We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel...”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really a hotel for you to have in mind when coming to bangkok. Clean and confy all the way up. The pool have a nice setting. The service is very good throughout the hotel. The restaurants and the sky bar are very amazing. You'll have a more quiet terrace bar experience than Lebua State Tower that's more like a tourist thing. The food here is much better. I think in Bangkok you have hotels with better looking infinity pools, probably ones with better views, but I think overall this one is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Andre_Martinez,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments on the overall service that you received as well as the compliment with our Roof Top Bar dining expereince, Vertigo restaurant; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,367
    1,264
    351
    99
    59
See reviews for
877
3,223
323
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was my first visit to Banyan Tree. I have stay in many 5 star hotels in BKK I think, so I was curious about this one as well. Location is ok, but not remarkably good. Far away from the action, from sightseeing, outside restaurants, shopping etc. Banyan tree is mainly famous for its sky restaurant, Vertigo, which I had visited one time before. However, this time we ended up in a small restaurant in the basement. They had a buffet but we said we just wanted a course from the a la carte menu, some simple food, a lasagna. They had an offer of 'free flow' of wine for a small sum, which we also ordered. The waitress explained, in poor English, that we, nonetheless, were welcome to take salad from the buffet table as a starter, which we did. Surprise surprise. When they presented the check to us later, we were charged a big sum for the whole buffet, in addition to the lasagnas. And we were also charged with a whole bottle of wine, which we did not order. They, both the waitress (in a bit angry tone of voice) and the head waiter, insisted we pay, although we tried to explain to them that we did not order all they charged us for. Quite a frustrating end of a good day for us as. However, as we left, the vice manager of the hotel showed up and talked to us, very courteously, and apologized and he said would take care of the problem, which we interpreted as he would give us some discount on the check. When we checked out the next morning they had deducted the whole sum and charged us nothing for the meal. That is good management and respectful behavior of a hotel. We can only applaud and will be happy to come back to Banyan tree some day in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Stisse23,

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for sharing your review after your recent stay with us.

We have noted of your comment regarding to your dining experience and felt regretful for the shortfall that you had encountered. We would like to express our sincere apology, however we were glad that this isolated incident did not mar the perception of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and that you will accord us another chance to welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is in a world of it's own. I have worked and stayed in fabulous hotels but this hotel is way above anything i have ever experienced before. From the welcome which was brilliant with a lovely cocktail to the amazing room overlooking bangkok with a bathtub you could get lost in. This hotel is AMAZING! Breakfast is delicious with everything from waffles to fried rice to sushi. Totally delicious. The staff are brilliant so accommodating. The porters will help you with anything and the waiting staff are some of the best i have ever experienced. Make sure and dine on the rooftop vertigo bar at night....a real treat! We loved the place so much we are returning at the end of our holiday for another three nights. Staff are brilliant, we emailed to say we were passing through bangkok on the way to chang mai before returning to stay here again and are going to store our bags at no extra cost. Just such fantastic service... would recommend to anyone! Not to be missed! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keara_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Keara_59,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in the industry, and your comments are an endorsement of such belief.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The rooms themselves are nice. The pool is a lovely setting. Unfortunately the staff service was generally mediocre. The concierge were nice but totally understaffed. Vertigo was a real disappointment. The place was not conducive at all to being comfortable unless you were fortunate enough to get a seat. You kinda pinged around being told off by waiters and waitresses. Unfortunately the front desk staff also were generally disinterested. I love Thailand and how beautiful and friendly the people are. Someone needs to wake the staff up here who seem generally unhappy.. perhaps underpaid and overworked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear plasticd,

Thank you for sharing your review after your stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you were satisfied with our room and swimming pool, however, we are sorry to learn that you found our service did not live up to your expectations. We regret that we could not deliver the true Banyan Tree experience for this visit which we can reassure that our team has been noted and the training sessions will be conducted to ensure that we have maintained our Banyan Tree standard at all time.

Again, thank you for bringing the issues to our attention along with the experience at Vertigo. We hope that you will reconsider to overcome this isolated experience, and accord us another opportunity to turn your future stay become an enjoyable one.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent, just as you would expect. One thing that stood out was the bath with a view. Because usually bathrooms don't have any windows. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful although coffee arrived cold. On request the staff replaced it of course and it was fine but when I ordered a second round it was also cold... Still I would go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jaime B,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments regarding the staff and also it gives us the opportunity to look into the detail of improvement.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
648 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Banyan Tree hotel is located around 600 m from Lumphini MRT Station. This is probably its worse point.

Trick to get there: the building is easily identifiable with its shape and the bar with columns and palms in the 3/4 part height of it. However, the entrance is not easy: either through the car ramp or crossing the Thai Wah Tower in front of the hotel. Don't worry, people will help you anyway.

The building is amazingly decorated with live music, flowers...

The room is all luxury; it has a hall with a desk, TV, sofa, etc., then the bedroom (with another TV) and the bathroom, with bathtub and shower. Ask for a high room. The views are amazing.

Bathroom: toiletries are simply the best I have tried in any hotel, the fragrance is so wonderful you want to use it all the time and the quality very high.

The decoration of the room is dark and elegant, using the banyan tree in many places, such as clothing and toiletries.

Cleaning of the room is generally good, though there are areas for improvement (mirrors, glass surfaces, parts of the bathroom).

Service during check in and check out was very good and they were really helpful when asked. Concierge service was OK, a little stiff maybe.

Breakfast is served as buffet, with a huge variety of food, Western, Chinese, Thai, Japanese. Original juices and everything you can imagine to eat. Fantastic!

In any case, one of the best hotels I have ever been and enjoyed, though its location is a little cumbersome if you want to use the metro system.

Tip: go to the Vertigo restaurant, though pricey its views are astonishing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac-and-Jek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jac-and-Jek,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments. We are also delighted to learn that you enjoy the breakfast and the stay in the room.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Last time we were in Bangkok we stayed at the Peninsula, which was great but at the time we felt a little bit out of things, so decided on the Banyan Tree for this Trip. Long story short, glad we tried somewhere different and the bars as described countless times already are really quite special.....but......it's a corporate hotel with little soul and whilst the team are friendly there is no sense of the "special". Things got off to bad start when I tried to arrange a car from the airport, of course they could arrange and of course it would be a little extra ....but...given we were there three nights did they really need to insist on payment/credit card details over unsecured email before they could confirm ??? I think not ...so much do that I relented and used the option offered by our travel agent....just easier ...and I think that is the problem, there was no sense that the customer was at the centre of why the hotel was there, more a case of enduring people using the facilities.

However if you are still reading thus then chances are you booked already in which case hold your nerve, the one bed suite was nice, the club lounge very useful for breakfast and the"Thai tapas" on the 52nd floor Lattitude bar a fantastic first night after a day of travelling. The moon bar on the 61st floor was great and the ending of each day and night for us (we drink too much I think)

If you haven't been to Bangkok though and want a good base to get to the sights and just a bit of "special"Asian service,which in my opinion is the best in the world when done right, then I would recommend you look at the MO or the Peninsula as the combination of river and MRT/Sky train is better than the 10-15 min walk option (although a minivan or tuk tuck hotel option is available I understand). Business travellers will have this place chosen for them I'm sure and will appreciate its anonymity.

Bit of local colour - we went to Nah, restaurant at the next door Metropolitan hotel (34th best in the world apparently) - pretentious twaddle, don't waste your time - the Bangkok food tour though (search on TA) was superb.....give it a go, and enjoy this magnificent city.....then hit the 61st floor!!!!

Room Tip: Suites are always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DINKYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear DINKYorkshire,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your overall stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing your constructive comments; we have taken note on your suggestion regarding transportation and payment arrangement which we will review on this. In the meantime, we are delighted to hear that your evenings at Moon Bar and Latitude Bar were enjoyable experiences.

Again, thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,106 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,291 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, Destinology, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing