We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our first trip as a couple to Thailand and we spent 3 nights here. We were upgraded to a premier room on the 47th floor which made us quite happy on arrival. The room was furnished in nice, warm colours and the incense and essential oils that were replaced daily really added that extra attention to detail.

The buffet breakfast selection was good and had everything from fruit to cereal, toast, omelettes to dim sims, fried rice and even ice cream and donuts.

The in room dining service was lovely, food arrived promptly and the staff were ever so friendly, even when we ordered food past midnight. The food selection on offer was quite diverse and everything that we tried was delicious.

We also went to Latitude Lounge for cocktails, and the compliemtary snacks - roasted pumpkin, wasabi peas and roasted cashew nuts were lovely. The food we ordered on the side to have with our drinks were from their Saffron restaurant menu, and I recommend trying the prawns wrapped in crispy noodle and the grilled salmon salad with pork belly skin, both of which were divine.

On our second night we went to dine at the alfresco restaurant on top of the hotel, Vertigo, and I must say with the attentative service, the amazing food and wonderful views, I found nothing to fault. Do try the foie gras, the serving is more than generous. Granted yes, it will set you back a bit if you're looking for cheap eats as this place is clearly the opposite, but it is a wonderful experience. They even took a photo of us and we received it as a complimentary photo at the end of our meal.

As for the staff, I have nothing but compliments for them as anything we requested was met with a smile. We would gladly come back here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackstar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,450)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,491 - 4,497 of 6,450 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

The banyan tree Bangkok feels a little worn. Although there is nothing seriously wrong with the hotel, you will probably be able to find less expensive and more stylish and newer options in the city. The room was quite small though reasonably well furnished. The pool was tiny and there wasn't much in the way of facilities. You'd expect more from a banyan tree but this was really just average.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank spiders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel may be a little way from the action and transport links but taxis are plentiful and you get a great night's sleep. Many people trek over here to get to the skybar and restaurant which is beautiful, romantic and fairly priced for this category of hotel.

We stayed in a 1bed suite which was an automatic upgrade. It was my friend's birthday for one of the days and the lovely staff surprised us with a delicious complementary chocolate birthday cake.

The bathroom has a great big bath and a spacious shower cubicle, as well as great smelling toileteries. The gym is well equipped and offers yoga and other keep fit classes. The staff there are super-helpful providing drinks, towels, music and even apples when you need them. The pool is big and gets the sun part of the day and the room service, incl food was delicious and again, fairly priced.

The welcome drink and flowers were a nice touch, as is the lobby music, which is traditional Thai, but they could check you in faster and also provide a tuktuk to a main hub point, as many of the other hotels do. Otherwise, fantastic. Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and check out hotel comparison websites as this one sometimes offers special deal...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danusiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok in a two bedroom Suite. The Suite was generously proportioned and replete with amenities, although it was starting to look and feel dated.

The service at the Banyan tree was varied. The Club Lounge staff, with a few notable exceptions, were quite ordinary; regularly mixing up, or outright forgetting, orders for food and drinks. In somewhat of a contrast, the Club Reception staff, the Club Concierge and the other Guest services staff were generally good.

The Club benefits are worthwhile and include access to the exclusive Club Floor (although the Club facilities simply aren't large enough to accommodate all of the guests who are entitled to use them). Other Club benefits include breakfast, snacks and drinks during the day and cocktails at night. Club guests are also entitled to a free laundry services of up to 8 articles of clothing each day.

The Banyan Tree is on Sathorn Road, which is away from the traditional tourist areas and seems primarily geared to business travelers; although still very convenient for those whose purpose in visiting Bangkok is to shop. The BTS (Sky Train) is an easy 10 minute walk.

There a a number of restaurants in the Banyan tree including the al-fresco roof-top Vertigo and several others on the 52nd floor, including Saffron. It is an experience to eat at Vertigo (especially at night) although the food and service is unremarkable, and its prices are not justified. Saffron and the other restaurants offer better food and service, at much more reasonable prices; and the view is just a good.

The Banyan tree is well located and a comfortable enough retreat from the hustle of Bangkok, however the time for renovation must be close, and the service really needs improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

service is what you expect in a 5 star hotel

even when i accidently spilt a cup of tee on the bed the service was fast and efficent

the vertigo bar is a must do when in bangkok topped a romatic night there

Room Tip: go as high as possible for fantastic city views we stayed on the 40th floor and the views were spect...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udornbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

All the staff gave everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They didn't stop to surprise us with their excellent service.

Room Tip: High floors to enjoy the view over Bangkok.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Bangkok and although Banyan Tree isn't at the very top of my list it sure is a most comfortable retreat to come back to after being out in stifling Bangkok.

The dark wood-panelling interiors and decor makes for a homey feel, with generous-sized rooms and expansive bathrooms. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and very good. Lobby lounge great to have tea or coffee at. Fitness centre is more than adequate for a hotel although has aging equipment. I wasn't quite a fan of the location of steam room and sauna having to traverse the cold common area to get to the change rooms. Pool is small but pretty. Moon Bar is gorgeous at night.

Overall a very lovely stay with nice, friendly, helpful and quite attentive staff. Recommendable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loinkloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#21 of 880 in Bangkok
4,238 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 880 in Bangkok
8,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 880 in Bangkok
4,436 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £111 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing