We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a great hotel. From the front door, to the restaurants, to the bathroom...luxury is apparent everywhere. The rooms are very spacious. The service quality is impeccable and te restaurants provide good food for all palates. Direct access to the train is a huge plus, since Bangkok traffic never seems to let up. The hotel is convenient to shopping, restaurants and massage parlors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear TNgirl55,

It is with thanks that I reply as my team and I are grateful for your kind words. We thank you for the feedback and constantly strive to provide our guests with an incomparable stay

With Best Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,183 - 2,189 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

I've been staying in Bangkok most weekends since the new year, with most recent stays being at the Oriental, Peninsula and Marriott on Sukhumvit.

We'd had a good meal in the Thai fusion type restaurant at the Sheraton last weekend, which reminded me to put the SGS back on my "to stay" list, having stayed there half a dozen or so occasions in the last few years.

Booked the late deal on SPG for circa 5400 baht a night. 1600 baht cheaper than my corporate rate at the Peninsula, and 1500 baht more expensive than our usual rate at the Marriott just up the road. Except I'd forgotten that the Marriott and Pen both include wifi in room and breakfast.

So I was reassured about the choice when I checked my SPG "upcoming stays" online before arrival and the "stay details" clearly said it included "buffet breakfast" and wifi. Except it didn't! At check in I was told the rate excluded both breakfast and wifi. So much for SPG and so much for "loyalty recognition" with 227 nights at SPG hotels since 2005.

Bog standard room, although it does have "SPG preferred guest" on the lift button to make you feel better.

Concierge was helpful sorting some cinema tickets. We returned to the room and ordered room service. The food was simply awful. Greasy microwave chicken pieces (pre cooked from 7/11 perhaps?) - absolutely tasteless. I sent the food back and went to bed hungry and seriously pi##ed off.

Overall - a hotel that is short on value, has a flawed/ misleading reservation information website and can't prepare even the most basic thai food.

Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighthouse3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for returning to the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your meal at basil, where our chefs respect authentic Thai recipes but give it a contemporary creative touch to it.

I was concerned over the confusion as to the inclusions in your on-line booking. Please allow me to clarify, the room rate clearly states that it is room only. However when you went to check your reservation later under “upcoming stays” it showed that we had allocated a room on a premium deluxe floor, where breakfast and WIFI is included in the rate. In essence we had allocated you a room on that floor, which is on SPG floor in recognition of your loyalty, but without the additional services. I apologize for the confusion between the room type confirmed of room only at the time of booking and the room allocated in the system under “upcoming stay”.

I was very concerned to read the poor quality of your in-room dining experience. This has been taken up by management to ensure that this does not re-occur. We certainly pride ourselves in preparing freshly cooked food to the highest level of food safety requirements, texture and taste. May I thank you for bringing in to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I always liked the hotel, it is central and elegant. Now it seems that SPG Platinum members will not receive their advantages (free breakfast, evening cocktails, upgrades and gift) when the room is redeemed. I hope I am wrong but if that is the case obviously I will not stay here anymore. Staying at least 50 nights in a single chain room per year is quite an effort to get to Platinum staus and Starwood shouldn't compromise, never.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Granviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Granviaggio,

Thank you for your generously worded review. In regard to your comment as to what benefits you will be entitled to as a Platinum member at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, when redeeming points, allow me to clarify. You will be entitled to an upgrade to a suite, subject to availability upon check-in, as well as all the amenities, including breakfast, cocktails and late checkout, free local phone calls and complimentary high speed internet access in the guest room as before.

I do hope that this puts your mind at rest and clarifies any misunderstanding. We certainly value very much our Platinum guests and will continue to provide the same level of service and hospitality as before.

With kind regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A stunning hotel, had a beautiful room on the 22nd floor overlooking the pool. The staff were so polite and very helpful, extremely professional, and nothing was any bother to them. The garden by the pool is a little oasis in the middle of the city, it is simply stunning, sitting there under the trees for a drink or a meal, it is impossible to know that you are in the centre of Bangkok. We had a full thai massage in the health suite, and again the staff were impecable. The breakfast? Well where do we start.......you have a choice of the dining room or by the pool, and we believe there is a third dining area which we did not have time to visit. The food is one of the largest buffets we have ever seen, the choice is unbelievable. We had an evening meal in the pool area, which was beautiful, the ambience was perfect. Try the Mango Sticky Rice.......to die for!!!! Were sad to leave but will be back again. Food and drink is a little on the expensive side but no more than you would expect at a good hotel. Make sure you take the breakfast package with the room. Free wifi in the public areas and by the pool, but you pay in the bedrooms. There was a lot of business people staying here but also very good for couples, not many, if any, families with children while we were there.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool area for a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear marknic63,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and I am sure that your feedback will be encouragement to all the staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Best Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I love this hotel. The rooms are huge, the bed is comfy with fluffy pillows, the location to the Skytrain station is covered (a huge plus), the staff are friendly, there are a few good spas within walking distance, the pool area feels like you are in a tropical getaway and you could forget that you are in the middle of the city. The only downside is that during peak hour Sukhumvit Rd can get very congested...my advice catch the Skytrain whenever possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_mama_sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Travel_mama_sgp,

We appreciate your loyalty and support for the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Here at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, we strive to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests and your kind comments have been passed on to the team to recognize their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I felt like a queen here in our interconnecting corner rooms on the 23 rd floor. Great beds huge marble bathrooms. Direct axcess to the monorail. The pool is ok not much space around it.
The hotel is attached to a large car park so when one enters or leaves the lobby area there are strong fumes of motor vehicles exhaust. This was a problem for me. And is the only reason I would not stay here again...also because the Siam Kepinski has now opened. but if you need large rooms these Re the biggest I have seen in 35 yrs of traveling

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear mrswordly,

May I thank you for your comments. Certainly all our Standard rooms at 45 sq.m. are the largest in town. I was concerned to read of your being affected by exhaust fumes from cars drawn up at the Porte Cochere. To mitigate this, we permit cars to remain outside the main doors only for the short duration of pick-up or drop-off of guest.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision not to return, as we value you as a guest and will do our best to minimize any exhaust fumes.

With kind regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Myself and a friend enjoyed the Royal Suite for 5 nights during the end of October,2011. What a pleasant experience. Check in was lightning fast and painless. Our suite was outstanding. Lavishly furnished with beautiful silks, woods, and marble, but not at all gaudy. And perfect for entertaining. Which we did every night. Room service was quick, efficient and delicious. And the service was as good as it gets. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and the swimming pool was a truly unique masterpiece. Felt more like floating on the edge of a tropical lagoon shaded by palms, than a resort swimming pool. There is no feeling whatsoever that you are right in the middle of downtown in one of the world's most populated cities. Poolside service was excellent as well. As was the service from every single staff member. Which reminds me...I can't say enough kind words about our driver, Boom. He was knowledgeable, professional, friendly, and always where he needed to be at the right time. They don't get any better. All guests are made to feel like a VIP. There are no negatives to share regarding this hotel. It's clear that it deserves it's rating. Bravo SGS! Will be returning this May.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARSZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSGM, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear MARSZZ,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

The voice of customers is critical in maintaining our high standards and I am pleased to read about the positive interactions you had during your stay with us. Our biggest asset of the hotel is our people and I am happy to hear that we were able to enhance your trip and make it memorable.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,531 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 250, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Toei, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £109 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing