We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd definitely stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #41 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of a long weekend to Thailand.

I'm probably in Thailand at least 3 - 4 times a year, and always at least once or twice to Bangkok. This was my first time to the Banyan Tree and glad it didn't disappoint.

Checked in after a traffic affected 4 and a half hour drive from Hua Hin and couldn't fault the welcome. It's luxury you expect from the brand. Had an upgrade to a higher floor and the room was very well decked out. Huge bathroom with seperate tub and walk in shower. The wife was straight into that tub. Great King size bed and all the amenities you'd expect from a 5* hotel from DVD player, iPod dock, free wifi, well stocked mini-bar, luxury toiletries and so on.

We booked dinner at Vertigo and this is where the night went away a little. We live in Singapore so are well used to roof top bars and restaurants and I've had dinner and drinks at the likes of Lebua before when in Bangkok. The experience at Vertigo is a bit different. Firstly, the views are fantastic, and it's definitely worth getting up there just for sunset to enjoy a few sundowners before taking your table. It's also worth asking for a table on the side so can enjoy that view through dinner. The food is fantastic, if not slightly expensive compared to what you'd expect to pay in Thailand. Even at well know other downtown restaurants in Bangkok. Also, the serving staff aren't that attentive or brilliant. You'd expect better when paying those prices.

The one gripe is the volume of people and lack of control over them. The bar gets over packed very quickly and you're constantly being knocked into either by waiters or other guests jostling for photo opportunities. Even whilst at dinner, there's a constant stream of people past your table heading to and from the bar area. This does die down after sunset, so it's worth booking a later table for dinner and getting to the bar early to avoid the over crowding.

We stopped at the Moon bar on the way down for a night cap. I'd avoid this if you've been to Vertigo already. It's much windier here, the drinks not as good and smells of cooking constantly from what much be the kitchens on that floor blowing out onto that area.

Breakfast in the morning is definitely recommended before heading out for a day of sight-seeing or shopping. It's a huge selection, even by most 5* hotels, fantastic quality and also great value for money. We paid for it seperately as hadn't included it in our original booking but would definitely include it next time. Worthwhile note if it's not too hot. Ask for one of the tables outside by the mini-waterfall.

I'd definitely stay here again. It's worth it's wait in gold as the ideal place in Bangkok when you've had a long tiring and hot day out and just want to kick back in luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,948 - 3,954 of 6,585 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after reading reviews on here to celebrate the beginning of our honeymoon in Thailand. From the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left we were blown away by the quality of service and the attention to detail that the hotel provides. Our room, a deluxe king, comprised two rooms separated by a sliding door and it was simply stunning.... Fresh fruit restocked every day, rose petals on our bed, a personal note from the hotel manager welcoming us....it was so special. The bed was amazing, the bathroom with oversized shower and all the amenities you could wish for. The vertigo bar on the roof is pretty cool - certainly a great way to enjoy a cocktail but we didn't eat there. On our last night we decided to eat at Saffron which is the hotels Thai restaurant that overlooks the city - it was so worth it. We had an appetizer and a main each and decided to just go with water and the bill came to 2777baht. They also gave us some free appetizers and the food was divine. The portions were so generous we couldn't finish our meals. They wash your hands for you before the meal, give you little strawberry sorbets to cleanse your palette, and it's these little extras that made the experience so much more special. Definitely recommend. I can't find fault with the hotel in any way, the pool is great, free wifi in the room,newspaper each day.... The list goes on.....

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank paulyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear paulyellis,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was memorable and beyond expectation in every sense. It’s our pleasure to be a part of your special celebration. Your feedback has been shared as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality to celebrate time with your loved one and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

With every happiness and remain

Warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed there totally for 6 nights and it was outstanding, starting from the breakfast, live music in the lobby all the time, smiling faces of concierge and bell staff. Hotel has very succesful location, it is 5 to 10 minutes walk from SkyTrain & MRT( subway) stations.
About the rooms - it is very luxury & well maintained.
We booked Premier Room for first 3 nights - both living room & bed room have big screen tv. You have " movie on demand" function where you can buy an watch latest movies.
Last 3 nights we booked Banyan tree club room, what i likes is Hot Tub in the shower area have view of Bangkok city. Just pull up the curtains and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I had one wonderful night at the Banyan Tree at Bangkok March 2013.
When I entered my room I noticed it was actually a suite - loved it. A wonderful view from 41th floor over the city of Bangkok, a perfectly equipped room, 2 flat screens (one for the living room, one for the bedroom), a huge and wonderful bathroom. Some special thai amenities in the room that made it "special". Easy and really high speed internet access - perfect. Negative: The "Fruit platter" my booking said I would get at arrival existed of two small oranges. That could have been more, and more exotic, of course...
The hotel and its amenities were really nice. Just two to mention: The pool on 21st floor was really nice, and the highlight of the place, the Vertigo restaurant and th Moon bar up on the roof top on 62th floor, were outstanding, I only had a drink at the Moon bar - excellent!
To finish, now the one less positive aspects: The hotel is located in the business district of Bangkok. There is no direct access via public transport. To the east there is an MRT station and to the west a BTS station, each approx 15 minutes walking distance. Probably the expectation is that all visitors of a hotel of this class tavel by taxi :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that you were satisfied with the facilities and amenities of your room. Our associates always try our best to deliver the memorable experience to our value guests. Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our entire team to put an effort into our work until we have a chance to welcome you in the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A few days ago we spent 3 days in Bangkok for our honeymoon and we decided to stay at the Banyan Tree, Outstanding is all I can say, the room view was great at floor 55 then for our honeymoon they gave us 2 drinks at the lounge bar, we went to the vertigo restaurant which is amazing and breakfast is excellent, the perfect balance for value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank hockys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Unfortunatley, only stayed the one night here. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a suite the like of which was amazing.There was a welcoming basket of fresh fruits, complete with a picture menu of 'Exotic fruit guide' to fully explain each of the products. Such attention to detail!! I had to try the roof top restaurant for dinner and was not disapointed. The heat, views and warmth of welcome was a distinct change from back in the UK. Buffet breakfast filled a gap with tasty fresh foods whilst overlooking a tropical pond area full of carp. Very relaxing and theraputic. I would return to this hotel like a shot if I ever return to Bangkok and explore the surrounding city with vengence. This hotel deserves every positive alocade it receives.

Room Tip: Height = good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

our second stay at the Banyon Tree confirmed the rooms as dark but well designed with great views from on high. The Japanese restaurant had good food but was not quite the standard of a five star hotel, and the atmosphere was non existant, with us being the only ones eating in there and the staff ready to go home. The spa was lovely, the gym small and reception efficient and pleasant. However our stay was marred considerably by our leaving, when we obtained a taxi through the hotel bellboy service. I repeated three times thatI wanted to go to the old airport, having been warned of the possibility of a mistake. true enough, we realised that we were being taken to the new airport but too late to turn around easily. Our driver was really upset having agreed a set fee and had to turn around back in to town and through traffic jams, the result of which was that we very nearly missed our flight.

Room Tip: 57th floor gives a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 887 in Bangkok
4,371 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,531 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#31 of 887 in Bangkok
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £121 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Splitty, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing