We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #35 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Sukhothai and really liked this hotel. It is large and elegant with a sense of occasion. You really feel like you are in a far away jungle, when really you are in the middle of Bangkok. Great atmosphere.

Our room was very large and beautiful. We were honeymooners and were presented with champagne – a nice touch. The linens and upholstery are all exceptionally clean and comfortable.
Big beautiful bathroom with tons of closet space. Our only complaint (and this is REALLY nitpick-y) is that the TV in the center of the room is on a swivel so it can turn 360degrees, which is great except that the wires are all exposed out of the back and it looks a bit messy. We have seen this done more elegant in other hotels. A simple backing of some sort might be a thought for the management.

Lovely pool and pool bar, wish we could have spent more time there. Spa looked very nice and clean as well.

The hotel staff members are so nice and polite. But over the rest of our two-week honeymoon we came to discover this is generally true throughout Thailand. They are the most gentle, hospitable people. Breakfast was very good with a big selection across many cultures. We loved the outdoor bar over the lily pond for late night drinks.

The only piece of advice I would give is not to try to take a taxi anywhere from this hotel during rush hour traffic. Take the sky train, which is a bit of a walk. We booked a river dinner cruise (with Manohra Cruise – just ok food but beautiful scenery) and we tried to take a taxi at 6pm on a Friday. We literally went 100meters (300feet+) in half an hour. Our poor cab driver got hold of the Sukhothai by phone for us and a staffer, Toom, from the front desk ran out to meet us at the taxi and ran us all the way to the SkyTrain so we wouldn’t miss the cruise. Talk about service! We would have gotten lost and missed our dinner for sure if he hadn’t come to the rescue.

Thanks Sukhothai for a great visit to Bangkok!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Niki B,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us during your honeymoon trip and we do hope that we were a part of your memorable honeymoon trip in Bangkok. You and your couple also enjoyed the impeccable service from our staff as well as our luxurious room and our delicious buffet breakfast at Colonnade.

We wish to welcome you to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Really enjoyed staying here - the room was HUGE, comfortable and clean. The staff was very sweet and attentive. It was sophisticated, yet classic. It was a boutique version of the W. but with an expansive and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dflyonthefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear dflyonthefly,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you were impressed by our extensive room and an impeccable service of our staff which are certainly outstanding from other hotels in Bangkok.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is low rise, away from the manic part of Bangkok. Transfer. From airport is easy at 40 mins. Use hotel drivers, they are great. Stayed two nights on business. Terrace suites give you welcome outside space and opening windows. All staff are excellent. Hotel Spa is great for getting rid ofjet lag--/ bookec at 9.30 and slept for 9 hours. Try the health juices, they are fab. Never felt better on a business trip!, business centre first class too. Stayed at Peninisula before - never again...also huge pool

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear BentleyT,

Thank you very much for your exceptional review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear your positive feedback during your business trip and you were satisfied with our luxurious Deluxe Terrace Suite. You were also enjoyed the treatment by our professional therapist at Spa Botanica and our well-equipped business centre reached your expectation.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Sukhothai Bangkok is always on my top list hotel and fortunately I got my room reservation from Agoda.
This is a lovely stress free resort hotel in the busy Bangkok. We arrived hotel early about 10.15am and was told that our room is not ready and to return at 2pm although we were a bit tired, nevertheless upon return at 2:15pm the room is ready with luggage delivered. Room is comfortable although bed is a bit soft but with 2 big pillow which is really comfortable. Amenities is luxury and lots of water bottle in the room with coffe maker; Bose amplifier etc. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear klh717,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us during your business trip and you enjoyed the spacious room and the atmosphere of this urban resort in the heart of Bangkok.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is located in a very good area and the rooms are geat. I stayed in one of the studio rooms and it was very comfortable. Turn down service is great and. The brakfast is wonderful. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Emile H,

Thank you very much for your notable review on Trip Advisor.

We are more than happy to hear your positive feedback especially that you enjoyed our spacious room with the most comfortable bed in town and also the turn down service.
We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staying at the Sukhothai feels like an Oasis outside of the wonderful chaos of the city. Particular praise for the staff and their warmth and attentiveness. So many excellent things to say about this hotel, food, rooms, amenities, the chocolate, pool, Great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamF2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear SamF2032,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time during you stay at an oasis in the heart of Bangkok where you can be away from the hectic atmosphere and you were highlighting many impressive experiences while staying with us including the appetizing food, rooms and all amenities, our signature chocolate truffle and the pool.

We are wishing to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I made the Sukhothai the last stop on our South-East Asian holiday and, after some fabulous hotels along the way, I was a little worried that the Sukhothai wouldn't live up to its name.

I was wrong. The rooms literally take your breath away - they are exquisitely stylish and the bathrooms really have the "wow" factor. Breakfast was incredible in terms of range and quality (especially the pancakes at the egg station and the perfect croissants!) and the pool was lovely and quiet - the perfect place to chill-out.

When we return to Bangkok, this hotel will certainly be the only place we want to stay!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enchanted81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Enchanted81,

Thank you very much for your outstanding review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us on the last part of your Southeast Asia Trip and that our exquisite hotel goes far beyond your expectation in many aspect including our well-decorated Thai Style room and bathroom, our international buffet breakfast at Colonnade restaurant and the chilling atmosphere by the pool.

We look forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,821 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,684 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 894 in Bangkok
4,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £147 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing