We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but old rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is fabulously located - right next to Chitlom BTS station, and across Gaysorn and Central shopping malls. It also features great restaurants and bars (including what's easily the best wine bar in Bangkok, @494), a nice spa, and very good service. Unfortunately, the rooms haven't been renovated in decades and cry out for a refurbishment. The rooms facing Rajadamri Road are very noisy.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Rajadamri Road are very noisy - better choose an interior courtyard room (without v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,911 - 2,917 of 3,634 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business - for 3 nights on the 9th floor. My window faced a drab multi-story carpark, and the room was of an okay size. Bed was large and comfortable, and washroom well-stocked with June Jacobs toiletries. I've seen plusher hotel rooms, but this was adequate.

I went to take a dip in the pool and was a tad disappointed to see the size. It's a irregularly shaped blob, and 1.5m deep. It's stark and functional, with deck chairs sprinkled around the sides. Not very relaxing, so I took off in less than 20minutes since I can't do laps and there were no corners to relax at in the pool.

If you are exploring meeting spaces, I highly recommend Room 305 to be the Welcome Reception venue. It's wood-themed, and very classy. My group of ~40 could also fit into Room 304 for a full-day meeting. The next day, we went to the Lecture Hall, and had breakouts in Classrooms 1-3, and the Library. The Lower Lobby has been built around a campus theme, and staff are dressed in colleague pullovers and to complete the look, the furnishings are like classrooms and school cafeterias (albeit a higher-class cafeteria!)

I prefer the ambience of The Residence versus The Campus because the former is more classy versus a university theme. It was nice to have a change in ambience, so you can take your pick. Just make sure you have a cooperative Convention Service staff to assist you.... So that you can be assured of a flawless event.

Location wise, it is connected to Chit Lom BTS station. Very convenient to the usual shopping haunts. Maboonkrong the famous shopping mall is just 2 stops away. Recommended if you are okay with the usual international hotels... sometimes i forget i am in thailand as soon as i step into one of these hotels. I'd prefer a hotel with more soul, but that's alright! Business is business and I appreciate the comfort.

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor so you can see the surroundings. My window faced a multistory car park, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was a great long weekend escape and the perfect hotel for it.
Great location for eating, shopping, bars, etc
Service was flawless and with the great Thai charm
Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lux H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic location, great service, friendly staff. There is nothing to fault with this hotel. As a diamond member, I was immediately upgraded to a club level room and the person who checked me in at reception also escorted me to my room -- definitely makes you feel like a VIP! The breakfast and snacks available at the club were amazing. No need to eat anywhere else thanks to the variety and quantity of the food there. The rooms were spacious and modern. Lovely bathroom amenities as well. Also lovely pool and spa. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint is that I wished they had a bigger space for yoga -- since there was no separate studio in the gym, the area for yoga is the same as the weights room, which can crowded during the morning hours.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeltaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We made a last minute trip from our vacation in Asia to Bangkok and chose it since it was part of the Hyatt family. We loved the GH Singapore. Simply loved this Hotel, the lobby and arrival is "wow" the staff were always attentive and eager to please and the smile always felt genuine!
The room was large and very comfortable; albeit felt slightly of an older style but was clean and more than comfortable. The bathrooms were very good with a seperate shower and tub; something I always prefer. The ice bucket was one of those subtle and unique touches I love to see!

We tried the bar on the first night we got there, since it was late and loved it. Great atmosphere, vibe and good food. I would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor facing the park, for some great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armani74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed recently at Grand Hyatt Erawan for a business trip for 5 days. Excellent staff and nice clean, spacious rooms. Centrally located and less than 5 min walk to the malls nearby or the monorail station. Another plus is the great food at all their restaurants.

Room Tip: As high as possible and room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rishi_des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived from Narita at 1AM. We were taken to our room for check-in. The room was on the back side of the hotel with views of other buildings and rooftops from the 19th floor.

The bed was harder than expected. There were lots of light switches - master controls, dimming controls etc. A bedside "does it all control" was mounted to the nightstand. It was a bit confusing when you aren't at your sharpest and just want to leave the light on in the bathroom.

Breakfast in the Club was very nice - there were hot menu options - not just a cold continental. The gym had a number of treadmills and other equipment. The lobby restaurant had high celings, open to the large front windows and was quite busy.

At checkout, we had to wait a bit because some of the Royal Family was coming for an event and the main doors were blocked with the "Royal Carpet". We found the Staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. While waiting outside for the shuttle to Hua Hin, we were offered bottled water. A small touch, but helped reinforce my decision to stay at Grand Hyatt. Thanks for the nice stay. We would stay again when we come back to Bangkok.

Room Tip: If the view is important, then you may want to request a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
3,242 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 885 in Bangkok
2,048 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £140 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing