We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed here for a long weekend and found the Hotel to be wonderful. Very peaceful setting you can easily forget (if you want to) that you are only metres away from bustling Bangkok.
The service was absolutely flawless, the best I have experienced. The rooms are very nice, gorgeous pool. Great restaurant.
I will most definitely stay here again next time I am in BKK.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    421
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
290
1,002
241
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

If you are looking for a relaxing environment in bussy Bangkok, this hotel will please you.
Beautifull place (not only the rooms), very friendly and helpfull staff.
Incredible choice of breakfasts. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Absolutely amazing 5 star hotel in the heart of the CBD, 10 minute walk from the Lumphini Night Market and MRT station. Excellent service, breakfast buffet with a large choice of foods.

In response to a previous review the pool is NOT small! It's a proper 25 metre pool which is fantastic for those who enjoy swimming rather than those stupid free form pools that many hotels have. Plenty of sun loungers and towels. Excellent and friendly pool side attendants.

I have also stayed at the Banyan Tree next door, and the Sukhothai is definately far superior. I would most definately stay here again.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Compared to all of the large high-rise hotels in Bangkok, The Sukhothai is a calm oasis in a busy part of the city. The rooms are lovely with teak wood and silk furnishings. I ate in all of the restaurants and the quality was excellent across the board. Service is top nitch. It's a lovely hotel to come back to after a day out in busy Bangkok. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

We spent 3 days at the Sukhothai on the way to Koh Samui. It's 5 star luxury well worth the money, fantastic service and great pool with sun most of the day. Like an oasis in the middle of the busy city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorisgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Very nice hotel, conveniently located close to the subway. Although on a main thoroughfare the hotel is set back a bit so very quiet. Thai restaurant on the grounds is very delicious and right next door is the first class Banyon Tree spa. The pool is smallish but good enough but I think the pool and healthclub are open to residents nearby so that is a slight negative. With late flights we can check out but take a shower at the gym before leaving.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeroeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We have stayed in plenty 5 star hotels all around the world, but we never experienced the service the Sukhothai is offering. Upon arriving it starts immediately. We went to the receptiondesk and as soon as we mentioned our names, the receptionist invited us to go to the room to do the check-in in our room. We had a Delux suite. Although the view is not the best, the room is exceptional. It is very larg, the biggest bathroom we ever saw in a hotel.

The receptionist filled in all the forms and asked us if we wanted to have a special package (free Internet, breakfast included and a late check out). We decided to do so, The package includes also free drinks and some laundery. We did not make use of all the facilities but we loved them.

As mentioned the room is very big. On the writing desk there is a tray with chocolate and this is filled every day. Mostly when you are in a hotel you get once the chocolate and fruit, but here they give you new every day. The room was very quite, we did not hear anything.

The bar has an inside area and a outside area. The first night we decided to sit outside. Mist in ventilators are giving you a pleasant feeling. You do not become wet, but it is very refreshing.

Breakfast buffet is also very good. Lot of bread, jams, honey (fresh!), fruits, and asian food. Orange jus is not fresh this is a bit disappointing, but I think that oranges are not common in Thailand as most hotels have only non fresh orange jus.

The pool is beautiful, we stayed the entire day at the pool, it was very quiet, good service, very good food and they provide a lot of free water and cold towels. In many hotels you do get them once and then you have to ask for, here they check regularly and provide you with new / fresh / cold water.

We also ate in the hotel. Food was also good.

When we checked out the receptionist even remembered our names. As soon as we walked to the reception the manager saw us and took our luggagues he asked the room number and said this number in Thai to the receptionist. As I do have a very difficult name it was great that the receptionist mentioned my name and pronounced it good! This is service of the highest level. I do love this kind of service.

The hotel also has a good sauna / spa and gym.

We are going back to BKK half november (end of the holiday). I do regret that I did not book this hotel.

If I do have to mention some disappointments they are:
- transport to and from the airport is very pricy. (THB 2,700 compared to THB 450 by local taxi)
- no real tour over the property this leads to searching for the gym, spa, sauna etc. They are all located somewhere else
This are non important things for me. The service Sukhothai provides is much better then hotels as Adlon (Berlin), Setai (Miami), Palace (NYC) etc. We do love this hotel!

I saw that someone said that the concierge can be homophobic we never experienced this. We are a gay couple and we saw a lot of other couples too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,904 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,024 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing