We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #32 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked this hotel for our first days in Thailand. The hotel is located in a quiet area, but there are a still great restaurants, shops just 5-10 min walking from the hotel. We tried a restaurant named Naj which we recommend - reasonable prices and great food. There were always Tuk-tuk outside the hotel, and they seemed serious. We paied about 300 THB getting from city center (Khao san road etc) to the hotel during traffic-hours. Walking distance to the sky-Train.

The hotel-room is separated into one office/livingroom and one bedroom with the possibility to close a door inbetween them. Perfect for jetlag. Large bathroom with both shower and bathtub. We booked a double bed, but we like to have our separate duvets. Getting an extra one free of charge was no problem. The staff speaks well English and are very friendly and helpful. We felt like we were treated like royalties the entire stay. Can only think of one negative thing, and that is the freezing cold pool temperature.

Roof-top restaurant is absolutely gorgeous. The bar is separated in one part of the terrace, which means you can dine in peace. Spacous settings. A bit pricy (3500-4000 THB for a main-course), but definitively an experience. Compared to the Lebua hotel, Banyan tree is in a totally different league.

This hotel would without any hasitations be our first choice of hotel if we're going back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klumpelumpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Klumpelumpen,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a great time at Vertigo and enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,273 - 3,279 of 6,510 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Banyan Tree at the start of our holiday to Thailand. The staff try so hard to make you feel welcome from the moment you set foot on the premises. We were given flower garlands and cool drinks while waiting to be registered by the wellspoken Thai staff. We had opted for the Club Room which was well worth it. The extras of afternoon tea, cocktails & canapes, a wonderful breakfast and a superb laundry service made it rather special.The rooms were also spacious and luxurious (the daily fresh fruit was well received!)The rooftop restaurant and cocktail bar on the 62nd floor is not to be missed. I was sad to leave and would love to go back.Thank you to all the Club staff on level 19.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathYorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear BathYorkers,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in the industry, and your comments are an endorsement of such belief.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very pleasant and friendly staff. We used the club lounge which was peaceful where one could have breakfast and evening cocktails. We weren't however informed of all the benefits of the club lounge, some of which we found out from other clients. The Vertigo bar was a good experience and amazing views with nice cocktails. The gym was fine but the temperature was not cold enough. The swimming pool is small and cold. Unfortunately the pool area only gets sun from around 1.30 till 4 pm. The club room we had was lovely, but if I was being picky, there wasn't fresh milk, but those irritating little plastic containers of milk (why don't 4 and 5 star hotels provide proper milk as I have had at some other hotels). Having contacted room service to ask for some real milk, we were brought a small jug of milk (enough for 4 cups of tea) and charged around 350 baht (about £3.50) which was irritating considering the cost of staying at the hotel and should have been provided in the first place. The bath was ok but a bit small to enable two of you to share a bath (my wife and I are fairly slim). The shower was good as we're the shampoo and soap etc dispensers. Lifts were fast and efficient. The position of the hotel was fine. I would go back to the Banyan Tree Hotel as overall my experience was good.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank utanportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katejiraporn K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear utanportsmouth,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your overall stay was a pleasant one, and appreciate your comments on the service and facilities such as swimming pool and bath tub design.

Again, thank you for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I just completed a short business trip to Bangkok and had the good fortune to stay at the Banyan Tree. The entire experience was great. The rooms are fantastic, the service excellent. The Banyan Tree Bangkok is located in a quiet part of the city, but with easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a comfortable, beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesVFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear CharlesVFletcher,

Thank you for sharing your gracious review after your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Banyan Tree Bangkok, especially with the facilities and service. We will continue to work with passions and strive to deliver a pleasant experience to our valued guest as same as you had encountered.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we will look forward to be of your service in the future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked into the Banyan on our way home from a wedding. We had decided to take advantage of the Banyan Club. Best decision ever when travelling.
The Hotel is amazing. the décor is modern but welcoming. We were met by the Club reception staff and ushered to Level 19. Everything you could possibly want is available, breakfast, drinks, canapes, at no extra charge, to the Club guests. The staff treat you like long lost friends.
We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, which was better than some Apartments we have rented while on holidays. The suite came complete with a fabulous gourmet standard kitchen, (including coffee maker, hot plate etc. My son and his wife shared a good sized second bedroom and we had the main bedroom complete with a great en-suite (spa bath and shower which converted to a steam shower.) Heavenly.
The meals were exceptional, with a choice of three restaurants. Perhaps a little expensive but we were extremely happy.
The view from Level 59 and Level 51 are the most amazing. Level 59 gives you a 360d look out over Bangkok and in the evening is sparkles.

The best thing about the Banyan Tree is the STAFF, THEY ARE EXCEPTIONAL.

We have been travelling nearly 40 years, and can say without a doubt the staff at the Banyan Tree are the best we have had the pleasure of dealing with. In particular the Concierge staff were unbeatable. All staff were helpful, friendly, informed without being condescending as can happen in better hotels. The Concierge staff were even better than that.

If you are travelling into our through Bangkok, the Banyan Tree is the only place to stay.

.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyOldaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear SydneyOldaussie,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction once we meet again in the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

When arriving at your hotel room for the first time, drop your bags and proceed directly to the bathroom. It's the perfect gauge for evaluating the quality of the hotel and its dedication to the complete customer experience. Examine the materials used for the floor, the vanity, the tub, paying particular attention to the linens.

How clean are the surfaces and is the layout conducive to relaxing after a long day ? If quality is evident and the room is immaculate, you can be assured the rest of your hotel experience will be a memorable one. Reaching the zenith in this regard is The Banyan Tree Hotel on South Sathon Road, one of the best and most beautiful hotels I've had the lucky fortune to visit (I have similar praise for the Westin in downtown Philadelphia and Le Meridien in Montreal, too.)

Soft light and natural surfaces greet you upon entering the property, flowers adorn the reception area, and tea lights line the corridor to the elevators. As is typical with Thai people, the staff welcomes you with warmth and hospitality. But it's their bathrooms that are a knockout. Thick cotton towels hang from the towel racks; the tub is polished to a shine; the glass door on the shower stall doesn't have a print or watermark on it; and the amenities are not displayed in little plastic bottles but rather large ceramic urns. The amenities are so noteworthy in fact I purchased some from the hotel spa to bring home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was so excited when I booked into the Banyan Tree for our first two nights of our Honeymoon before moving down to Phuket.

This hotel exceeded all expectation, the staff were extremely friendly and check in was quick and smooth. The room was of such a high quality and the breakfast was divine.

All I can say really is book this hotel and do have dinner at their Vertigo restaraunt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear RachaelS20

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you have marvelous time with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#19 of 885 in Bangkok
4,290 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 885 in Bangkok
8,469 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £112 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing