We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view with moderate service”
Review of Baiyoke Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
Ranked #296 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding view with moderate service”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I checked in to this hotel for a one night stay in Bangkok before taking a flight back to the UK.

I booked this accommodation last minute the night before and because of the pictures of the hotel including the views, thought this would be a great end to a trip.

On arrival i have to say the check in process was a major let down. There seemed to be a problem with the communication between my agent and the hotel, and they were unable to find the reservation on the system. We were delayed to reception for about 1 hour to have this problem sorted, and even thought there was major communication problems between us and the staff, a little more customer service wouldnt have gone a miss!

We were on the 63rd floor with panoramic views across the Bangkok skyline which was pretty spectacular, and the rooms was more than adequate with two very comfortable beds, clean linnen, towls and all amenities you would need.

The hotel offers 4 main lifts to all customer floors. Even thought the lifts do a great job and are express elevators, i wasnt too happy about being packed in with many other people and then a sign coming up on the screen saying 'full' as you are approaching the 78th floor!!! I did close my eyes a little.

The space bar on the 83rd floor was a great place to spend the evening and have a drink whilst looking over the skyline further - the music was good but i have to say the service was not the best - again this could just be a personal thing but i do believe a little customer service goes a long way.

The breakfast the next morning was great - there was more than enough food in the American style restaurant and the quality was overall very good. One suggestion would be to have less tables as it was a tough annoying when people just keep banging into you as there was just not enough room.

Without sounding like someone who just complains i would say its worth a visit, but i think this hotel has become too big for the amount of guests and there are not enough staff or facilities to cope with the demand.

I personally would not stay again, but it was worth a visit - my suggestion would be to visit, take a look at the 83rd floor and have a drink but perhaps stay elsewhere that is smaller and has a more friendly and personal approach.

I am a young professional who visited with two colleagues for a wintersun holiday.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a high floor room or a room in the space zone section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    1,780
    1,141
    458
    380
See reviews for
1,122
1,749
244
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have stayed at the Baiyoke Sky on 60th floor in sky zone.The food was good and dinner buffet was good.It is located in the center of the city,there is a cheap market just outside the hotel.If u are going to Bangkok then Baiyoke Sky is a good choice. Lots of malls are near to this hotel. If you are looking for branded shopping then Simon Paragon, MBK are good and for electronic market Pantip Plaza is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloo_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

2nd time visiting and what a disappointment this hotel was. I had a great stay back in 2010 but in 2 years, there was very little maintenance work done.
There was still no sound proofing anywhere.
Shower was dripping and it felt like a dog pissing when you try to bathe.
Carpets were very dirty and old.
Mouldy smell in the entire room and bed.
Staff were still friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingAderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel isn't recognizable as it looks like a normal building. The hotel lobby is upstairs and I was surprised to see loads and loads of tourists there. The room faces the city and has a great view at night. Some other rooms which face the other side doesn't have such good view. The room has rather oldish furniture but is adequately furnished. The room and the bathroom are generally clean. But a cockroach crawled out from somewhere from the bathroom and the room smelled of smoke even though the room was a non-smoking room. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered another room quite quickly. The hotel has an observatory and that was a nice place to have some good city view. The restaurant where breakfast is served is on a very high floor. So, it was very nice to start the day with such yummy breakfast amidst a nice view. The location is very central and near several shopping malls so it is quite convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have stayed at the Baiyoke Sky before a couple of time but this time even though we were on the 72nd floor the room was quite small as we had a huge structural v shaped beam covered in vinyl in front of the window. We should have complained but as it was late when we arrived and we were dead on our feet we just put up with it. The bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned properly as there were drops of blood in front of the toilet and they were still there when we left 2 days later. The hotel was very crowded with tour parties and all the cafes in the area now seem to be Indian so we had to walk quite a distance to find Thai food. If I wanted Indian food I'd go to India! The new Airport Link train was very handy and only five minutes walk to the hotel. It usually cost about 500 baht for a taxi and was only 40 baht on the train which took about 20 minutes. I wouldn't spend the extra money to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

The service staff were great, very friendly and helpful.
But room was not too pleasant, found 3 cockroaches, tap water was yellowish and hot water is limited during peak hours... That is evening time when all tourists started arriving back to the hotels.
Hotel is no where close to a bts station and ended up taking taxi everywhere.
Buffet breakfast had a good variety but quality was okay. Once was enough to experience the excellent view.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hipsquare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel but just situated in a crowded spot in the metro. But when you enter it's accomodating although lots of tourists visited that month highly expected on for a summer get away. Good hospitality of crews but english language or translation is a little bit not so clear. But the city, tourist spot so far are fine, & the food is also good. Just what asian country can give because it's asia.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinacabunilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#706 of 861 in Bangkok
885 reviews
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#72 of 861 in Bangkok
5,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 861 in Bangkok
4,305 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baiyoke Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyoke Sky Hotel

Property: Baiyoke Sky Hotel
Address: 222 Ratchaprarop Rd. | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baiyoke Sky Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Playful. Glamorous. Convenient. Soaring 88 stories above the Bangkok famous Pratunam, Baiyoke Sky Hotel, Bangkok offers the dynamic highest views of the city and beyond, while our luxuriously appointed guestrooms offer the ultimate in comfort and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baiyoke Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyoke Sky Bangkok
Hotel Baiyoke Sky
Baiyoke Sky Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing