We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Bangkok if your looking for an Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #32 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I did a ton if research before booking this hotel. It is the only five star low rise hotel in Bangkok. I booked it because of the Siamese architecture, beautiful grounds and pool suite with Terrace. The hotel is exactly as pictured on the website and is very well kept. It is a true oasis.

The staff is amazing and provided excellent service. We had the hotel car service pick us up at the airport. The cars are immaculate and our driver was extremely professional, kind and prompt. When they dropped us off at the airport for our return they carried our luggage all the way inside and helped us navigate the airport. We also used the car service to take around to see the sites.

And DONT MISS BREAKFAST! It was included in our room and provided the most luxurious Pan-Asian breakfast buffet I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Book a Suite with Pool Terrace. It provides wonderful outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandGirl102616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear NBPTvoyageur,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok went very well and also went far beyond your expectation. You enjoyed this exclusive experience at an oasis in the heart of Bangkok especially the limousine service and the delicious buffet breakfast at Colonnade.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great hotel in great location! Excellent service, great rooms perfectly decorated with thai silk, very peaceful and quiet. Tasty homemade chocolates refilled every day are additional pleasure)) Best beds - very soft and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dmitry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Dmitry Z,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had the best experience while staying with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok. You also enjoy the decorations and amenities especially our signature chocolate truffles.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I loved this hotel. Thai design and great hospitality. Very quiet and relaxing. Rooms were excellent and full of amenities. Highly recommended for first time tourists want a feel of Thai culture with international 5 star service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HospitalityMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear HospitalityMaven,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

It was our great honour to have you with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the decoration and amenities in our luxurious rooms. Thank you once again for recommending us for those who would like to experience the true Thai hospitality.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Sukhothai is truly a rare find. It's in the sathorn district and the hotel is very well designed in a modern thai twist. It's not overly ornamented, but the thai elements are hinted in all corners. The restaurant and service is good. The hotel is slightly aged, but the maintenance of the property is well kept and a really comfortable place to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear travelerkit,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was the pleasant one. The calmness and tranquility of The Sukhothai Bangkok kept you away from the hectic atmosphere of Bangkok but yet you were still living in the downtown.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

the best surprise of my trip to bangkok was the hotel, its staff and its great service..definitely my choice for any return trip to the area..while bangkok is bustling with busy everything..once the gates open to sukhothai you are are enthralled into a quiet paradise all your own

Room Tip: the hotel is situated perfected beneath all the tall corporate hotels in the neighborhood so u feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afefe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Afefe l,

Thank you very much for your top-rate review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had an amazing experience while staying with us. You also enjoyed this hidden gem property that keep you away from the busy of Bangkok and replaced with the tranquil atmosphere in the heart of the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Sukothai, and had a great experience! What a relaxing place in the middle of busy Bangkok!

We stayed at the president suite which was big and nice. It had a nice, huge bath room with power shower, bath robes, bath tub, and two toilets. Very comfortable bed with very comfy pillows (I had the best sleep there during my whole vacay in Thailand!), two TVs, complimentary water everywhere in the room, fresh fruit and chocolate- nothing was missing!
Yes, one small thing only- we missed a plug in close to our bed so that we could charge our mobile phones during the nights.

The service was great! Very friendly staff, and some of them were speaking English fluently.

Very nice and relaxing pool with comfy sun beds and towels. GREAT service from the pool staff. They come and make your sun bed ready when you enter the pool area, and give you complimentary ice water during your whole stay by the pool- perfect service in the sun!

We also tried the fitness centre which was a big one to be at a hotel.

Nice breakfast.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Line R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Line R,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had the most memorable hide away from the hectic of Bangkok at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you had the best sleep with the selected pillow from our pillow menu. Our pool staff provided you with the outstanding service and made you enjoy you day under the shiny sun.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here early January for a few nights, room was so too far from the main reception/main entrance. Had a problem with the key getting into the room multiple times (each time had to walk all the way down to reception to get it reset only to have the same problem again), it had nothing to do with it being close to my phone (something was wrong with the door panel). One day this happened 3 times, reception did not offer to bring the new reset key to me while waiting at the door (very poor service).

Also left my expensive polo winter jacket in the closet and have been trying to contact them via e-mail and phone but have not received any answer. The Jacket had 50 swiss francs in the pocket.

During check out no one offered to carry my huge luggage from the room/to the taxis.

buffet breakfast and thai restaurant dinner was good, the hotel is overall good facilities wise but need to step their hospitality game up. The staring while walking into breakfast every morning was awkward (not sure if because I was a man of colour). Other guests did not have the same treatment.

If you are reading this Sukhothai, where is my Jacket? I left it in the closet room 335. Heading back to Canada and will be too cold!!!!!

Room Tip: choose a room not to far from the main building, unless you want a bit of exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank black h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear black h,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.
We have acknowledged your comments and we will get back to you separately via an email.

Thank you very much for your patience.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#36 of 891 in Bangkok
6,742 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 891 in Bangkok
4,542 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £135 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing