We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely classy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #35 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Impeccable staff and a really beautiful Thai welcome has meant that I have returned here half a dozen time. The hotel food is great and you are made to feel special. I travel here with my mother and they ways make such a fuss and have been so lovely, even had a suite upgrade last time which was excellent!
It's not the trendiest hotel but if you are looking for discrete class... It's the best.
Lovely pool and spa facilities.
For chocoholics the chocolate buffet is a must....set aside an afternoon :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whistlewhilstyouwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Caroline H,

Thank you very much for spending time writing us such a great review.

We are delighted to learn that you and your mother had a wonderful stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok on November 2013. It is our pleasure to have you as our precious guests. Thank you very much for recommending our facilities including spa, pool and also our scrumptious Chocolate Buffet for a “must-try” list.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here for three nights while in Bangkok on business. Couldn't ask for more. Centrally located, but well set back from the road and the hustle and bustle of a busy city. Outlook from my room was a lovely pond/pool, with water lilies and the sound of frogs at night. Room was well appointed, staff courteous and helpful. I had one free day for sightseeing, and the hotel arranged for a tour guide who took us to the Grand Palace, and on a river/canal trip. Tour was hassle free, reasonably priced and guide threw in a few extras free of charge (visit to flower market, fruit market etc) and with no pressure to buy (really!!!) .

Room was a good size, and well appointed. Bed comfy, and loved the bathroom. Getting the TV volume to work is a bit of an art - I suggest you call housekeeping who will with great patience tell you which button to press on the remote (it's not intuitive, and I could tell when I called this wasn't the only time the had dealt with this query!).

There were several restaurants in the hotel. Didn't try them all, as there are lots if good value options close by if you want to eat out. But plenty of choice and a pleasant setting at The Colonnade for breakfast. I also had lunch at the hotel ( ?La Scala) which was very good.

All in all - top notch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beanthere189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Beanthere189,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing us a wonder review.

We all at The Sukhothai Bangkok are so pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was a good one and please accept our apologize for a minor inconvenience regarding TV volume control.

We will definitely share this beautiful review among our team and we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back here again.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I spent one night in July (only one, unfortunately...) and it is my best experience in a luxury hotel so far. Charming and efficient staff, beautiful rooms, beds so confortable you woudn't leave the room, plus everything you can expect in this category and more. The place itself is peaceful although the location is very close to Bangkok center, the deco is tasteful, the breakfast buffet is something you wouldn't like to miss. An amazing hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Olivier G,

We are so delighted to learn that you have had such the best stay here with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok for one night.

We will definitely share this 5-star review among our team and we all hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back here again.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Shukhothai Hotel Bangkok is one of the best hotels in Bangkok. Luxury everywhere, amazing bed king size, huge buffet and nice pool. We want to make an special mention with Kovit, the bellman (concierge department). He helped us with a try of scam, he saved us! Staff like that is the difference between The Sukhothai Residences and the rest. We are so greatful!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Alba R,

We are so glad to hear that you have had such a wonderful stay here with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We would like to show our appreciation to you for writing this wonderful review for us on our TripAdvisor page and that you have acknowledge our wonderful staff. We are so grateful on our behalf that he was able to assist your needs to ensure you a safe and convenient visit here in Bangkok.

We hope to welcome you back here again at The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I always liked the Beaufort Sentosa and the Sukhothai has all the feeling of that hotel. It's very calm, peaceful, dignified, understated and has large well maintained albeit old style rooms. A huge bonus, and you'd think this would be a basic for all hotels, is that the beds and pillows here are amazing and I've had a couple of really good nights sleep as a result.

The air conditioning is perfect and the tv is clear, with a good Bose sound system.

Downside? The in room dining was disappointing - breakfast is ok but a couple of meals like the Phad Thai were pretty poor.

Overall though, a very comfortable classic hotel, good value and a very peaceful in a very busy city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rogerstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear rogerstephens,

Thank you so much for showing your appreciation towards our hotel. It puts many smiles on our faces knowing that you have had such a pleasant stay with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are also glad that our wide selection of pillow menu were able to ensure you a good night sleep and that our hotel amenities were to your liking.

We are always happy to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok and hope that you would have an even more pleasant stay in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely and quiet place in Bangkok's Sathorn Area. MTR (Lumpini) is just around the corner walking distance. BTS (Sala Dang) is more of a walk up to Silom Road. For us, we always enjoy walking around in BKK without any particular aim so its just fine. But for those who want to be nearby BTS or malls, this place is alittle off the mark would need a taxi. Other than that, it is a perfect spot to relax in this little oasis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Janyvo,

We would like to show our appreciation towards your review for our hotel on our TripAdvisor page.

We hope that you have enjoyed your stay here with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok and you have enjoyed your stroll and explored through our beloved city of Bangkok conveniently thanks to our central location.

We hope to be your choice hotel and to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok once again.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is beautifully maintained with elegant gardens and a great sense of space and calm. Service is excellent, rooms are spacious and front desk is highly efficient and friendly. It's low rise form and gardens make it standout in Bangkok.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear 69Armstrong

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review on our TripAdvisor page for our restaurants and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed our service and the luxuries hotel amenities, which The Sukhothai Bangkok has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#34 of 896 in Bangkok
6,831 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 896 in Bangkok
4,696 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 896 in Bangkok
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 896 in Bangkok
8,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £152 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing