We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but suffering from its popularity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but suffering from its popularity”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Banyan Tree chain has a good reputation and the Bangkok property is very nice in every aspect - except that it is a little too busy due to its popularity. Many good features including the rooftop bar and restaurant, iconic yet smallish pool, nice club lounge with complementary drinks and massage, good breakfast selection ( but filtered coffee was awful, best order a latte or cappacinno) . Concierge service was so so, very rushed and not that knowledgeable except for the obvious.
The overall impression was very good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor_townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,475
    1,298
    356
    99
    63
See reviews for
921
3,285
329
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Some initial hiccups with our room meant that the first 24 hours was not the best start to our stay of 4 days.  However, in true Banyan Tree style the guest services manager (Apple) rescued the situation and we had a fabulous stay from then on. 

We had a double roomed suite which had every amenity required and some nice touches at turn down.  We used the club lounge facilities which were particulary good and visited the Moon Bar which is a must. I have read that it has extortionate prices but we had a delicious cocktail with an outstanding view for £6 per drink, that I think is very reasonable. 

I will definitely stay here again. 

Room Tip: Club facilities are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2012

not so close to BTS or MTR. and Internet is quite slow!! furnituring seems aged.
but services are exceptional~~

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in a premier room for 4 nights, loved it's spacious room and comfortable king bed. Banyan tree is located in a business area in Bangkok, not far from Siam - the main shopping place and most places of interest, but you do need a taxi, nowhere is within walking distance. The hotel is running a complimentary shuttle bus to the nearest BTS and MRT stations hourly. Bear in mind traffic in bangkok is a big problem, when you estimate your time, please add at least 30mins. Breakfast was ok, not too many choices, and they didn't like to change the dishes, almost same stuff everyday. Hotel staff were friendly however services were super super slow...spent 30mins on check-out when they were not busy at all, corrected the staff twice and still got it calculated wrong...Almost missed my flight. They sent me an email afterwards with an additional bill attached!!!
Wanted to have a high-tea in the lobby, another 30mins wait....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Conniejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We went to the Banyan Tree for a 2 night week-end, attracted by the name of this franchise we had not tried before as well as good rates overall.
For the money we paid via a regular internet travel agent, this turned out to be one of our best choices ever.
Overall the hotel is a bit dated (which I read is also a comment some readers made about their hotels in South East Asia), and you can see it was top of its class just 5-10 years ago. Apart from that, the experience is excellent, and jusifies the gap with a Shangri-la or Mandarin oriental, sigificantly pricier.
The great thing about this hotel is the fact that entry level rooms (Deluxe) are built as mini-suites which makes them a treat for famillies : children can sleep in the living-room and watch their own TV while you stay in your bedroom, close the doors and watch your own!
Service levels through the hotel vary from OK to exceptionnal (OK fo the concierge and receptionist, very good for the restaurants and exceptional for the top bar and restaurant, Vertigo). Special thanks to "Dear", our waitress at Vertigo, who did a great job. This restaurant has the most amazing setting, whith unbelievable views over Bangkok. Don't miss it.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

i was giving a night at the banyan tree for my 21st birthday and a end to a month trip in thailand. the hotel was amazing the rooms are massive and the views are to die for, we had dinner ther to which was very nice but the service was terrible, we waited an hour and 10minutes to be served with the starter, we nearly got up and went, and for a student it is very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank wayman_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived in bangkok with severe jet lag and not being able to see barely see 5 metres infront of us due to tired tired eyes. Arriving at the Banyan Tree was a real soother! We were greeted with flowers smiles and a lovely check in procudure from a wonderful young man named Boat. We were even received a complementary room upgrade and delicious bottle of red.

The rooms were splendidly asian in style, with so much space. The bathroom did lack personality in comparison to the living and sleeping areas- but the view and bathroom products more than makes up for this. Falling asleep to the twinkling bangkok skyline and waking up to a hazy vista everyday and night was a real treat.

The pool was excellent, if you're a sunworshiper then take note the height of the building casts a rather stubborn shadow during midday, but there's plenty of sun to go around in the morning and later afternoon. We also made use of the spa twice, which was a phenomenal experience!

The hotel had an awesome smell everywhere, and there were gratuitous amounts of flowers everywhere (the amount of dead orchids this hotel must get through is quite sensational) . The staff are incredibly attentive in all areas, especially at font desk, pool/spa and Vertigo.

Vertigo was surely one of the best bars any one can hope for. Although expensive for Bangkok, it's still a real steal compared to your grotty local boozer in the UK. The downside to the banyan tree is the food is NOT up to standard. Breakfast was slow. We ate at Saffron and had unfortunately experienced better Thai in London. We also ordered a £15 cheese board one lunch and it was a real embarrassment – a very lousy and meagre composition of four ritz crackers and pre-sliced edam. Yawn.

One tip- head to the Metropolitan hotel next door for dinner at Nahm, which will not dissappoint.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,290 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#18 of 867 in Bangkok
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 867 in Bangkok
4,397 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#35 of 867 in Bangkok
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing