We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic! A Must.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Larry17633
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic! A Must.”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Absolutely fantastic place to stay in Bangkok if you don't mind being a little way from the cut and thrust of Bangkok. The hotel itself is amazing.

Booked the Hotel through its own website, though its own Summer Deals pages which were cheaper than any of the other Hotel Websites, plus you know you're dealing with the Hotel directly which alays gives you a good feeling.

The hotel itself is everything and more that you would expect from a 5 star. The staff and knowledgable and friendly. We stayed in a Deluxe View Suite which was brilliant. Great views over the city and lots of nice touches in the room.

The open air pool on the 21st floor was a first for me and great in the heat of the sun. The restaurant on the roof was superb also. A 3 course meal for two, with drinks and a complimentary photo came to around £85. Bargain! Could easilly spend more, would still be worth it as view, character and food were excellent.

There is a great Night Bazzare just 5minutes walk from the hotel which is definatley worth a look. Can get good food and massages there, plus ll the usual gifts that you would expect from a night bazzar. Could easilly spend hours there.

If you stay here or just eat in one of the restaurants you won't be dissappointed!

  • Liked — The quality of the fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry17633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,331
    1,252
    347
    98
    59
See reviews for
867
3,200
319
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Quite possibly the most amazing hotel I've ever been too. I paid a bit extra for a club room and had a lady take me to the club floor for check in. We had a choice of 5 different pillows and a floral bath with candles plus a free 15 massage. Room also includes free items of dry cleaning per day - imagine getting your pants wrapped in tissue paper! Club room also comes with cocktails and canapes in the eve which are made by a different restuarant each eve.

The breakfast buffet is amazing - all foods from around the world.

Definately make a trip to Vertigo the highest open top bar/restuarant in the world.

We arrived with our backpacks in a tuk tuk and received the same welcome as the limo's. Very friendly staff all willing to help. The business suite even sorted out a fed ex box of all our shopping.

The swimming pool and spa is first class and v v cheap by Western Standards. The restuarants and room service are expensive but then it is a five star hotel and you'll never get room service like it for a cheese toastie.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to the metro and also local attractions but is only a five min walk to the metro.

I will definately be coming back here I love it

  • Liked — The room and the servie
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 October 2008
Dear Guest,

I am writing to you to respond to your feedback which we have received through TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Banyan Tree Bangkok and I would like to firstly thank you for sharing your experience with us as your valuable feedback is helping us to improve both our services as well as our product.

We were delighted to receive such gracious comments about our Food & Beverage facilities as well as our services as your feedback will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with others, and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Banyan Tree Bangkok.


Yours sincerely,
George Koumendakos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed in the Banyan Tree Bangkok (BTB) from the 5th to the 8th July 2008 and must say that some of the negative comments are really unwarranted.

What I must however say is that I booked a package via my travel agent and it was for a club floor suite which included transfer to-and-from the airport. And what a way to start the holiday. On arrival, there was a lady holding up a placard which simply stated BTB and from there we were treated like royalty. A short walk and step away was a gleaming E220 Merc which whisked us straight to the hotel within 30mins, with refreshing towels and drinks heaped onto us! Now we were travelling with our 8 month old infant so you can imagine how pleasently surprised and pleased at this service!

Checkin was smooth, and service impeccable throughout our stay at the hotel. No request was ever turned down, even when I asked to take 1 banana away from the buffet for my son.

The rooms while looking slightly dated, are adequate, and the toiletries provided are simply wonderful.

If there has to be any complaint, the makeup service can be slightly tardy, but I guess its just the whole laidback feel the hotel has that allows you to forgive mild trespasses. Also the spa services are exorbitant and you would be well advised to stay well clear of the spa.

But all in all, a great stay, and we will always hanker for a return to this hotel once all the renovation works are done!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraxpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I felt I had to write after all the negative reviews regarding this exceptional hotel. Firstly, we stayed in the club suite and I think this largely influenced our experience. 50 club suites have been recently renovated and offer exceptional decor and amenities. The hotel is in the process of upgrading the other suites and I except they will be done to a similar standard. The staff and customer service of this hotel is second to none. They are there to cater to your every need, happy and smiling staff typical to the thai character. hotel location is good, in the business area and not in the shopping/sightseeing area. 15mins walk to Skytrain and 10mins to underground. Near lumpini park and night bazaar. The restaurants are expensive. even by UK standards. 2 docktails at the bar cost £14 which is expensive in thai standards as 2 of us could eat for 3 days in bangkok in a food court (MBK food court---very good) for that money. I think business people who get money from there company may use the restaurants but for the averge holiday maker- very expensive. I would recommend this hotel for a haven in the middle of a busy city. exceptional room,service and decor.

  • Liked — The room and service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mansishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Banyan Tree provides exceptional service. The hotel is in a good location within easy walk of Patpong and the sky train. While the rooms are starting to look a little tired, the level of service cannot be beaten. Would always recommend.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Stayed at the hotel on a 2 night break as part of a larger holiday. The hotel isn't in greatest location but doesn't cost much to get around Bangkok - 10mins to MGK/Paragon shopping etc. Lumpini thai boxing is 10mins walk.

Hotel was very well decorated in the main lobby and other communal areas but the rooms are a touch on the small side since rooms are split between bedroom and lounge. Quite dark given choices of furnishings. Excellent views across Bangkok staying on the 47th floor. Didn't really use many facilities but did use the computer room - was very surprised to have to pay for internet connection given the cost of the room rate - would expect this to be complimentary for the first hour or so.

Dined at Vertigo which is an experience!! Great atmosphere and charming service. The food is reasonably good but very expensive - London prices in Bangkok! Wine list was very limited for a supposed high end restaurant.

Whilst in Bangkok, concierge recommended a great tailor - Thai Square (10 min drive from hotel) - would higly recommend - turned some designs into suits/dresses within 36 hours which included 3 fittings - incredible. Very good quality although be mindful cloths are primarily for the warmer climate, if you want heavier cloths you need to take from home.

One big negative was having to pay for a late check-out even though the hotel was fairly quiet and on top of that being charged 10% service for late check-out!!!! Typical chain mentality - policy is policy!

Overall - reasonably ok hotel, ok staff , excellent concierge and bell boy service

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ADB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Room 5703 - floor 57 with terrific views from floor to ceiling window in bedroom, and from living room.
Nice touches are:
- oil burner and incense with a different scent each day - lemongrass was fab.
-Mens and ladies toilet bags filled with goodies on arrival (matching the slippers and robes)
-lovely shower gels/body lotion in pots refilled daily
-gift and homemade cookies every night in room
-access to club floor lounge with drinks and tasty canapes each night
-spa was wonderful. I had free massage and it was beautifully done with great attention to detail
-Vertigo a great experience for a drink
-breakfast in lounge nice but on last day we needed to leave at 5.30 am and were offered a brekky box or room service. Had room service and it was perfect - even arrived with a toaster and basket of bread so we didn't have soggy toast!!!
-some good restaurants within walking distance we went to Metropolitan bar for snack(next door) Baan Kanita, and Blue Elephant. Also had hotel dinner cruise (Apsara) included in package
-taxis really cheap (not increased in 10 years) so £1 gets you to MBK, or Skytrain or Patpong.
-staff in club lounge fantastic
Rooms were fine but agree with comments already made that they are now a bit dated.Hotel is being renovated -doing 10 floors from June 2008 for 5 or 6 months. There was a bit of noise from some work being done somewhere near club lounge at times but no noise near our room.
All in all we had a fantastic stay and would go back.

  • Liked — Attention to detail/nice special touches
  • Disliked — Could be a bit more central
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,037 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#94 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing