We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refused to refund us despite cancelling our stay due to the Bangkok riots” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #10 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Refused to refund us despite cancelling our stay due to the Bangkok riots”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Me and my partner had a booking for February 6-8, 2014 in the hotel and due to the recent Bangkok riots chose to cancel our Bangkok trip for safety reasons. My partner phoned up the hotel to ask for a refund 2 days ago, which is approximately 2 weeks plus for the said booking and the hotel staff refused to refund and instead offered an extension.

What I don't understand is why the hotel refused to refund when the reason why we cancelled was for our safety and not for some other travel plan issues. Will they be able to guarantee our safety 100% if ever we stayed?

That is really terrible service when most hotels offer refund as long as its within reasonable time frame. Ours is not just reasonable time frame, I think it is also a perfectly valid reason as well.

Definitely not booking ever again on this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wheng_2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear wheng_2159,

May I first point out that there are no riots in Bangkok but street protests. I am surprised to read your comments as it is our practice to first offer an extension of the deposit to be valid through 2014. And if this is not acceptable, we will provide a refund.

Moreover, I wish to emphasize that the protests are peaceful. Although we recommend to stay away from the rally points, we are not in a position to provide any guarantees. To date, none of our guests have reported to us any incident, which they considered put them at risk.

With kind regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,604
    636
    118
    26
    19
See reviews for
580
1,055
443
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Transited through Bangkok in January and December and stayed at The Grande both times. As an SPG gold member we were upgraned to a Grande Deluxe room, which was connected to a similar room for our children. Lots of space in the rooms...

Food in the Hotel was very good and not overly priced, when the Grande Club card was purchased a 30% discount was applied to the bill and is definitely worth considering. Breakfast and seafood buffet was an amazing array of all types of foods.

Pool was a little small and was difficult to find find a lounger at times but its a City centre hotel so to be expected.

Hotel is right next to The Sky Train so great to get around and very cheap.

On the whole an excellent hotel if staying in BKK.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66BJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear 66BJF,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit on both your transits in January and December and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed the spaciousness of our guestrooms, the food selection especially the breakfast and seafood buffet at Orchid Cafe, and the convenience of our central location. Your compliments had been shared with our team and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I go through Bangkok once or twice a month, in my line of work all I care about is that I go to a hotel in which I can rest, my job is traveling and once you have been in BK twenty or thirty times, it gets kind of old, my priority is to rest. This Sheraton probably has the best beds from all of the hotels I frequent every month, its right on the center of Sukhumvit and yet it is my Oasis of tranquility in the midst of one of the noisiest places on earth. The rooms are large and well appointed, staff is kind and efficient, the gym is awesome and they have a great pool which is set up in the midst of a beautiful garden. Super relaxing, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaniardgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Spaniardgipsy,

Thank you for your continuous support and loyalty towards Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok.

The voice of customers is critical in maintaining our high standards and I am pleased to read about the positive interactions you had during your stay with us. Your compliments have been shared with our team and they were delighted to know that they had been able to play a part in enhancing your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to your "oasis of tranquility" in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Right from the comfortable easy check -in at early hours to late check-out, our stay could not have been better. The staff were very courteous and accommodating. Veera, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and surprised us by gifting mouth watering chocolates on our departure. We were amazed by the awesome quality of food and it's presentation whenever we dined at the hotel. The hotel is centrally located and very well connected by metro. Above all, our vacation would not have been same without the stay at Sheraton!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdrolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Sdrolia,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok.

I am delighted to read about the positive experiences you had with our Luxury Collection ambassadors and that you had enjoyed the food selection as well as the convenience of our central location. Your compliments had been shared with Khun Veera, and he was delighted to know that he had been able to play a part in making your stay more memorable.

We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights zith a child of 4 years old, the Hotel is very well located with direct access to the Metro station, the room is very clean, the staff is amazing, very kind, very helpful, smiling all the time, their breakfast was very rich and variable, it meets all the tastes...I highly recommend this hotel.
The reception were very helpful by giving us our room 5 hours earlier and they offered us some changes to suits our need, if I go to Bangkok again, I will not stay elswhere for sure.
Thumb up +++++

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear sabanis,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for the time that you have taken to share your feedback.

It is of my greatest pleasure to read that you had enjoyed the convenience of our Grande Connection, the cleanliness of our guestrooms, the breakfast buffet at Orchid Cafe and the level of service provided our team of Luxury Collection ambassadors. Your compliments have been shared with our team and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent location. Few steps away from the Skytrain. Clean hotel and quite spacious. Breakfast is more than adequate. They do tell which dishes contain pork and keep them separate. The Gym was also good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors as it can be a bit noisy lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear miles28.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for the time that you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the convenience of our central location, the breakfast buffet at Orchid Cafe and the equipment at our Fitness Center. I have shared your feedback with the team and we look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

A lovely hotel - with a cordial and helpful staff, very large rooms, a nice breakfast buffet, and nice common facilities. Only comment would be that the pool is rather small for a town that is often so hot, and while we were there, a lot of construction noise made the pool facilities a little less desirable. Overall, a really nice place that was nicely priced. Proximity to train also made the hotel desirable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperTraveller2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear SuperTraveller2222,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit and for the time that you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed the level of customer service provided by our team of Luxury Collection ambassadors, the spaciousness of our guestroom, breakfast buffet at Orchid Cafe and the convenience of our location with the Grande Connection. With regards to your feedback on our swimming pool, the main section of the pool is 23 meters in length for those who likes to lap.

I do hope that in spite of this inconvenience we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to experience the improvement.

With kind regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 250 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing