We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better hotels in Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Ranked #161 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“There must be better hotels in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Positive:
Good size room.
Water pressure and temperature.

Negative:
Location- they say they are close to a railway station but it is the state railway - 3rd class. You have to walk about at least a kilometre to get to a "real" station.
Breakfast - typical tourist food and usually cold.
Wifi - overpriced.
Reception staff - abrupt and not helpful.
I would not stay at this hotel again. I would try and find somewhere with a better location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    310
    259
    132
    134
See reviews for
379
290
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Good place to visit a good hotel the entrance is lavish however the service is a little poor as its a old hotel the area around is not too good to be during the nights but an good breakfast and very close to the Indra markets as well as malls. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidnani00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Initially I liked the Hotel as we got an early arrival room instantly, and got the service of a wheel chair, but gradually I found that not many porters are friendly and they are eager to serve some special people only.
The room we got was good with an overview of distant areas. The breakfast was OK. But the reception had no sitting space for visitors. The lobby space is also very inadequate. There were markets nearby but Taxis were not ready to go by metre....asking much more for any trip.
It is better to arrange for any day trip or all day trips such as Siam Niramit show or Safari park tour try to arrange through a travel agent beforehand and not through the Hotel. Most attendant of the hotels and the Taxi drivers do not know English so it is difficult to get anything correctly understandable to them..
at our departure we asked for a help to the front office to telephone some driver as he is late for our departure but their office declined to help us even against a cash for the call
I will not recommend anyone to stay in this Hotel,.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamon295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from 28 Nov to 30 Nov in a twin room. The rooms were old and really dusty, as if it hasn't been cleaned in ages, with some lights and lamps that didn't work well and were really dim. Wifi was not available for free, and the charges for the hotel wifi were insane. We managed to get free Wifi from the restaurants along the street near the hotel instead. Also take note that the water in the fridge is NOT free, only the two bottles on the shelf are free! They charged us 50 Baht for the 2 bottles of water from the fridge we opened even though the ones on the shelf weren't opened at all.

The staff were tremendously impolite and looked EXTREMELY grumpy every time we approached them (Check-in, check-out, currency exchange, directions, etc). We wanted to try out their Thai Massage (400Baht/hr) since we thought it would be more professional than random shops along the street, but they were horrible. The receptionist begrudgingly told us what timeslots were available for booking and kept bugging us for the money before we could settle on a timeslot to book. When we finally went for the massage, The masseur looked terribly grumpy and vocally complained to us about us "giving her work to do". The massage wasn't really good too, we could've paid half the price for better massage outside the hotel.

The location is fine, just off the main shopping street and about 10 minutes walk to platinum fashion mall, etc. But there were other hotels around that area too that are a lot more accessible than this, and I'm sure would provide better services too.

We genuinely disliked this hotel very much, and this sentiment was shared by everyone else from the tour group that we were with. Please avoid this hotel if possible and find a better one elsewhere. The horrible massage and services really ruined the Bangkok trip for a lot of us in the group. (No one likes being greeted by grumpy staff chasing you for money right?)

Room Tip: Generally just avoid this hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENELWAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March, 2013. The entrance and the reception area is attractive and it feels like you are entering into some palace. Rooms are good and but not so clean. They have very old furniture and floor is noisy. Ours was little congested too but fortunately it was facing the swimming pool, so we had a fabulous view of pool, highway crossing adjacent to the hotel, the sky train line and the fly overs behind it. Break fast has large number of varieties even if you are a vegetarian. WiFi is not free and it's expensive too. Overall, it was a little more than average experience.

Room Tip: Ask the room facing the Swimming pool to get a nice view of the pool, Highway, flyovers and sky trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansitrivedi2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

however it is called as a five stars hotel it dos not have primery facileties like three safebox in the rooms ,free wifie and ext. the beds are very old and uncomfortable very bad staff and worths is not secure since i left the room for swiming and when i came back i fundout five hundred dollar is taken from my wallet after i refered to hote manager he promised to solve my problem but he did nothing.i never go there once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amir521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in Bangkok Palace Hotel on Oct 30, Nov 2 & 3 2013. Good location since its nearby the Indra square & other big malls. But the room conditions were very bad, old fashioned, I had been bitten by bed bugs on my 1st stay. I had terrible experience staying in there. This hotel don't even provide free WIFI. They r charging 100bath/hour. Their staffs were not friendly at all, we called the housekeeping for travel adapter, they were quite rude in answering our needs. The only good thing about it was we like their dinner (ala carte) in Makkarsan. Their food was tasty & quite cheap compare to our Malaysian meal price. If you get to avoid staying here, please do so. Dear Bangkok Palace Hotel Management, please improve your service. THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Get a room viewing swimming pool to avoid noises from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aramena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#84 of 866 in Bangkok
919 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 866 in Bangkok
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
#199 of 866 in Bangkok
1,277 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 866 in Bangkok
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Palace Hotel

Property: Bangkok Palace Hotel
Address: 1091 / 336 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangkok Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 668
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Palace Hotel is situated across Makkasan railway station, and minutes from Airport Rail Link - Makkasan Station, Petchburi MRT station, Ploenchit BTS Station, Expressway, and the shopping and eatery district of Pratunam. Families, couples and business executives alike find Bangkok Palace Hotel to offer a wealth of comfort during their stay in Bangkok - the city of angels. Coupling unmatched access to the most-visited Makkasan - Pratunam attractions, Bangkok Palace Hotel is just minutes away from Central World, Siam Paragon, Platinum Fashion Mall, MBK shopping mall, the four-faced Buddha, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bangkok Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing