We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape from the noise of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lovely escape from the noise of the city”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent one night here on a stop-over and were really impressed. The hotel is beautiful and so well designed.
I organised a transfer from the airport and that worked out well. It was pretty quick as it was late at night.
We were upgraded to an executive suite which was lovely - lots of space, fruit plate and chocolates to welcome us. The bathroom/dressing room is huge and works really well. There is enough hanging space and hangers and shelves, two vanity areas, separate shower and bath. The bedroom has a bed down one area , then a section with sofa and chairs and then a desk area. The rooms are well furnished - in excellent taste with lovely Thai carvings and paintings on the wall.
Breakfast was good - good range of food and reasonable coffee. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.We also ate at the Thai restaurant and had a great lunch.
The gym is not large but is well equipped and the staff on duty helpful. They also have another room downstairs where yoga classes and other classes are held. Pool is large - one of the best in Bangkok.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Go55,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok as a stop-over destination and everything went well since the airport pickup service until check out. You were indulged in our luxurious Executive Suite as well as our welcome amenities and delectable breakfast at Colonnade.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    437
    98
    50
    30
See reviews for
304
1,022
255
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel for a four-day stay in Bangkok with our two teenaged sons. It has a reputation for being top-class and it didn't disappoint.

On arrival we were checked in promptly and shown to our rooms. We had booked Executive Suites which are basically a single large room with the bed at one end & sofas & desk at the other, separated by a TV console that can be rotated to face either the sofas (during the day) or the bed (at night time). The furnishings throughout were of a very high standard and the bathroom was very nice, with two small walk-in wardrobes and two console sinks -- so no chance of having to wait to get to the wardrobe or sink!

Breakfast was very nice - the main restaurant on the ground floor is light and airy and never felt noisy or crowded. There was a good choice covering Japanese, Thai, Chinese and European style cuisines. Something for everyone.

The pool area was very nice - with a little cafe where we ate lunch a couple of times. The pool was very warm indeed - almost too warm, really. A very good size, too. And plenty of sun-beds.

The spa was nice - I had a massage and the quality was very good and the prices not to bad for a top quality hotel.

One of the only gripes was the internet - both wired and wireless were incredibly slow. No doubt this is because the hotel is giving away only basic 512kbps and hoping people will pay to upgrade, but honestly in some other Asian cities they're providing broadband free!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Rus N,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you and your lovely family enjoyed staying in our spacious Executive Suite with luxurious bathroom. You also enjoyed our delicious buffet breakfast at Colonnade with choices of Asian and Western cuisine as well as our delicious and comfort lunch by the pool.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A most beautiful hotel with tree-lined drive leading up to the lobby, away from the busy main road. You know you have come home to an oasis of calm and tranquility. The Sukhothai is located in Silom which is primarily a business district and quite deserted on the weekend. I chose it based on its proximity to where I was having my business meetings but it's also only a 5-10 minutes taxi ride to the malls in Sukhumvit. Room is super spacious with very comfortable bed. The carpet in the middle of the room though is not fixed to the teak floor so it tends to move when you walk over it. Bathroom is larger than it looks (due to the use of dark marble walls) and comes with separate toilet and shower. There's even a cute yellow rubber duck by the tub. Plenty of choices at breakfast with good selections to cater to Japanese guests. Staff are most polite and helpful with everything you asks for.

Room Tip: The hotel is built on sprawling grounds with fewer levels compared to other hotels. Some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anggi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear anggi81,

Thank you very much for your precious review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere of the hotel which keeps you away from the noise of the main road. Our spacious room and the service of our professional staff also impress you so much.

We wish to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

i have been staying in the sukhothai for more than 10 years, i hope i can sty there also the next 10 years. this hotel is so nice and relaxed. truly a 5 star house, in all means nd a oasis in never sleeping bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Christian S,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to meet one of our true fans of The Sukhothai Bangkok who has been staying with us more than 10 years. We are delighted to learn that you felt truly relaxing every time you stayed with us in a tranquil atmosphere of the hotel in the heart of Bangkok.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok for the next 10 years.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have stayed at the Sukhothai before, and will always use it as my base in Bangkok. The hotel is a haven of stylish, elegant tranquility. Everything 'works', and the standard of service is outstanding. One of the absolutely best hotels we have stayed at worldwide.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pnlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear pnlaw,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok and it is our great pleasure to meet our true fans on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much again for recommending us as one of the best hotels in the world.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Sukhothai is exceptional, very hospitable - check in was a breeze, very helpful staff, amazing suite overlooking the garden, the best bathroom & great restaurants serving the best Thai food you can find in Bangkok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Rajesh M,

Thank you very much for your best review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn your stay at The Sukhothai was the memorable one and everything went so well since checking in. Our spacious suite and luxurious bathroom amazingly impressed you as well as scrumptious Thai dishes at Celadon.

We look forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Don't miss this old classic in Bangkok.
Perfect service. You ask and they will find it or fix it.
An extra thank you to:
Consierge Mr. Wirachai Chakumrod

No walking distance to shopping, but maybe this
trip wasn't for that. Bangkok has great shopping!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swde_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Swede_2010,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased by the classic style of the hotel as well as the professional service of our talented staff especially the useful information around the city from Khun Wirachai, our Chief Concierge.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,223 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 862 in Bangkok
4,079 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing