We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the buzzle of Bangkok... BLISS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An oasis in the buzzle of Bangkok... BLISS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is truely a splendid place to stay in central Bangkok, while still seeking to have some relaxation and recovery. Greatly appointed in a low rise resort style (no tower, no concrete block) with plenty of beautiful water features and greenery.

Downside - at this last stay I noted the slipping standards in maintaining the place, with the onset of decay and running down setting in at the edges. Though not a great deal, for one of the worlds best hotels (Top 50) the little details are unforgiving:
- torn bed linen,
- mouldy smelling room,
- dirty, smelly water in the ponds and dredges
- arrogant staff

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_laurentius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear l_laurentius,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had a splendid stay with us. The greenery atmosphere and beautiful water pond in the hotel pleased you so much and made you feel relax and recover from the long flight. We will also take your comments for the better improvement.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,726
    421
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
290
1,002
242
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Sukothai

This is a modern urban city resort hotel. The finest architecture. The most intimate design and comfortable features. The BEST gourmet Thai food I have ever tasted at Celedon. The BEST breakfast buffet ever in Asia. The friendliest staff everywhere. The most comfortable rooms in a major city in Asia and with the best amenities and housekeeping. The coffee bar is superb – and, the SPA is an oasis of pleasure and calm. For business or leisure – this is a luxe property and truly is one of the Leading Hotels of the world. Ideal for businessmen, gay couples, single women travellers, or mature couples. NOT ideal for families with kids.

Room Tip: inner courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Chris_Battersea,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed staying with us in an oasis in the heart of Bangkok and we can provide you with the best Thai Hospitality which made your stay the most delightful one.

We wish to welcome you back The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the Sukhothai for 2 nights of our honeymoon. We was instantly blown away by the grand entrance and surreal surroundings.

We was greeted by a extremely nice gentleman Paul at the desk who was extremely informative and helpful when discussing things to do/see in Bangkok. The staff in general we extremely nice.

The room was spotless and very lavish. Bathroom was very clean. I requested honeymoon treatment and they very kindly provided a newly refurbished room and some gifts as well.

Breakfast buffet was very diverse and we was more than pleased with the food they served.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robinpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Robinpatel,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are greatly delighted to be a part of your memorable honeymoon trip. Our well-equipped room and special honeymoon amenities were pleased you and your partner so much as well as the second to none service of our staff and the scrumptious international buffet at Colonnade.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok to celebrate an anniversary with us.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We flew to Asia for a wedding, planning to spend a few days in Bangkok and then to Hong Kong to attend the wedding. We then flew back to Bangkok for a night, a day, and a late evening flight back to the USA. We decided to try the Sukhothai as that last night hotel as it looked like it would be the great place to relax and get us ready for a long flight home. Home run Sukhothai! From the moment we arrived, driving up to the central area, separate from the city we started to relax. The staff was professional and gracious. I used my Amex Platinum Card so we got a bump up...plus free drinks..free breakfast and a meal for two at their restaurant Celadon. In order...room, fantastic, breakfast (feast) fantastic, Thai massage, fantastic, drinks by the pool, fantastic, drinks later at the Zuk Bar, sexy and fantastic (use bug spray) and then dinner at Celadon...wow. I love to eat at hole-in-the-wall places in Bangkok (see Joy Luck Club) but if you are not the type to enjoy the small and quaint when enjoying delicious Thai food, go to the Celadon...so...good...and the service is perfect (not cheap). Bonus to the staff, our plane was late, and the Platinum Card gave us a 4:00 check out, but they let assisted us with storing our things, eating dinner and enjoying the Zuk after check out and then changing into our airplane attire before heading to the airport. We stayed at the Chatrium for the first part of our trip, and I have nothing bad to say about the Chatrium, but the Sukhothai is a few levels up on the luxury ladder.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear PeterfromPhilly,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us before taking a long trip back to US. The cozy yet elegant of The Sukhothai Bangkok can pamper you so much that you are ready for the long trip back home.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Suhkohthai has everything you could want -- a pool and spa and steam room and sauna and jacuzzi and a pillow menu and excellent breakfast buffet and convenient location and a stellar Thai restaurant, in addition to casual poolside dining, service with a smile, and an Italian upscale restaurant as well. I also found it very reasonably priced for such an upscale place.

Room Tip: Our room, a deluxe suite, overlooked the pool and was in the building housing the health club and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppinJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear HoppinJohns,

Thank you very much for your precious review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we successfully created the most wonderful stay for you and your partner. We are overwhelming with your positive review which encourages us to keep on serving the unique experience exclusively for our valued guests.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Once more, nothing to complain, nothing to wish more! The perfect service starts with the Airport pick-up and ends again at the Airport after the check-in. It is since many years my favorite hotel in Bangkok. Perfect place to enjoy and relax.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kocherhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kocherhans,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply delighted to hear that The Sukhothai Bangkok is your most favorite hotel while staying in this city of angle. We are glad to provide you with the flawless service with the top-notch facilities to ensure that you had the most pleasant stay and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere with us.

We look forward to welcome you to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everytime I'm in Bangkok for work for leisure, the only place to stay is The Sukhothai.

I've tried at least 10 different 5-star hotels in Bangkok over the years and none of them can hold a candle to what The Sukhothai has to offer.

It's a calm oasis right in the middle of Bangkok with the most amazing resort-like feel to it. The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean and the service is legendary. All the staff make you feel as though you're the only guest on the property at all times and bend over backwards to get whatever you want done. I once had to get an item gift-wrapped for someone's birthday and they managed to do that for me in 5 minutes for free (nice ribbon on it too!).

They have a Thai restaurant on site that is nothing sort of spectacular (I've tried just about everything on the menu) and an equally fancy Italian restaurant that is not too shabby either.

This hotel doesn't have the cram of shops right outside your hotel room like the hotels on Erawan do, nor does it have a dozen restaurants on-site and half a dozen thumping bars two floors down. What The Sukhothai does have is brilliant service, a feeling that you're in a secluded resort on Phuket and a clam-shell like quality that lets you shut out the noise of Bangkok when you need to.

Absolutely one of my favourite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheldyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear SheldyC,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars review on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to meet our true fan of The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor and thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to accommodate you with the most comfortable rooms in town and serve you with the best Thai hospitality.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,905 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,032 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing