We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I decided to stay at the Sheraton Grande, based on a recommendation of a good friend. As soon as our car pulled up at 11pm I was very glad that we chose this hotel. Check in was simple, fast and friendly, the front desk agent seemed to be expecting us. The room was perfect and very comfortable. I very much liked having the butler service bring up cappuccinos whenever I felt like it. The breakfast buffet at this hotel is probably responsible for the extra weight I gained on this trip. Could also be the seafood dinner buffet. The pool was lovely and refreshing, and the staff that I encountered in every part of the hotel was kind and helpful. I would totally recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Marketmiami1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for taking the time to share your feedback with us in TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed your check-in process with our Front Desk team, the Butler service, the breakfast and dinner buffet spread at Orchid Cafe, the tropical oasis of our swimming pool, and most importantly, the level of customer service provided by our Luxury Collection ambassadors. As part of The Luxury Collection hotels, we continuously strive to provide our guests with an incomparable stay. Your comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 3,853 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Sheraton is a good hotel, that must be made clear and by European standards it would be excellent, but considering the competition within Bangkok I would consider my experience average. This is the 6th time that I have stayed with the Sheraton and I can honestly say that in the past it was the best because of the excellent customer service. I often travel alone, and I appreciated the friendliness and that they always seemed to recognise you. That was why the Sheraton would be my automatic choice without consideration of other 5 star hotels.

I hope this feed back is constructive:
I arrived at 15:30, there was a Q and it took 10 minutes for an assistant to reach me, there were not eneughg terminals, and he passed by credit card into the machine of a full time reception staff without mentioning to him, who if I had not pointed it out was about to charge a different customers bill to my card. No "welcome back" . I am an spg member and had booked a better room, with some perks like Laundy, cocktails etc. when I was shown the room, these were not mentioned to me, I had to ask. Also somewhat impersonal in comparison to before, and considering its my 6th visit.

The reception desk is too small for a hotel of this size, more trained staff are needed to cope with peak periods.

Positively, the room was good, with a fantastic city view as requested. Also they agreed to a late check out to suit my evening flight.

Check out at around 18:30 was again the same experience, had to wait, though less than before. This time, the receptionist remembered to return my credit card at the last moment.

Generally the hotel the atmosphere was less welcoming and the hotel "busy". The door and coniege staff, particularly the trainees, were good.

Another example; one evening, I had a problem with my shower. The control was stuck on hot. I reported it, abandoned the shower and went accross the road for some minor shopping. i returned 45 minutes later, the technician had the valve in pieces and took a further 20 mins to fix. That's not a problem, these things happen. In the past Sheratons service would have gone beyond what is expected and they would leave a chocolate spanner behind. A very nice touch. This time just fix and gone, like would happen everywhere.

Breakfast is supposed to be until 11:00, however from 10:30, staff start tidying tables, at 10:50 the first food was being removed. All of this should star after a 11:10. I asked, why it was being cleared and was told that they opened at 5:30. I said that I am not awake at 5:30 and was then told that the Japanese are. The buffet is good, although again a decline, only salmon pâté when before smoked salmon, there were a couple of flys buzzing around the pâté dishes which was off putting. The Virginia Ham looked like the tail of the ham left from the previous day with the fatty end that I asked to be trimmed. The Tabula "a sort of morrocan salad with lemon tomatoe and parsley" was terrible without any lemon.

Many of lights for the lift buttons on many floors do not work.

Previously I remember seeing the hotel manager walking around and checking how things were going. Not this time. Just had the impression of a decline.

Good was room, bed, excellent location, fantastic view, good quality soap, great croissants at breakfast (are they made at the hotel?).

So, overall a good hotel, but there are many good and excellent hotels in Bangkok and I had the impression that it was no longer top of the class.





Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank PeterCbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear PeterCbrussels,

May I thank you for staying at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for taking the time to write us a constructive feedback. I was very concerned to learn of your disappointment on the lack of attention to details of our Guest Service Agents, the inattentiveness of our Front Desk, and the breakfast buffet spread and service at Orchid Café. Naturally I called for a full investigation on all the points you raised and a series of actions and retraining has been put in place to avoid a reoccurrence and to deliver service in a personalized and attentive manner. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

I note that you found that the lights on some of the elevator floors were not working. I am pleased to advise that currently we are undergoing a refurbishment of our guestrooms which will give a fresher look and more contemporary feel to the guestrooms. This will include a totally new colour scheme, state-of-the-art media hub, 40” TV, upgraded guest room Internet, new lighting and new shower fittings. The room together with its 45 sq.m. space will certainly give us a leading edge amongst the 5 stars hotel in Bangkok. The total project is targeted to be completed by the end of next year.

On the other hand, I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our guest room, the central location of our hotel, and the croissant – yes, they are homemade. Your kind comments have been passed on to the teams.

Once again please accept my apologies on your disappointment. I sincerely hope that in spite of this inconvenience, we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future so that we can remedy the poor impression created on this occasion.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit this May. It is well connected with BTS and service is good. Breakfast is good and dinner, as well, although much more expensive than local restaurants. The swimming pool is not large but well-desighned, giving you a feeling of vocation. I would recommend it to SPG platinunum members because it offers very favourable price. If you are not, the quality/price ratio is not that outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelvinZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear KelvinZhang,

May I thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for sharing your feedback with us.

It is a great pleasure to read that you had enjoyed the convenience of our Grande Connection - connecting the hotel lobby directly to the BTS Skytrain and MRT Subway station, the food & beverage selections - especially our breakfast buffet spread and dinner at basil, and the tropical oasis of our swimming pool. I have shared your comments with the team and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of August for 5 days and had a brilliant stay. The hotel is excellent. Everything was a 5/5, service, location, food and rooms. My favourite though had to be the pool area. They have managed to create an area with trees and an amazing pool that makes you feel like you are at a tranquil beach resort. You can't tell that your in the middle of a city like Bangkok.

The only slight issue we had was a bill query. When checking out the bill we were issued had additional charges as the room rate had gone up. We were asked to pay this, we tried to explain that we had booked the room months ago and paid upfront then so they couldn't expect us to pay the difference as the rate had changed since we booked but they still said we must pay as the reservations team made an error when we booked. My partner had a copy of the booking details which they then took and said they would look into and sort out before we leave. It was all sorted before we left so no major issues overall. Would stay here if travelling to Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear maz05,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed our central location, the beverage selection, our guest rooms, the level of customer service and your highlight, the tropical oasis of our swimming pool. However, I was concerned to read about the misunderstand on the room charge upon check-out. Please accept my apologies and I have shared your feedback with the concerned Department Head so that such incidences will not re-occur.

My team and I look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel for 3 nights. The location is perfect. Next to the BTS and opposite Terminal 21 shopping mall. We could easily travel to any other location in the city. The service was fantastic, rooms very, very clean and spacious with a beautiful bathroom. My biggest complement to this hotel is the breakfast. Good variety and very well prepared. We would highly recomment this hotel if you are looking for the best service,beautiful hotel with a lovely pool, great food and location. This is what a 5 star hotel should be like.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear LindieSA,

May I thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed the convenience of our location - being directly connected to the BTS Skytrain, just a few steps from the MRT Subway Station and also opposite to Terminal 21. Moreover, I am delighted to read that the highlight of your stay was our breakfast buffet spread. We continuously strive to improve the level of our services and your compliments are definitely an encouragement to all of us. I have shared your comments regarding the exceptional level of service to our team and they certainly appreciate the recognition that you have given.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have nothing but praise to give to this hotel. Staff, accommodation, food, service, location etc., was all 5 star. There are many hotels in Bangkok, but for me, I will always book this one. Brilliant.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albyrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear albyrussell,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed food and beverage selection, the convenience of our location, our guestrooms, and most importantly, the level of customer service provided by out team. As part of the Luxury Collection ambassadors, we continuously strive to provide our guests with an indigenous and exceptional experience. Your compliments have been shared with the team and we all look forward to your next visit.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel - awesome location, clean and excellent service!
Located just next to the BTS and opposite Terminal 21, a happening shopping mall for young people in Bangkok.
We stayed at the 21st level - lake view room! Simply wonderful. Go Bangkok, must stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SERENities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear LionCitySunLover,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

It is a great pleasure to read that not only were you able to enjoy the convenience of our location, but our level of customer service had exceeded your expectations. I have shared your compliments with the team and they appreciate the recognition that you have given.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,687 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#11 of 894 in Bangkok
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 250, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Toei, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £136 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Starwood, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing