We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful top quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,027 helpful votes
“Beautiful top quality hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Beautiful top quality hotel in the centre of Bangkok. Direct access to the skytrain brilliant for shoppers and business trips. Room was ok decent size but not huge for an executive. Nice view over the lake. Beautiful bars and restaurants and a trendy nightclub in the basement . The air conditioning is way too cold and I had to wear a jacket all the time indoors. Even in the bedroom we could not turn it off despite maintenance coming to try we had to literally "chill" uncomfortably during our entire time spent inside the hotel. The lounge has a nice relaxed vibe, excellent wines and good live jazz. Breakfast is a veritable feast and you can choose pretty much anything to suit your palate.The pool for a hotel of this size is so small it is ridiculous. Also it is not heated and in a shaded spot so is quite cold.Definitely not enough sunbeds but the area is so small there is no where to put them. The service though professional and efficient is some of the most unfriendly we have ever experienced particularly in reception. The concierge is not very well informed and quite unhelpful. In summary it looks beautiful and is very good quality but lacks in so many areas, this could be such a good hotel but sadly it is not. Try Le meridien plaza athenee.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,687
    650
    119
    26
    22
See reviews for
607
1,082
457
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
262 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I've had the opportunity to stay at the Sheraton on a couple of occassions.

Its a very comfortable hotel that distinguishes itself via the excellent service it provides.
Every staff member, from check in to the business center to the restaurant, all are very attentive and can actually deliver a service rather than just smile widely.

The rooms are large and could do with a bit of a makeover but nothing to complain. The bathrooms are big and everything works.

There are a couple of very good restaurants on the premises and I would recommend the Italian and Thai restaurant. The buffets aren't that great in my view.

The only drawback of this hotel is its location. Its in gridlock central. Its right on the intersection of Asoke and Sukhumvit roads, the two most traffic prone streets in Bangkok. So if you plan to travel by road, be prepared for a long wait.

However, the BTS (skytrain) is actually connected to the hotel and therefore if your travel venue happens to be on the route, then you are all set.

If I couldn't stay at the Hyatt, this would be a happy second choice for me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madianh, Saudi Arabai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

i stayed at the grande sheraton bangkok in 2007 for 4 days. we booked a suite (2 rooms) with closets and a butler. the hotel location is very good and quiet; two or three stops away from big malls. it is very clean, the toiletters are the best and the breakfast is really good. th staff is classy and helpful. i read in an article on luxury sheraton hotels that this hotel is no. 2 in asia and no. 11 in the world among the sheraton luxury collection. the spa and the swimming pool are amazing. my children and i love that hotel, i siencerely recommend this lovely hotel to everyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank koko_waki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Didn't stay at the Hotel, but went there for a Saturday buffet using a Starwood Privilege Voucher for 2,000 Baht. By my reckoning, I would have had to pay around 585 Baht, net of credits.

The hotel however, came up with a rather convoluted way to bill me 942 baht. Chose to just settle - as in all my years of using the Starwood Privilege card, no other property has found ways to inflate a bill 70%. I suppose, given their low occupancy rates, they may have to keep searching for creative ways to inflate bills.

The meal itself was very good, quality ingredients. Service was Ok - some staff well trained, others trained to ignore.

This experience in itself won't stop me from using the hotel again...since the absolute amounts involved were relatively small.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DestinationSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I've done several trips to Thailand this year, but this was my first time at this hotel.
Great staff, great location. The restaurants were good, but pricey for Bangkok.
The concierge desk was very good.
Downstairs, Barsu is a funky room and the manager is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBlueMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Location can't be beat. It's connected to the BTS Skytrain station that'll easily take you to the Siam shopping malls and other tourist sights. Even though the hotel is in a busy central area (with a night club on the ground floor), we didn't notice any street noise at night, being on the 22nd floor.

Service is everything you'd expect from a Sheraton Grande...from front desk to doormen to the guy that presses the elevator button for you.

Decor is typical 5-star luxury. Everything you'd expect...4 piece ensuite, spacious rooms, walk-in closet, etc.

The swimming pool isn't designed as a lap pool, but rather a quiet tranquil escape from the chaos of Bangkok streets. There's nice surrounding vegetation to make the area appear organic, and somewhat private corners of the pool to avoid others.

I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mct2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I have stayed at the Sheraton Grande 3 times in the past 6 months, and it is an outstanding choice in Bangkok. Rooms are huge, public areas are amazing, the food is great and the staff could not be better.

While Sukhumvit is not Bangkok's prettiest area, the hotel is well-located next to a Skytrain stop, and getting around is relatively easy (by Bangkok standards). If you're a tourist, there may be better areas than Sukhumvit, such as by the river.

The hotel has everything you could want, and the pool/garden area is a fantastic place to spend several hours. The garden, while quite small, is beautiful and the ambiance superb. The staff quickly know you and greet you by name, and fall over themselves with joy if you make a small gesture of saying 'sawadee krub (or ka)'.

Rooms are large, comfortable and have superb bathrooms. It really is a very relaxing and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,037 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 250 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing