We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My second stay here, and just as great as the first. Club room with lounge access, including cocktails and canapes is a great deal. Some of the staff remembered me from my last visit, and this is what I really appreciate about Banyan Tree Bangkok. Compared to the other top-end hotels in this city, the staff seem friendlier, more approachable and unstuffy.
Since we had a late flight out we tried to book/pay for a late check out. This was not possible, but they did allow us to keep our room until 3pm, and use the pool and lounge until it was time to depart for the airport. We greatly appreciate their willingness to accommodate guest needs.

We also had a spa treatment here, and can really recommend it.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a river view, you may risk getting more a view of the high rise close by...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espen806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,445)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,846 - 3,852 of 6,445 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We grabbed a couple of nights in Bangkok at the Banyan Tree on the way home from a train-traveling, 50th birthday, adventure through Malaysia and Thailand. We'd seen he Banyan Tree Vertigo restaurant in an in-flight magazine and thought there's the place for the official birthday dinner. So, we aimed for a meal at Vertigo, the hotel stay was just a great bonus. It was only our second stay in Bangkok, the first an over-nighter a week earlier at a different hotel, in a different location.
The first thing we noticed is not only is the Banyan Tree more into the business/embassy part of Bangkok, it is set behind a fairly large building and not adjacent to South Sathon road. As we had arrived by train, and keeping with the theme, we took the subway from the train station to the nearest station and walked up. Luckily, we stumbled across a couple of fellow Aussies who pointed us in the right direction (prob embassy types - which is very close to the Banyan). Even so, we still walked passed the hotel a couple of times before finding the entrance, which was a Banyan Tree signed side alley or a walk through an empty building without Banyan Tree markings. We had a friendly security guard point us in the right direction. I know the hotel is huge, but from the road at night after 12 hours on a train, confusion is easy!
But once we were in, the magic began. The room was ultra modern, very clean and well apportioned. For some reason we got an upgrade (seemed to happen a lot on this trip) and we really appreciated the massive king size bed. The bathroom was huge and very modern and sleek, with very high quality finishes. Maybe a little bit too sleek for our liking, but still very nice.
We paid an extra fee (I think about 1500 Baht for both of us) for the buffet breakfast and used that to start our day. The lower ground breakfast dining area is lovely, with a very nice waterfall/stream/koi carp. Great food, with east/west choices, cooked and continental.
We took the complimentary tuk tuk (see the concierge) into the local BTS transit station and then spent the day in the city. Turned out not to be too far from the rail link and we walked back to the hotel. That night we dressed up for our pre-booked dinner at the Vertigo and had an amazing night. Food was very good, service outstanding, and the view AMAZING. So was the price, but you're only 50 once! All in all, a great hotel but make sure you make use of the Vertigo or Moon Bar to get the full effect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank gate2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Traveling with my son and wife, I decided to get a one bedroom suite. It was as big as a Tokyo apartment! We loved the Club lounge and staff, we thought the details in the room were great and the concierge and door staff were super helpful. The hotel has many restaurants which we tried when we could - very good thai restaurant, super staff.
Cannot really say a negative thing, and would be happy to recommend the same experience to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived and after a 40-odd minute transfer from the airport we finally arrived. Just some info on the taxi ride, the fare (including the airport BHT50 surcharge and BHT70 expressway fees) should not cost more than about BHT450. Don't let your taxi driver push you for more than that!!!
Were taken to the check in area where we waited for a few minutes. After they took out passports & proof of booking they charged to our card DOUBLE what our accommodation was going to cost as guarantee for any extras. I kicked up a huge fuss about this and eventually they relented and refunded the guarantee amount back to our card. Watch out for this as they shouldn't take more than about THB 2'000, NOT THB10'000!!!!!
Room was lovely with a great view to the pool & city.
Breakfast was very average and wasn't bowled over by it.
Pool area was nice and perfectly suitable to cool down after a day shopping in the city.
Vertigo Sky Bar (on top of building, floor 54) is a must do to see the city by night but drinks are really expensive!!! The Thai Whiskey is not great and don't recommend you try it
Hotel is in easy walking distance to a train station which is easy to navigate and explore from there.
We did the Banyan Tree river cruise and I was very disappointed. The food was below average, there wasn't enough light to even see what you were eating and it was overly priced and found that it was a waste of money

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband booked us 2 nights in the Banyan Tree and got us a suite, on arrival we were asked if we fancied to upgrade to a Spa suite, as I was wanting to use the spa facilities, it wasn't,t cheap but it was well worth it . With this booking my husband and I had a 90 minute massage of our choice within the privacy of our suite, this was fantastic as I knew my husband wouldn't go to a Spa.the best experience was visiting the roof top bar ,Vertigo, I wad lost for words at the view of Bangkok, banking is recommended that you book if you are wAnting to eat, we just sat at the top bar.all the staff we came across where so friendly and was eager to help, we had use of the club lounge so free bar and nibbled were on offer.I hope I get chance to return to this hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor means the better the view, and try to upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of a long weekend to Thailand.

I'm probably in Thailand at least 3 - 4 times a year, and always at least once or twice to Bangkok. This was my first time to the Banyan Tree and glad it didn't disappoint.

Checked in after a traffic affected 4 and a half hour drive from Hua Hin and couldn't fault the welcome. It's luxury you expect from the brand. Had an upgrade to a higher floor and the room was very well decked out. Huge bathroom with seperate tub and walk in shower. The wife was straight into that tub. Great King size bed and all the amenities you'd expect from a 5* hotel from DVD player, iPod dock, free wifi, well stocked mini-bar, luxury toiletries and so on.

We booked dinner at Vertigo and this is where the night went away a little. We live in Singapore so are well used to roof top bars and restaurants and I've had dinner and drinks at the likes of Lebua before when in Bangkok. The experience at Vertigo is a bit different. Firstly, the views are fantastic, and it's definitely worth getting up there just for sunset to enjoy a few sundowners before taking your table. It's also worth asking for a table on the side so can enjoy that view through dinner. The food is fantastic, if not slightly expensive compared to what you'd expect to pay in Thailand. Even at well know other downtown restaurants in Bangkok. Also, the serving staff aren't that attentive or brilliant. You'd expect better when paying those prices.

The one gripe is the volume of people and lack of control over them. The bar gets over packed very quickly and you're constantly being knocked into either by waiters or other guests jostling for photo opportunities. Even whilst at dinner, there's a constant stream of people past your table heading to and from the bar area. This does die down after sunset, so it's worth booking a later table for dinner and getting to the bar early to avoid the over crowding.

We stopped at the Moon bar on the way down for a night cap. I'd avoid this if you've been to Vertigo already. It's much windier here, the drinks not as good and smells of cooking constantly from what much be the kitchens on that floor blowing out onto that area.

Breakfast in the morning is definitely recommended before heading out for a day of sight-seeing or shopping. It's a huge selection, even by most 5* hotels, fantastic quality and also great value for money. We paid for it seperately as hadn't included it in our original booking but would definitely include it next time. Worthwhile note if it's not too hot. Ask for one of the tables outside by the mini-waterfall.

I'd definitely stay here again. It's worth it's wait in gold as the ideal place in Bangkok when you've had a long tiring and hot day out and just want to kick back in luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after reading reviews on here to celebrate the beginning of our honeymoon in Thailand. From the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left we were blown away by the quality of service and the attention to detail that the hotel provides. Our room, a deluxe king, comprised two rooms separated by a sliding door and it was simply stunning.... Fresh fruit restocked every day, rose petals on our bed, a personal note from the hotel manager welcoming us....it was so special. The bed was amazing, the bathroom with oversized shower and all the amenities you could wish for. The vertigo bar on the roof is pretty cool - certainly a great way to enjoy a cocktail but we didn't eat there. On our last night we decided to eat at Saffron which is the hotels Thai restaurant that overlooks the city - it was so worth it. We had an appetizer and a main each and decided to just go with water and the bill came to 2777baht. They also gave us some free appetizers and the food was divine. The portions were so generous we couldn't finish our meals. They wash your hands for you before the meal, give you little strawberry sorbets to cleanse your palette, and it's these little extras that made the experience so much more special. Definitely recommend. I can't find fault with the hotel in any way, the pool is great, free wifi in the room,newspaper each day.... The list goes on.....

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank paulyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear paulyellis,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was memorable and beyond expectation in every sense. It’s our pleasure to be a part of your special celebration. Your feedback has been shared as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality to celebrate time with your loved one and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

With every happiness and remain

Warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#21 of 880 in Bangkok
4,231 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 880 in Bangkok
8,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 880 in Bangkok
4,433 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £112 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing