We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked a group.. all was excellent .

appreciated the room size, ambience and the breakfast buffets.

This is an excellent choice for Bangkok in the 5* luxury hotel range.

Thanks Smooth .. Look forward to future groups.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear ajay069,

Thank you very much for your remarkable review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to welcome you and your group to The Sukhothai Bangkok and delighted to learn that you enjoyed the shady and tranquil ambience in this beautiful oasis in the heart of Bangkok on top of the successful meeting group.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you and your group again at The Sukhothai Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We've stayed numerous times in either the Peninsula or the Plaza Athenee in Bangkok, but the design of the Sukhothai always interested me. This time I decided to book it, at a rate that included a Leading Hotels of the World club membership, so we were upgraded to a Deluxe Terrace Suite when we arrived.

I was very familiar with the photos of all the rooms, and was a little surprised the suite wasn't larger (but perhaps the square footage included the roomy terrace.) It was luxurious and quite comfortable however, and we particularly appreciated the very effective blackout screen/curtain behind the sliding doors leading to the terrace.

The service level was excellent. The concierge staff members were uniformly helpful and friendly, as was everyone else we came in contact with. The breakfast buffet wasn't up to the standard of the Plaza Athenee, but it was very good, with many selections. We also had a good dinner at Celadon. Every course was beautifully arranged and plated, and was a pleasure to see as well as consume the dishes. We also had drinks with friends at Zuk Bar twice, and enjoyed the lively atmosphere (as well as some excellent martinis!)

My only problem with the hotel is that the interior possesses a darkness and heaviness that seems a little dated. But overall, it's a lovely place, and I could imagine choosing it again on our next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear tripartist,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you chose to stay with us and you and your couple enjoyed the stay as well as the scrumptious food at international buffet breakfast at Colonnade, our award-winning Celadon and sophisticated bar at The Zuk Bar. Please try our authentic Italian restaurant at La Scala when visiting us next time.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

it was a really good stay experience in BKK everyday had high sleep quality, great location- walk to silom area 10 mins, good service - that's thai ppl always do, big and clear room . very thai style. luv it, and will stay there again when i come back BKK.

Room Tip: Let reception provide a room which not too far from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear kerry z,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience while staying with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok. Our luxurious rooms decorated with Thai Style and impeccable services of our staff deeply impressed you and you love it so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was a unique find withe the help of Buffalo tours. One could stay in nondescirpt any 5 star box with high rise towers and not have any feel for the place. This one has garden with lotus leaves as a water feature in the middle to megapolis Bangkok.
One did not feel one was in concrete jungle. The rooms were well appointed, service excellent.
Nice three day saty.

Room Tip: Third floor in the old block overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23vaneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear 23vaneet,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback and you have highlighted us as a unique escape from the crowed Bangkok with an exceptional service and well-decorated rooms. You also enjoyed the atmosphere of The Sukhothai Bangkok which surrounded by garden and beautiful lotus pond.

We wish to your welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wonderful property, serene and tasteful, really oasis of calm in busy Bangkok. Healthclub is one of the best I've been to.

Breakfast quality is excellent and service staff from front door to counter to restaurants were impeccable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatrickTH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear PatrickTH2013,

Thank you very much for your first-rate review on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed with your precious review and we are also glad that you had an incredible experience in this beautiful oasis in the heart of Bangkok. You also enjoyed our well-equipped health club service and delicious buffet breakfast at Colonnade.

We look forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Found this hotel ideal for staying in whilst transiting Bangkok during the last year or so. Not ideal for shopping but well located for meetings and getting to the airport. very high standard of rooms and service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Paul M,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us during your transit in Bangkok and our luxurious room and the outstanding service of our staff impressed you so much.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future and stay a little longer.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Every time we are in Bangkok we come from the brunch. Cannot be beat. You pay top dollar for an excellent array of delicious choices. If you are in the mood to treat yourself to a nice brunch-y treat then this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Jessie810,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time at our legendary Sunday Brunch at Colonnade and you have been visiting us every time you are in Bangkok. Moreover, you also enjoyed this culinary experience which offering an array of Western and Asia specialties.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 890 in Bangkok
6,648 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 890 in Bangkok
4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £150 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing