We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Still an oasis”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I have stayed here many times since my first review of this hotel in 2008 and it has maintained its status and presentation each time. On this latest brief stay of only two days I found the hotel to still be wonderful although I was disappointed that the sumptuous buffet breakfasts are no longer on offer, probably because the low occupancy of around 10% means a buffet would be an overkill. I also found the noise from the "Sukhothai Residences" construction site at the rear of the hotel a bit irritating but only when enjoying the hotel's pool area. There is no noise from the site inside the hotel or the rooms. What impressed me the most on this stay was the incredible value currently on offer with the "welcome back package" - an attempt to resuscitate traveller interest after the recent political troubles in Thailand. I found Bangkok to be "back to normal" including the traffic jams but with everyone smiling again. Except for the couple of minor gripes mentioned above, the hotel is a great place to stay: the pool, the gym, the spacious rooms, the impeccable service, and the overall karma of the hotel are not to be missed at these prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,765
    431
    98
    49
    30
See reviews for
299
1,013
252
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago before chaos hit the streets of Bangkok. It was an oasis in the middle of the city. The service was superb, the rooms were enormous, comfortable and beautifully appointed and the food was delicious. Suhkhothai gets it when they hit all the details to go over and beyond just a regular 5-star hotel. From the flowers to the chocolate and fruit in the rooms, to the gracious service in the restaurant, the spa, the concierge and front desk, they really know how to pamper you.

We hope peace can be restored to the wonderful people of Thailand. We feel so bad for Bangkok and our friends. We are watching the news all the time and hope it can be resolved soon.

Thank you Suhkhothai for a wonderful stay. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surijitjang, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 June 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comment about facilities and services.

I am very pleased to hear that our guests feel that they are well pampered even during crisis in Bangkok. As you may aware now that situation in Bangkok has returned to normality and the city has opened its door to welcome you and many traveler back again.

So we hope to have another pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Warmth regards,
Suri Jitjang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Service in Thailand is generally great and the service is the Sukhothai is one of the best the city has to offer. Ask for a room in the smaller building near the pool / fitness center area, as they are a lot nicer and some rooms in the main building can take forever to get to. The best thing about this hotel is the FOOD! The breakfast buffet (especially on Sundays) is a feast for the king. The inhouse Thai restaurant Celadon serves the best Thai food I have ever had. I stayed at this hotel multiple times and every night during my stay I ate at Celadon and never got bored.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalikidd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Exploring bustling Bangkok for a first was a trying experience. All things considered, our four-night stay at the Sukhothai was the highlight of our visit to that city.

We arranged for their driver with their lofty and comfy Mercedes Benz to pick us up at the airport (totally recommended - even at $90.00 USD one way - for anyone taking long haul flights and landing in Bangkok after midnight, fuzzy eyed, and slightly clueless). As soon as we arrived late night at the gates of this property, driving up their lotus lined private lane off a plebian main road, we knew before even checking-in that choosing this hotel was a wise idea.

The following days, every time we left the Sukhothai to eventually explore Bangkok’s many tourist sites, we wanted to go back to the hotel as soon as possible! This point could not be any further from the truth, as the Sukhothai felt like such a calm oasis from the chaos of everyday Bangkok. As you may or may not be aware, Bangkok’s traffic situation in the city centre is terrible. Compounding this traffic annoyance, the heat in late March is borderline intolerable, especially, midday. Plus, the majority of architecture found throughout the city is unmemorable and mistakable at best, outside of the historic palaces, temples, and so on. Thus, staying at the Sukhothai was very good for us, because we respect good architecture and design, amidst all the lifeless concrete office towers surrounding the property.

No doubt, the minimalist Zen-like design of the Sukhothai and surrounding gardens are works of art to behold, but, the enlightened level of customer service at this property is of note, and what I would like to focus my time writing about here. (For, I could go on and on about how brilliant I found the overall architecture and interior design is, yet, my pictures should cover those points nicely enough.) One cannot find a better concierge team than the one working at this hotel each hour of the day - they went above and beyond their job in helping us plan our restaurant visits, and it was so refreshing to experience such a high level of customer service from truly dedicated professionals.
The exceptional service at the Sukhothai did not end at the concierge desk, as it was ever present in all facets of the hotel: from the breakfast buffet service team; to the luncheon and dinner service team at their amazing Thai restaurant, ‘Celadon’; even, the room service staff we met were lovely, especially, our daily housekeepers, and our ‘flower-fruit-chocolate’ server, both of whom refreshed our room at least two to three times, daily. Even the hotel’s fitness trainers were delightful to be around during morning exercises in the hotel’s well appointed gym (after one session, a trainer decided that my partner and I needed to be stretched by him, and it was one of the best stretches ever!), adding another nice example of their service team going above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay most memorable and enjoyable.

Surprisingly for such a large hotel, the gastronomy at the Sukhothai is most impressive – the best in Bangkok (and much, much better than what I’ve experienced staying recently at ‘The Oriental’). Lunch and dinner experiences at ‘Celadon’ were outstanding for fine Thai cuisine and service. After visiting many top Thai restaurants in the city, I have to say that ‘Celadon’ was simply the best haute Thai cuisine we tasted in all of Thailand.) The hotel’s Executive Chef, Nam Nguyen, even took some time out of his busy schedule to meet with us during our last luncheon, telling us about the hotel’s unique gastronomic programme. Gastronomes know when a hotel’s food and beverage department have taste and culinary vision, especially, when they go ahead and invite one of the top chefs working in Paris today, Pascal Barbot (chef-owner of the three-starred Michelin restaurant, L’Astrance) to close his restaurant for a week to be able to cook his esteemed French haute cuisine at the Sukhothai for a number of nights for very lucky guests. It was too bad we missed Pascal’s visit early March, 2010… Yet again, another fine example of how the Sukhothai gets every, I mean every angle right within their establishment, starting with offering their guests the best in contemporary architecture, interior and exterior designs, to enlightened customer service and gastronomy like no other in Bangkok.

I’ll be back!

Sincerely,

Richard Maloney

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surijitjang, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Thank you very much for a lengthy review please know that it was shared with the team here so that understand how much their work is appreciated.

We are pleased that your return to our hotel was once again, a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back again Mr. Maloney.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Stayed as this hotel for six nights as we were stuck in Bangkok after our flights to London were cancelled. I cannot find anything to criticise about this hotel; the staff were absolutely superb, combining Thai charm and hospitality with a relaxed friendliness that made you feel welcome and valued. You get treated extremely well and sincerely. The hotel is very beautiful and the garden suite we stayed in was large, comfortable and had a fanatastic bathroom; completely over the top without being tacky. Could not recommend this hotel more and you will not get value and service like this any where in Europe

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newx48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surijitjang, Hotel Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 April 2010
Thank you very much for providing us this review as well as feedback of your stay post-departure. Both comments were shared with team today to let them know and thanks them for their dedication.

We look forward to welcome you back to your second home in Bangkok again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Only stayed one night, but both the rooms were upgraded to a suite. What a suite, the bathroom was bigger than a normal lounge.

Once you are in the Hotel grounds, you would not know you were in a city, it was peaceful with lots of greenery. The only highrises were in front of the Hotel so the view from the swimming pool was nearly tropical! There is building work on a building to one side, but we heard no noise even when swimming.

Given a 17.00 late departure which made life very easy.

Easy walking distance to the Underground, Suam Lum Night Market and Lumpini Park.

And the Italian Restaurant - the best we have been in. Superb service and the food cooked in front of you. Sublime....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This place knows how to look after guests. On arrival we were told that sadly because of the troubles in Thailand the hotel had a very low occupancy. Rather than scale back services though the manager had agreed that everyone visiting should be upgraded which Jazzie who checked us in promptly did ;)

From the spa to the bellboy everyone was friendly and genuinely keen to help from the spa receptionist making sure we had reservation for dinner through to getting us oysters delivered they were all great.

A beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonylok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,152 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing