We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The club room and the freebees that go with it......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne-australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The club room and the freebees that go with it......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hello, never stayed in Bangkok and really just wanted to do the Hell fire pass tour so we decided on the Banyan tree Hotel and I am so glad we did. First of all, the Hotel is nowhere near the protesters and is a good part of town. After checking out a few Hotels I decided on this one for it offered free alcohol and at roughly $275 aus a night, we couldn't go wrong. We only stayed 3 nights here after our trip from Coconut Island, Phuket but we could have easily stayed more. We had room 1702 and being booked in the club room, had our check in on the 19th floor. We arrived around 2:30pm and after the Hotel arranged a van transfer (there is 5 of us) we were taken to the 19th floor where we were greeted and after the paper signing and complimentary drink, shown to our rooms. We originally asked for 3 separate rooms but next to one another or at least on the same floor but we were not guaranteed this. They could give us rooms but on different floors. The other alternative was a single bedroom suite and a two bedroom suite so my wife and I took the single bedroom suite, 1702 and our friends took room 1704. Both rooms were great.
Our room was huge. You entered into a big open room with a full kitchen, 6 seater dining room table, a big writing desk, arm chair and two couches. Also was two mini fridges and a TV and dvd player. Walking through a door into the bedroom where there was a huge king size bed, another couch and a TV and DVD player. Go through another door opens up to another huge bathroom with a big shower with twin shower roses, a separate bath tub with a TV on the wall, twin vanity basins and a separate toilet which had a courtesy soft light on so you could easily see where you are going at night. The bed was comfy and you could order different pillows to suite, there was separate controls for the air con in each room and a good size safe. This room had it all. The freebees were alcohol from approx. 10am in the morning till 8:30pm with cocktails from 5:30pm till 7:30pm. You had a choice of three cocktail each night. The alcohol was Singha beer, sparkling wine, white and red wine. The girls loved the sparkling wine and of course the cocktails. I like Singha beer so I stuck to that. There could have been other beer, I can't remember. If you are there for lunch, they make freshly cut sandwiches as well as cakes and condiments laid on. Chicken, Ham, cheese sandwiches all sorts. Eat as much or as little as you want. Same for afternoon tea. Pastry currie pasties and sausage rolls, cakes, cheeses, bickies, prawn savouries and lots of other yummy things. Honestly, you really didn't want dinner after this (but we did) Speaking of which, another highlight was the open roof top restaurant called Vertigo and wow, the view is spectacular. You can get the lift to the 59th floor then you have three flights of stairs to get to the roof. There is a bar called the moon bar which is at one end of the roof top. That is higher again. You do need to book. Dress code is men must wear long pants. I saw 3/4 pants on one bloke but of course girls can where short dresses, shorts, whatever but I wondered why us blokes can't where nice dress shorts for whatever reason so men, pack a pair of long strides. Now this is opulence eating here. I have never done and don't ever plan to again pay $100aus for a steak. Even a Latte cost $9 aus so be prepared but as one of our party said, we are here and don't plan to be here again so let’s just do it. The food was superb and the presentation was fantastic. When our five main meals came out, they were under a silver dome in which five waiters lifted all at once to give it the wow factor. I had what is called a mangaloo steak (I think that is what it was called) anyway it is a T'Bone without the eye fillet. Cooked superb and melted in my mouth. So it should have for that price!! All up it cost around 20000 baht. We nearly fell over so around $140 aus each. That included drinks and sweets. They also take your photo and give it to you as a memento. I took so many photos of the view. I didn't really want to leave but we did. I am glad we did it. Back to the room. There is a 2 item laundry per day and if you had it collected in the morning, they bought it back later that day. We took ourselves down to the central pier. The hotel got us a taxi, handed us the taxi details just in case something happened??? Like what? anyway it cost us 53 baht ( under $2aus) so I gave the taxi driver 100bht and he thought we were great blokes. Anyway walk to your left to the booking office next to a money exchange booth and for 150bht you can get an all-day ferry ride sort of hop on hop off service up and down the river so I think where we got on was stop number 3 so we went to as far as it goes at stop number 13 and came back to stop 9 which is what you take to get off to the presidential palace. Again men, you need long pants to get in. We walked around for a while forever getting asked if we wanted a tuk tuk. We walked back to pier 8 then caught the ferry back where we started. The sky rail is at central pier so we jumped on this. Cost 28bht so $1aus and got off at exit 4 within walking distance to the Hotel. Back in time for lunch and beer!! We originally talked about going to a weekend market and the Hotel had organised a courtesy bus for us but we didn't go in the end. My mate and I did the river cruise and the three girls did the shops. There was free Wi-Fi in the room, they gave us 2 door keys and also replenished the bowl of fruit in the room. Our tour of Hell fire pass had us leaving the Hotel at 7am. The club breakfast doesn't start till then so the Hotel said we could have breakfast downstairs for this opened at 6am. My wife enjoyed the day with the girls but she mentioned the shopping wasn't much. There is a big wheel (ferris wheel like the London eye) that you can see from the rooftop but it starts at 4:30pm and unfortunately I didn't get to go on it. We had an early flight out of Bangkok to Melbourne the Sunday but we had to leave the Hotel at 5:30am. The hotel insisted we have a breakfast box which they gave us as we loaded onto the transfer bus and this was great. I wouldn't mind coming back to Bangkok and spending more time here. Bangkok is big and skyscrapers everywhere. The Banyan tree has a few Hotels around the world and if they are anything like the one at Bangkok, it would be great. All the staff were helpful. English at times was broken with some but we never had any problems getting our point across. Would I come back here, you bet. Thank you Banyan tree. It was a great choice of Hotel. Keep up the good work............Oh well back to work !!

Room Tip: Do the club room.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morris-travella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear morris-travella,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.We are also happy to learn that you had a great time at Vertigo and that you enjoy our club benefits.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the near future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,196
    1,226
    339
    95
    57
See reviews for
840
3,096
312
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tortosa, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having spend some of our honeymoon here, I was expecting to be disappointed, but the Banyan Tree surpassed my remembances. Good quality rooms and attentive service. Highly recommend a visit to the Vertigo restaurant for unsurpassed views of Bangkok at night. A true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sue G,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction once we meet again in the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really a hotel for you to have in mind when coming to bangkok. Clean and confy all the way up. The pool have a nice setting. The service is very good throughout the hotel. The restaurants and the sky bar are very amazing. You'll have a more quiet terrace bar experience than Lebua State Tower that's more like a tourist thing. The food here is much better. I think in Bangkok you have hotels with better looking infinity pools, probably ones with better views, but I think overall this one is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Andre_Martinez,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments on the overall service that you received as well as the compliment with our Roof Top Bar dining expereince, Vertigo restaurant; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was my first visit to Banyan Tree. I have stay in many 5 star hotels in BKK I think, so I was curious about this one as well. Location is ok, but not remarkably good. Far away from the action, from sightseeing, outside restaurants, shopping etc. Banyan tree is mainly famous for its sky restaurant, Vertigo, which I had visited one time before. However, this time we ended up in a small restaurant in the basement. They had a buffet but we said we just wanted a course from the a la carte menu, some simple food, a lasagna. They had an offer of 'free flow' of wine for a small sum, which we also ordered. The waitress explained, in poor English, that we, nonetheless, were welcome to take salad from the buffet table as a starter, which we did. Surprise surprise. When they presented the check to us later, we were charged a big sum for the whole buffet, in addition to the lasagnas. And we were also charged with a whole bottle of wine, which we did not order. They, both the waitress (in a bit angry tone of voice) and the head waiter, insisted we pay, although we tried to explain to them that we did not order all they charged us for. Quite a frustrating end of a good day for us as. However, as we left, the vice manager of the hotel showed up and talked to us, very courteously, and apologized and he said would take care of the problem, which we interpreted as he would give us some discount on the check. When we checked out the next morning they had deducted the whole sum and charged us nothing for the meal. That is good management and respectful behavior of a hotel. We can only applaud and will be happy to come back to Banyan tree some day in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Stisse23,

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for sharing your review after your recent stay with us.

We have noted of your comment regarding to your dining experience and felt regretful for the shortfall that you had encountered. We would like to express our sincere apology, however we were glad that this isolated incident did not mar the perception of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and that you will accord us another chance to welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is in a world of it's own. I have worked and stayed in fabulous hotels but this hotel is way above anything i have ever experienced before. From the welcome which was brilliant with a lovely cocktail to the amazing room overlooking bangkok with a bathtub you could get lost in. This hotel is AMAZING! Breakfast is delicious with everything from waffles to fried rice to sushi. Totally delicious. The staff are brilliant so accommodating. The porters will help you with anything and the waiting staff are some of the best i have ever experienced. Make sure and dine on the rooftop vertigo bar at night....a real treat! We loved the place so much we are returning at the end of our holiday for another three nights. Staff are brilliant, we emailed to say we were passing through bangkok on the way to chang mai before returning to stay here again and are going to store our bags at no extra cost. Just such fantastic service... would recommend to anyone! Not to be missed! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keara_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Keara_59,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in the industry, and your comments are an endorsement of such belief.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The rooms themselves are nice. The pool is a lovely setting. Unfortunately the staff service was generally mediocre. The concierge were nice but totally understaffed. Vertigo was a real disappointment. The place was not conducive at all to being comfortable unless you were fortunate enough to get a seat. You kinda pinged around being told off by waiters and waitresses. Unfortunately the front desk staff also were generally disinterested. I love Thailand and how beautiful and friendly the people are. Someone needs to wake the staff up here who seem generally unhappy.. perhaps underpaid and overworked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear plasticd,

Thank you for sharing your review after your stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you were satisfied with our room and swimming pool, however, we are sorry to learn that you found our service did not live up to your expectations. We regret that we could not deliver the true Banyan Tree experience for this visit which we can reassure that our team has been noted and the training sessions will be conducted to ensure that we have maintained our Banyan Tree standard at all time.

Again, thank you for bringing the issues to our attention along with the experience at Vertigo. We hope that you will reconsider to overcome this isolated experience, and accord us another opportunity to turn your future stay become an enjoyable one.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent, just as you would expect. One thing that stood out was the bath with a view. Because usually bathrooms don't have any windows. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful although coffee arrived cold. On request the staff replaced it of course and it was fine but when I ordered a second round it was also cold... Still I would go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jaime B,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments regarding the staff and also it gives us the opportunity to look into the detail of improvement.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,769 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Destinology so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing