We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #35 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Bangkok (a week each time); the Sukhothai continues to deliver on all fronts:

* Depending on what you want from your visit, the hotel's location could be a pro or con. We chose it because we wanted a relatively central location but outside the riverfront tourist ghetto. That's what you'll get. it's walking distance to Lumpini Park, Convent Street, several top hotels/restaurants, and the MRT (and a longer walk to the BTS), and a 10-minute cab ride to the Central Pier in one direction and the Sukhumvit corridor in the other. So from that perspective, it could be said to be centrally/perfectly located between and among all those sites. That said, it's not on the river or walking distance to the premier shopping malls, if those are your top priorities.

* The property is beautiful, impeccably maintained, quiet, verdant.

* The rooms are state of the art: very well designed and appointed, quiet, secure, and in perfect condition. Especially great beds and linens.

* The staff are best in the business; the concierges are especially helpful.

* One of the hotel restaurants, Celadon, is among the best high-end Thai in the city.

* The pool is lovely, though a rare note of criticism here: it isn't actually my favorite in the city: it's a bit crowded and close, and we had a hard time finding space away from smokers. (It would be great to have a non-smoking section.)

One final note - and a hesitation, because this is an issue throughout Bangkok, and it's not the hotel's fault or responsibility: we noticed more than once, on both our visits, that there is a garbage problem along Sathorn Road. Vendors leave their bags of rubbish on the sidewalk at the end of the day, so overnight, the trash bags attract rats. This can be a real bummer as you're walking home after an evening out - picking your way among the trash bags and their accompanying wildlife. Yuck. Again: not the hotel's fault or responsibility, but maybe Sukhothai management, along with that of the Shangri-La and Metropolitan (all located along the same stretch of Sathorn) can lean on either the city or the vendors to clean up their act, in the interest of their collective guests.

Overall, we give the Sukhothai a 9 out of 10 rating and look forward to returning someday soon.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the main road so all rooms will be removed from traffic noise. Those ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwirlieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear TwirlieGirl,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were enjoyed our perfect location which can easily connect to many places around Bangkok. The style of our hotel was ideally matching your taste and the impeccable service of our talented staff satisfied you so much.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Sukhothai Bangkok

This was our first visit to the Sukhothai hotel in Bangkok. We normally stay on the river

but our agent decided to put is in the Sukhothai. First impression was very good with

a lovely lobby and friendly receptionist. The hotel is located in a very busy section of

Bangkok but is surprisingly quiet.

The room was a bit small and dark for my taste. There was lots of wood in the room

which contributed to the dark feeling but it was very well done. There were a lot of

scratches on the floors and cupboards, and the room definitely needs some refinishing

and is showing age.

The pool is quite far from the rooms but is peaceful well designed. The Spa was very

nice and my therapists gave me a great Thai massage.

For guests in Bangkok on business I would recommend this hotel, but if you are on

vacation it is not really the best choice. Traffic during rush hour was terrible. We sat in

the cab for almost 30 minutes to go about 200 meters!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Elaine C,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you and your couple had a wonderful time at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere of our hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback of our room and we will share with the team for further development.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very typical and charmfull place, perfectly located near the river (to access the temples) and close to Siam center (for shopping) at a completely affordable price.
One of the most awesome breakfast we ever experienced.
Modern but warm and cosy design in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Julie G,

Thank you very much for your precious review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you found that our hotel is a charmfull place and located in a convenience location for you to explore the sightseeing and shopping. Our chef and his team will definitely delighted to know that they have provided the most awesome breakfast to you.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was our 2nd stay at Sukhothai hotel in 2013. In advance we asked for "our " room - o problem. We asked for special material in our room - no problem. We asked for special fruit at breakfast - no problem.
It's a place where you really feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Stefan H,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you feel like staying at home while staying with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are delighted to provide you with the best service and exceeded far beyond your expectation.

We look forward to welcome you back to your “home” at The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in Sukhothai several times, and always impressed with the quality of service.
I really feel in Bangkok, with the high level of Thai kindness showed there. The place is huge, the rooms very well kept and very big. Restaurants are nice, breakfast is wonderful, the Thimian shop offers very nice drinks, cakes, drinks and quality shopping.The pool is very relaxing and big to be in such a big city, and in the center of the town.
Luxery and kindness at his best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreD561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear PierreD561,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to meet our true fan of The Sukhothai on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had an amazing experience while staying with us.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed here on many business trips to Bangkok. Very close to business offices and the sky train. Fantastic service and comfort. Very large rooms and excellent breakfast buffet, including great tastes of Thailand.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Reagan10,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us during your business trips in Bangkok and that the service and hotel facilities met your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This low-rise, spacious hotel has a real resort feel - with its gardens and water features - resulting in a very quiet and tranquil environment in central Bangkok, yet Silom, BTS Stations, and Lumpini Park, are all about 10-15 minutes walk away. I had a newly renovated room: it was beautifully decorated, in an 'understated luxury' style - high quality, tasteful fixtures and soft furnishings. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Despite being in the lowest-grade room, there was a Lavazza espresso machine. Service was very professional and polished: staff got it just right, from the in-room check-in to the breakfast box on my last morning, as my early departure meant I would miss breakfast. The gardens, restaurants, and pool - as well as the lovely rooms - all make the Sukhothai the sort of hotel that you could quite happily spend a few days in without wanting to leave: which is precisely what I did!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Jay_BKK,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are greatly pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and you enjoyed our well decorated room and facilities. The impeccable service of our staff also impressed you so much as well as the tranquil atmosphere of the hotel which is so comfortable that you do not want to leave.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,823 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,687 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 894 in Bangkok
4,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £151 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing