that we had time to relax by the pool which is very much an oasis. The wi-fi works well at this hotel if you need to use it. The restaurant that services the pool provides excellent and very tasty meals. We would not hesitate to stay here again. It is a quick tuk tuk or taxi ride from the night market and restaurants and we found the location very good as well. What really stands out is that the staff is really quite "outstanding" and are very cheerful, kind, hospitable and helpful. Also, the staff will spoil you here by leaving generous fruit bowls and chocolate treats in the room. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Sukhothai for making our time in Bangkok even more special and memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHW108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your top score review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a memorable time at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you were impressed by our services, accommodation, buffet breakfast at the Colonnade as well as scrumptious menu by the pool.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    415
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
287
986
237
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Everything was wonderful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and refer to you by last name (even if its impossiblly long) The in-room amenities where the best. The hotel is a mini oasis in the middle of a busy city. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and have nothing bad to say about my experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators. I didn't mind the walk but it is rather long. if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you are impressed by our in-room amenities and our amiable staff. We wish to welcome you again to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Staying in the Sukhothai is a very memorable experience. It is the best part of my travel.
I've stayed in at least 8 other hotels in Bangkok before a friend recommended the Sukhothai Hotel to me about 14 years ago. Since then , I always stay at the Sukhothai Hotel.
The room are luxurious and the staff are excellent. Try the omelette for breakfast.
I think it's the best in the world. The pool is a very tranquil spot.
I've also heard that the gym is good.
The Hotel is close to the sky train or a US$4 taxi ride Siam Square.

Room Tip: I've always found all the rooms very special. On arrival, if the Hotel is not fully booked, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing this 5 star review on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok was a memorable experience. We are so delighted to learn that you love our room, professional service from our staffs, amenities at Health Club, the pool area as well as the most popular menu at our breakfast.

Look forward to welcome you back to this an oasis in the heart Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights and have been switching three different rooms because of the air-conditioner problem as well as the mattress is too soft and imbalance. The staffs are friendly from the porter, reception to the gym staffs. All are helpful and friendly.

Besides the people, La Scala restaurant is a must visit rest. But the other restaurant serves Thai food situated outside the hotel property, the food quality is totally disappointed. Too upset that I erased the name of the resturant. By far, the worst Thai cuisine I'd ever had here. Over-price and poor food quality. I ordered the seasonal dishes - clams from Manila and New Zealand Mussel both are far from standard. Even the basic dish, 'pak Thai' was lousy, tasteless...very disappointed cos this is my last dinner for this trip.

The pool, the gym and recreation club are fantastic. I am running out of time in managing work out, sight-seeing, shopping, and swimming. Here are the tips: work out in the morning, then breakfast, use the biz centre checking emails, shopping and sight-seeing in the afternoon. Come back and have dinner in the La Scala restaurant or dinner after swimming, sauna ...thumb up!!! If u don't mind walking 5 mins to the next store - Banyan tree top floor for a drink - you made my day.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlehse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciated your compliments regarding our helpful and friendly staffs. We’re really appreciated your “thumb up” on our La Scala restaurant.

We have taken a well noted on your comments toward our food quality at Thai restaurant and we’ll definitely addressed this to the team for further improvements.

Hope you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcome you back in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and could not be happier with the choice.
Summary:

Location: excellent, easy to walk many places. Also close to the metro. Car service for those who desire is great

Atmosphere: Outstanding. Since it it not a high rise you truly feel that you are in an oasis in the city. This feeling is helped by the grounds which are magnificent. The pool is very tranquil and with very nice facilities

Rooms: Very nice, high end. Beds are very comfortable

Service: Truly 5 star. All staff are wonderful, the concierge service is amazing. My only observation is that pool side service is a bit slow if you are in a rush (a bit silly since going to the pool is usually a leisure activity), but getting a "quick bite" by the pool takes some time

Food: Only had the breakfast that was included with the room(other than snacks by the pool), but definitely go for this option. The choices were vast (both western and asian) and the quality was very high

Spa: Not the cheapest in town, but very nice and worth the money.

Gym: Excellent. A nice selection of equipment

Summary: Would absolutely stay here again without a second thought. Make sure to get a package that includes breakfast as it is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NandCdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for choosing to stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Your comment on the service at the poolside will be addressed with the management team accordingly for further improvement.

We hope to welcome you back at the property again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are lovely. The pool area is serene. Everything about this hotel is first rate. I cannot find anything bad to say. I wll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nana60newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that our hotel facilities and services together with the friendliness staff met your satisfaction and impression.

We hope to welcome back you again when you next in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

From the start, the location and design of this hotel set it apart – a relatively low building in spacious grounds set back away from the busy Sathorn Road. From our room it was hard to believe that we were close to the middle of the bustling city.

Our executive suite was spacious and well-furnished, with all the comforts of home and more; daily generous supplies of fresh fruit and chocolate truffles added to our enjoyment. The only small quibble was that, in this day of computers, cell phones and other gadgets that need charging, there was a lack of conveniently located power outlets, but with some ingenuity we found enough.

The courteous and efficient staff were attentive and well-drilled to go the extra mile to make sure that one’s every need (and more) is met.

As pointed out by other reviewers, beware that Sathorn Road can be a traffic nightmare; we arrived at 5-30 pm on a Friday night and it was a parking lot. Our driver missed the discreetly marked hotel entrance on first pass and had to proceed until he could do a U-turn and return – it took 30 minutes to get back to the entrance. We also found that taxi drivers were not keen to take us to the hotel once peak hour started; although we had a very good reliable local guide with us, we were refused by 6 or 8 taxis before one agreed to take us if we paid a premium (3 to 4 times the metered rate, though still only $US10). Obviously this is not a fault of the hotel, but I mention it as something to keep in mind when you stay there.

We would have no hesitation in staying at the Sukhothai again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing and sharing your stay experience at The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us and impress with our hotel facilities and amenities.

We hope to see you at the hotel again in this near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,922 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing