We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place...with some need for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place...with some need for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Banyan Tree Bangkok, pampered by the hotel's "typical" embrace and atmosphere. Pity that it has been quite hard to communicate to many of the employees due to sometimes even very limited knowledge of English. This is quite a glitch for a hotel that is ranked at the luxury level and comes with luxury-specific rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank monpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,284
    1,241
    345
    98
    58
See reviews for
860
3,164
316
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at the Banyan Tree Bangkok for 3 nights for work. I had booked a club room and was upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which was fabulous. Club services were good - 4 pieces of laundry per day, free shoe shine. Unfortunately, I did not have time to avail myself of the free 10 minute massage. No complaints at all about the room quality, and the bath was fantastic. Rooms were quiet, and service unobtrusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank UmiEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Have stayed at this hotel seven or eight times. Quite simply, the best hotel in the world. They pay attention to all details and do so with class. Highly recommended.Having stayed in many 5 star hotels in Thailand, the Banyan Tree is by far the best, for quality, price service and staff. If you are planning a trip to Bangkok I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Karan K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts as our important repeated guest.

It's our great pleasure to learn that we have delivered you a memorable experience at Banyan Tree Bangkok, and we feel so grateful for your patronage of the hotel. Your gracious comment has been shared to the entire team to continue working with passions in order to go beyond our guest expectations and maintain the high service standard of Banyan Tree.

Thank you so much for your time, and we are looking forward to be of your service once again in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Chances are that you’ll travel a long time to get to Bangkok, so it is important to have a quiet, comfortable place to rest after the journey. Equally as important is a refuge from the city’s hot, bustling streets. This theme developed as my wife and I planned for a week-long holiday in Bangkok.

Therefore, we were please to find a nice package at the Banyan Tree Bangkok. We were pleasantly surprised that such a high level of service was available for the price. This attention began with the reservation staff’s help with a couple of e-mailed questions prior to arrival.

We were exhausted after our long flights to Bangkok, so the quick, efficient check in was just what we needed. After standard paperwork at the front desk, a receptionist accompanied us upstairs to show us the room, taking great pains to explain the many amenities. The door staff delivered our luggage to the room minutes after the receptionist left us. These were representative introductions to the hotel employees. We did not encounter a staff member who was not friendly, polite, and helpful in every way that we needed.

Our package included a club room, and we upgraded further to the one-bedroom suite. We enjoyed the extra space in our suite. Since our sleep patterns were so altered due to the time change, being able to close the door to the bedroom allowed one of us to get up without disturbing the other’s rest.

We experienced two mechanical problems (hot water pressure and a blown fuse) with the room during our stay, but maintenance fixed them as soon as we notified guest services.

The club room services were well worth the cost. Breakfast was included, and we seldom have seen such a generous, varied buffet at any hotel. Offerings included pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, fresh juices, and both Western and Asian hot dishes. The kitchen staff also cooked eggs to order. Additionally, the club lounge was open for beer, wine, and soft drinks through the day, and the cocktail hour from 5:30 to 7:30 pm offered enough light fare (including drinks) for a satisfying dinner on several evenings.

The Bangkok Post and International Herald Tribune were delivered to the door each morning. Wi-fi and cabled network service was included as well. We also were able to send four clothing items to the laundry each day. Leaving a laundry bag outside the door in the morning, our clothes were returned cleaned and pressed (or carefully folded) later in the afternoon. It would be nice to have this service at home.

Bangkok is a fascinating city, and our visits included the temples, palaces, and museums highlighted in most tourist guides. We were able to walk from the hotel to the Sala Daeng Sky Train station, from which transit to most locations was pretty easy. To be sure, the walk back to the hotel after a day of sightseeing was challenging in the afternoon heat. Even so, it often seemed that walking was faster than sitting in Bangkok’s traffic. This comfortable base for our holiday nearly made it hard to get out for more adventures.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 24. to 26.11.2012, on the 44. floor. Awesome wiew, and the suite was spaceious. Location only 10 mins. walk from Silom Road, and the Skytrain (and also the underground line).

On the rooftop (61. floor), there is a restaurant called "Vertigo", and "Moon Bar". What a wiew! Even if you don't stay at the hotel, visit the rooftop! The prices of alcohol are more Norwegian, than Thai, but you may afford one or two drinks, there.

Staying at Banyan Tree Bangkok is good value for money! :-)

Room Tip: Choose a city-wiew room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyrhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear dyrhan,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok.

We are very happy to learn that your had enjoyed your stay with a great review on the location and our rooftop restaurant, Vertigo & Moon Bar. We hope that you will accord us another opportunity in the future to be of your service.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

I was amazed. Speachless. In the middel of the,most chaotic place on earth you'll find this piece of paradise with its tranquill pool and spectacular views. No hotel will ever match the service and friendlyness of the staff. Dinner was really expensive but worth every cent through and through.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernest v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 on our first trip to Thailand. The hotel is beautiful, although not a great location for tourists. It is in the business district, so not much nearby including restaurants. The breakfast buffet was included with our room and was outstanding. A huge variety of choices and beautiful courtyard outside the restaurant. Loved the variety of fresh fruit juices. A number of people recommended the rooftop bar, which has a spectacular view of Bangkok, especially at sunset. Get there early for good seating.

The service was great. I had problems with the WiFi on my iphone and ipad, the staff at the front desk was able to add the ip addresses manually while I waited.

Overall a great hotel, but don't plan on walking anywhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,905 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#92 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Destinology, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing