We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at the serene Sukothai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the serene Sukothai”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I have just returned from a 4 days stay at the Sukothai. I was traveling with my mother who has never been to Bangkok before. Given the price and reputation expectation were high and I must say that they were all met. Some other hotels enjoy the river views, but the Sukothai has managed to create a small haven in the middle of the buzz. The hotel was fully booked so we got upgraded to a deluxe suite. We had opted for an amazing package, which included a number of extras, including breakfast at the Colonnade and thai massage. Fantastic value for money. Most importantly though, staff was very attentive, personal and knowledgeable and we got the feeling that they really cared.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    426
    97
    49
    26
See reviews for
294
1,008
246
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Loved everything about this 5 Star hotel - large room, service very good, spectacular serene and zen-like facility, large morning meal shopping - except the celadon Thai Restaurant. Had an only mean serving of food, awful service, and loud families blended in with calm couples. May be they had a awful day, but it put us off after reading all the large reconsiders about it. Much better wager is Baan Khanita, A impede away in a beautiful vintage house. Earlier mail conversed about close by building, this is all finished a very beautiful property.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I had to write this review in order I share such a wonderful experience with trip adviser readers. We booked the welcome back to Thailand package in an executive suite. This was as a finale to our 15-day stay in Thailand. Arriving at the Sukhothai we were welcomed to an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The hotel is in a wonderful setting. The service from the minute you walk through the door is first class and fully warrants the awards the hotel has won. Within an hour of checking in the staff knew our names and welcomed us wherever we went. The room was to die for, complimentary mini bar, fresh handmade chocs and even a pillow menu offering no less than 7 types of pillow. We utilised the laundry service and items were returned to us after 2 hours. The room was so spacious with every amenity you could think of- two flat screen TV’s Bose sound system, Wi fi access, remote controls for lighting and air conditioning and comfortable sitting areas. As for the hotels facilities all matched and exceeded expectations. The Thai restaurant was wonderful and some of the best Thai food we had eaten on this trip. Breakfast was a wealth of choices with some food cooked fresh to order. Although we never participated in the weekend chocolate buffet the choice on offer looked wonderful and a chocolate lovers delight. Included in our package was a free 1-hour massage in the hotels spa…a fantastic relaxing experience easing away of the stresses and strains of staying in such a luxurious establishment!! We utilised the pool, which was a great way to relax and unwind after a morning out shopping in the hustle and bustle of the city. The pool attendants were on station within seconds laying towels out, providing complimentary ice water and spray bottles with chilled water to spray you with. Drinks and snacks were brought to you and served on small tables with silver cutlery and starched napkins. Some reviewers mention noise disruption but I have to comment this was minimal and relates to a new apartment building being constructed at the rear of the hotel. I feel you have to accept being in a city location such as Bangkok there will be an element of noise but this certainly did not put an edge on our stay. The Hotel is also currently updating some of their rooms, which again are soft building works, and they have gone to every length in order to minimise disruption. The final treat was the limo service to the airport (included in the package) where we were met by a representative from the hotel who escorted us with baggage to check in and completed these formalities on our behalf. Overall I would highly recommend the Sukhothai hotel as they make you feel like a VIP even if it only just for the duration of the stay!! All of the staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable. Full marks to the management team.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surijitjang, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear Hampshire10,

We are very pleased to know that your final stop in Thailand with us was very memorable.

Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience and please know that your lengthly review means a lot to our our team here. I have shared it personally with team this morning to thanks and encourage them to consistently provide excellent service that the Sukhothai is famous about.

Thank you again for spending time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Suri Jitjang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Treated like royalty. Friendly staff and gorgeous Thai furnishings

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnywithag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was a fantastic experience. The room, amities and staff exponentially exceeded our expectations. We were actually meant at the airport by a hotel representative when departing who handled our check in, and expedited our custom clearance. A car was sent for the take our wives to a specific store for shopping. This hotel is a do not miss experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

One of the best hotels I've been worldwide. the quiet and beautiful atmosphere in hectic Bangkok is unique.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebeb020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruz Bay, St. John
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Great hotel actually except that they recommended a jewelry store name the royal lapidary co. That changed a number on a credit card bill from the amount we had agreed on. I signed the credit card receipt and Amex never bothered to call me to on a seventy nine thousand dollar charge for 24 hours. They credited the store. I had left Thailand by that time. I'd avoid any Store this hotel recommends. I've been there three times. Never again. A business partner of mine was there a week ago and sure enough they still recommend this store. I think there is pay back involved. As long as I'm on a rant. The centurion card service is basically a joke. When I had a platinum card they'd call to have me on the phone for buying a few cd's at virgin records. A seventy nine thousand dollar charge get no reaction for 24 hours. My battle with Amex is just getting started.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satchel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,087 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing