We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013 in a one bedroom suite. Advance purchase was a good deal. The staff are friendly and professional and very helpful. However I found the suite disappointing. There was only one window in sitting room and no window in the bedroom. Coupled with black wood furniture, grey carpets and some further dark wood touches it made for a gloomy experience. Again while the bathroom had one of the best showers I have every had the black bucket shaped washbasins and vanity unit were impractical and showed every soap stain and there were only two modest sized bath towels- not enough for a hotel of this price. Corners had evidently been cut, with only two coffee bags in the room. The cartoon design (black again) of the logo on the bathrobes,, vanity bag etc are risible. Someone has listened to a designer with no taste. finally since this is a large tourist focused hotel the entry courtyard is always clogged with over large tour buses that can barely squeeze in. So overall for an independent traveller there are hotels more suited. BTW they also managed to break the retractable handle on my case, presumably through lifting it by that rather than by the handles- there was no offer to repair.

Room Tip: ensure you have a window in your bedroom if you chose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiew117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,204
    1,227
    339
    95
    57
See reviews for
840
3,103
312
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Banyan Tree Bangkok is a really good five star hotel. Located a bit far away from the shopping district and sights but taxis are cheap and quite fast (if no heavy traffic) if not interested in walking. Rooms are big and clear with a nice view! Hotel's roof top bar has a really nice view over the city. Service is fast and friendly. One minor minus was that our air conditioner broke two times from the three nights we stayed in the hotel. But the service man came in couple of minutes and took only a while and it worked again. We liked and can recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience after your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that your overall stay was a pleasant one, especially with the room and service. We appreciate your gracious comments. In the meantime, we are delighted that the location and the air conditioning problem did not affect your overall satisfaction. The concerned departments have noted the issues and will look into details for further improvement.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. We hope to be of your service in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

In our annual trip to bkk, I decided to spend a little more on lodging (since it is also my partner's birthday) and gave banyan tree a shot! :)

Love the size of room, club lounge, easy check in and check out through club lounge, great breakfast buffet, great customer service from club, restaurant, customer service folks!

Not near to BTS but there are shuttle tuk tuk to nearest BTS, weekend mkt, small pool (didnt get a chance to use), furniture seems to be "ageing"

It was a great stay and we will love to be back!

Room Tip: Like all the other tips - get a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

That was a fantastic last stop in Thailand. Amazing view is in the Room, swimming pool and Vertigo Restaurant or moon Bar.
Do not hesitate to go there to drink, eat, and/or sleep in front of Bangkok.
Try the cocktail Red Cloud.
But for the amazing view, be careful with some bedroom in front of a big building. Ask a room with a real view ton enjoy your night and bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank vianova2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I cannot fault anything at all.
Hotel excellent in every way and all the staff i encountered were both friendly and very helpful.
The club level is well worth the extra money.
Vertigo is well worth a visit although i would say just for a drink rather than a meal as it is expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaypat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear jaypat2013,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok.

We are pleased to read your kind review after your recent visit, especiall with the hotel facilities, service as well as the experience at our Vetigo and Moon Bar. Your comments give us energy to continue working with passions.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and we are looking forward to be of your service once again in the future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I recently got engaged on top of the Banyan tree hotel, on the roof top restaurant, were you get the most breathtaking views. The whole hotel and roof top bar/restaurant has a sophisticated feel to it. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they made our special evening like a fairy tale. The meal was well worth the money. if your looking to do something special then defo visit here! i loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeJayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear LakeJayson,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are glad that we could make your visit became the most memorable time and we are very happy to be a part of your special moment. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding to our Vertigo and Moon Bar - the rooftop restaurant along with the service and food. We have strived to deliver our best service, ensuring we maintain our Banyan Tree standards.

Once again, thank you for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok and we wish you all the happiness, until then I remain

Warm regards,


Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights during our Thailand holiday and I highly recommend it. The hotel is just comfortable and truly five-star. We had a beautiful one-bedroom suite on the 56th-or-so floor and the view from our room was just amazing. We almost didn't want to leave the room and actually ended up seeing rather little of Bangkok as we enjoyed making use of the hotel amenities so much. This notwithstanding, it should be noted that the hotel is a bit far from the touristic part of Bangkok around the Grand Palace and Wat Pho, on the other hand it is close to the Skytrain which gives you a good connection to the modern parts of Bangkok and its glitzy shopping malls and hip bar areas.
One of those, by the way, is right above you head if you choose to rest your head in this hotel as the hotel's rooftop "Moon Bar" is ranked as one of Bangkok's top out-going experiences in probably every travel guide from Australia to the North Pole. This being said, you may expect the rooftop bar to be extremely crowded and despite the (indeed) incredible view (especially at night) your drinking/out-going experience in said bar may end up being rather more physical than you may desire. To be clear: You still shouldn't miss it (as the view is really worth it), but don't be too disappointed if your cocktail doesn't live up to the expectations created by its price tag (they're actually rather bad - take it from an avid cocktail drinker), the crowd is a little too hip for allowing the thought of making this your favorite hangout place and you have to share a stool with your better half (although it's actually impossible) while having the impression that a least three more people are sitting on your lap.
If you wish to enjoy the rooftop in a slightly more relaxed manner, book a table (and well in advance, expecially on the weekend) in the hotel's Vertigo restaurant which is also located on the rooftop. The food is pricy, but very good, if not excellent (dessert was a bit disappointing though). I however highly recommend that you do the conversion when making orders - we were still a bit jet lagged when we stumbled into the place and failed to do so which resulted in a couple of rather unwise decisions like ordering two glasses of champagne costing us - as we realized later - a hefty EUR 40.00 per glass (!) and a bottle of Chilean wine from the lower end of the wine list which cost us as much as we had last paid in a European restaurant for a bottle of Chateaux Margot (no kidding).
Taken into account the havoc thus caused to our holiday cash box, we stayed away from the rooftop experience after this, and tried out the Latitude bar which is a really good alternative to the Moon Bar as it is located on the 52nd (or so) floor of the hotel and gives you an almost equally beautiful view of Bangkok and provides you with the sitting comfort that its rooftop counter-part is lacking so entirely. Furthermore, the adjoining Saffron restaurant provides excellent Thai fare at reasonable (enough) prices.
A few more points:
Swimming pool on the 10th floor was excellent, were clean, great view, sauna and hammam are available (separate areas for men an women only) and also clean and ok but lacking amenities like (cold) showers, dipping pools etc. one would expect from a five-star hotel (seems not to be the standard in Asia though).
Staff was extremely kind and helpful, but sometimes did not seem to speak/understand English well enough, at least we got a couple of rather confusing answers here and there.
House-keeping: Excellent.
Rooms: Excellent, well equipped with one exception: the shower drain was rusty/seemed not really clean and the shower heads were a bit unkind (ouch!). A bit of a bathroom make-over wouldn't have hurt.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the top floors facing the downtown!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksjehr_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,787 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Destinology, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing