We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic Thai hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic Thai hospitality”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This wasn't my first stay at the Grand Hyatt Erawan Hotel, I chose to come back to this hotel after having spent many childhood vacations here with my parents. It was exactly as I remembered it; unique lobby, friendly staff and incredible service. On this holiday we stayed here twice, upon our arrival in Bangkok in December and also when we returned to our home country in January. Both occasions were fantastic.

We booked a club room which meant we had free wifi as well as access to the club floor where afternoon snacks were served complimentary for club floor guests. These snacks were very tasty and we got the opportunity to try different ones as they varied day to day! The nice thing about being on a club floor is that you have your own reception desk as opposed to having to go to the ground floor to go to the main reception desk. This meant that check-in and check-out where very quiet and smooth and we never had to wait for assistance. Rooms were pretty standard but nonetheless very comfortable. Yes, as some reviewers agree, they are slightly outdated, however that did not bother us too much.

We ordered room service a few times and on all occasions the food was delivered within 30 minutes. The people were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable on the room service menu and were able to accommodate all of my requests, which I find a lot of hotels lack. The food was, not to our surprise, of high standards and rich in taste. On our second stay we were, again, on the club floor but were given a room next to the elevator. We only noticed the loud noises coming from the elevator shaft when we returned from a day of shopping and it was already 11PM. After calling reception we were moved within 10 minutes to an identical room further down the hall where it was much quieter. The next day we received a box of macaroons with an apology letter saying that this disturbance had been noted in our guest profile and we wouldn't be put next to the elevator again in future stays! Staying next to the elevator was indeed very noisy, but the way the reception team handled it was very professional and I did not expect to get such a lovely card and macaroons.

We used the concierge's services a few times and the gentleman behind the desk was very friendly and helpful (I am sad to say I did not catch his name). He organised ringside boxing tickets for us (which were fantastic!), gave us information about day tours and also told us where to go for good shopping and tattoo parlours. We must have spent easily one hour at the concierge desk but the gentleman was very keen to help.

Generally we found that all the staff were amazing. Everyone smiled, asked us how we were doing and if they could help us with anything. This is a good city hotel because you are in central Bangkok and within walking distance of a lot of nearby attractions. There are also several Sky Train (Metro) stations in the vicinity, the nearest one being 5 minutes away and called Ratchadamri station. If you don't like to take the train, you have the option of walking either next to the roads or on elevated passages above the roads which take you to a lot of different places.

Upon our next trip to Bangkok, it would not be difficult for us to decide to stay here again. The answer would definitely be yes!

Room Tip: All club floor rooms are nice, but generally speaking, do not go for a room next to the elevator as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Tyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    751
    159
    48
    29
See reviews for
604
768
322
1,193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My boyfriend and I took few weeks before finally decided to stay with Hyatt for our year end holiday. And was a great decision as from the day we arrived we experienced nothing but excellent and professional service also very friendly. Good food in Grand Club Lounge too. A very good value for money as we have breakfast and happy hours included in our room rate. The location is also good as easily connected to BTS (sky train). We are thinking to be back for Easter as we just missed the services and all the good food there. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl8892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The location is great, with shopping centers, shrines, temples, and the metro right there.

Also, the concierge service was top notch, very knowledgable and with good English skills. In fact, they recommended a Japanese restaurant within walking distance that could easily have been as good as Osaka or Tokyo.

HOWEVER, the rooms are old and you will be surprised that with all the modern rooms in Bangkok, you are stuck in your circa-2000 room.

The hotel manager told me that they are renovating all the rooms by mid-2012.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Unfortunately I was just stopping here for 1 night so I didn't have time really enjoy the hotel to it's fullest. Really all I can comment on is that the hotel is really beautifully done up and looks fantastic when you first walk in. The rooms are also very nice, spacious and tastefully decorated.

The service is first class. I left some of my stuff in the hotel when I left. They found it, notified me and had it sent to Singapore and didn't even accept any payment for their trouble! Plus I arrived relatively late in the day, can't remember if I made it in time for the typical laundry cut off or not but whatever the case they laundered my clothes and had it delivered very early the next morning as I didn't have much time to hang around.

The food, wherever you have it in the hotel; room service, bar, breakfast buffet etc is really good.

And their business services, i.e. for hosting a conference; equipment, catering, staff etc is also top notch.

Hopefully next time I'll be staying a bit longer to really get to enjoy all its services.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aka.seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Ok, so here is the deal. Overall this hotel is FANTASTIC in every way. Service I give six stars, only because I routinely stay at Park Hyatts, Four Seasons and Mandarins and the service here has been superior to each of the aforementioned. The location is excellent, spa is beautiful and the food has been a gastronomical delight. Only drawback for me is that they don't equip rooms with Bose stereo/iPod chargers. Also, the hotel is definitely old world style and there are little things that could go for an update- perhaps rain showers in the bathrooms (am I being too critical?). Not to harp on the negatives, I'd stay here in a hot second all over again.

PS- if you are here for leisure a MUST DO is the floating market tour. Book through the concierge (half day tour runs about $75 pp) and ask for Pooh as your guide. She is FABULOUS. By far the highlight of our stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Perks included squash court and spa/sauna, great for escaping the Bangkok bustle. A $40 per night upgrade got us wifi and breakfast/evening cocktails, which we took full advantage of. Good location, direct access to the SkyTrain station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Whats not to like - the service was great, the location is as central as you can get in Bangkok and the breakfast buffet was to die for!! Do stay here if you visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
3,113 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 858 in Bangkok
1,912 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Property: Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing