We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sukhothai an oasis of calm in the madness of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sukhothai an oasis of calm in the madness of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Suhkohthai has everything you could want -- a pool and spa and steam room and sauna and jacuzzi and a pillow menu and excellent breakfast buffet and convenient location and a stellar Thai restaurant, in addition to casual poolside dining, service with a smile, and an Italian upscale restaurant as well. I also found it very reasonably priced for such an upscale place.

Room Tip: Our room, a deluxe suite, overlooked the pool and was in the building housing the health club and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppinJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear HoppinJohns,

Thank you very much for your precious review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we successfully created the most wonderful stay for you and your partner. We are overwhelming with your positive review which encourages us to keep on serving the unique experience exclusively for our valued guests.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    421
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
290
1,002
242
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Once more, nothing to complain, nothing to wish more! The perfect service starts with the Airport pick-up and ends again at the Airport after the check-in. It is since many years my favorite hotel in Bangkok. Perfect place to enjoy and relax.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kocherhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kocherhans,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply delighted to hear that The Sukhothai Bangkok is your most favorite hotel while staying in this city of angle. We are glad to provide you with the flawless service with the top-notch facilities to ensure that you had the most pleasant stay and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere with us.

We look forward to welcome you to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everytime I'm in Bangkok for work for leisure, the only place to stay is The Sukhothai.

I've tried at least 10 different 5-star hotels in Bangkok over the years and none of them can hold a candle to what The Sukhothai has to offer.

It's a calm oasis right in the middle of Bangkok with the most amazing resort-like feel to it. The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean and the service is legendary. All the staff make you feel as though you're the only guest on the property at all times and bend over backwards to get whatever you want done. I once had to get an item gift-wrapped for someone's birthday and they managed to do that for me in 5 minutes for free (nice ribbon on it too!).

They have a Thai restaurant on site that is nothing sort of spectacular (I've tried just about everything on the menu) and an equally fancy Italian restaurant that is not too shabby either.

This hotel doesn't have the cram of shops right outside your hotel room like the hotels on Erawan do, nor does it have a dozen restaurants on-site and half a dozen thumping bars two floors down. What The Sukhothai does have is brilliant service, a feeling that you're in a secluded resort on Phuket and a clam-shell like quality that lets you shut out the noise of Bangkok when you need to.

Absolutely one of my favourite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheldyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear SheldyC,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars review on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to meet our true fan of The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor and thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to accommodate you with the most comfortable rooms in town and serve you with the best Thai hospitality.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at this lovely establishment for two nights in December. Went with high expectations and were not disappointed. The check in area could be restructured to accommodate more than two individuals checking in or out but the staff were efficient and pleasant. We had a lovely suite on the 1st floor with 2 toilets, spacious bathroom, excellent tea & coffee facilities. The bed was very good and being able to switch off the air conditioning and open the windows in a mild Bangkok an absolute delight. Breakfast was most enjoyable with all tastes being catered for. My husband especially enjoyed the wonton soup & steamed dim sum. Our other meal here was a lunch from the bakery & they were able to get us a beer to have with it outside overlooking the pond. Pity not more outside dining was available in the main part of the property. Clean, well presented and chic with excellent staff, this hotel is well located, quiet and eminently recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear chris g,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant 2 nights stay in our well-equipped suites overlooking to the beautiful garden courtyard and our delectable full buffet breakfast at Colonnade were impressed you and you partner so much. Please also try our exquisite Thai dishes at Celadon and an authentic Italian cuisine at La Scala for your next visit.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in an executive suite. Fresh, clean, it was beautifully located overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was as usual top notch, the concierge is 5 star and one of the best in the business. Everything well almost everything was perfect. The reception hosted by the management on New Year's Eve was fun and a great touch, as was the buffet dinner at the colonnade restaurant. For me it was a great 5 nights and I got the sense of well being always experienced here with the exception of my last visit. The pool is fantastic and the pool staff very service oriented and customer focused.

Given the fact that many guests are returned customers or indeed prepaid through a travel agent, a greeting along the lines of welcome to the sukhothai or welcome back to the sukhothai is a little more appropriate than the one I received which was can I have your passport and credit card. I think it be a much better touch. Allow the customer just to sit down and relax a few moments.

Limousine service as usual also excellent. The spa for me a little disappointing. However will give it another try next time. All in all a fantastic 5 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear paul026,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a great 5 nights with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok as you were enjoyed every aspect of the hotel since the luxurious Executive Suite, scrumptious food especially at our buffet breakfast at Colonnade and the unique service of our well-trained staff.

We are looking forward to you return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Elegant, quiet, well located.
Very professional and efficient staff.
The best Asian service you can think of.
My suite was comfortable and nicely decorated.
I have been coming here for a fed years and will keep coming.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suites: expensive but worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Lapo A,

Thank you very much for your remarkable review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to have an opportunity to welcome you back and that our Asian service still on the track and our luxurious suites offered you an extravagant space for relaxing with modern Thai decoration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Sukhothai is spread over beautiful grounds and the service is always excellent with very attentive staff. The hotel and its grounds are almost resprt like and provides a very peaceful respite from the city outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Alasdair R,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you always have an enjoyable time at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you also enjoyed our peaceful and tranquil atmosphere with an impeccable service of our service-minded staff.

We would like you serve you the best service again at The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,905 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,035 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing