We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Score 75/100: Petty Nice but mismatch hardware & Over EXPENSIVE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrad Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #61 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
“Score 75/100: Petty Nice but mismatch hardware & Over EXPENSIVE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

A short stay for 2 nights during a tight schedule business trip.

Good:
- Well decorated (which international 5 star hotel is not?)
- Sizable room, at the level of "standard"
- Polite service

Bad:
- No Combi (on request, it takes 15mins to come, as they call it "special equipment"...
- No Shaving kits (same experience, as long as those are SPECIAL)
- No FOC (yet really costly) internal service

Remark:
- If you are over 179cm, don't come anymore, unless you get unless to sleep at 45 degree slant

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a1pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,756
    756
    190
    50
    44
See reviews for
402
766
334
881
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

The Conrad is no doubt, a first rate hotel. However, I felt that since Bangkok has so many values in hotel prices, this place seemed a little too expensive at $200 per night and up. I'm used to paying that in Europe, but Thailand is not an expensive place and there are many more nice hotels that are much cheaper.

The service was excellent, but the internet seemed expensive at $20 per day, after paying so much for the room. They do provide free wifi in the lobby, but who wants to sit down there on modern style chairs for hours, trying do do work?

The location is closer to the modern area of Bangkok, such as malls and high end shopping. The train is about four or five blocks walk away, and there are plenty of modern restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Went up to Bangkok for a weekend trip during Hari Raya and chose the Conrad based on reviews and perceived location.

BOOKING:
I booked online through the Hilton Honors site also requested a car at the airport to pick us up. A reply from the hotel confirming the hotel transfer and rate was received the next day after booking online.

CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT:
Check-In/Out was done at the front desk which was a little strange when staying on the exec floor, but it wasn’t an issue.

LOCATION:
I’m no expert of Bangkok, but when I looked on the map, it appeared that the Conrad was just off Sukhumvit and not very far from Siam Paragon shopping center. Unfortunately, it’s not really “close”, (i.e. walking distance), to anything. There are a few malls, (including Paragon), that aren’t TOO far away, but in Bangkok traffic, that can mean a 30-45 minute drive.

COMMON AREAS:
The lobby is huge and grand, with a very metropolitan feel to it. We also visited the Spa while there which is very nicely laid out and the treatments were top class.

FOOD:
When staying on the executive floor, it is mandatory to eat breakfast in the executive lounge. You are not allowed to eat at the main restaurant unless you want to pay. The reason I bring this up is that you are not allowed to wear shorts in the executive lounge…..ever…..even for breakfast on a Sunday. It is ok to wear torn up stained sweat pants, but it is not ok to wear a nice pair of golf shorts. I think the point of the dress code is lost there. Regardless, the food in the lounge was good, and probably the biggest selection I’ve ever seen at a lounge breakfast.

ROOMS:
The room we had was a “corner” room, which was about the same size as a regular room, but with a much larger bathroom. The room was comfy and modern with all the expected amenities. It did have a small ‘walk-in” wardrobe which would be convenient if you were staying for any extended period.

SERVICE:
Other than the strict “dress code” and pretentiousness of the lounge, the service we experienced throughout was excellent. The hotel transfer car is one of the nicest Merc’s I’ve ever seen, and if you’re travelling solo & light, there is an SLK to use as a transfer car as well.

VALUE:
We were happy with what we got and what we paid. Hotels in Thailand are all usually ridiculously cheap anyways.

OVERALL:
If/When we go back to Bangkok we’d probably choose somewhere else, simply because of location as it’s frustrating to spend a lot of your time in traffic going here or there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faithful_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Is still my favourite hotel in Bangkok owing to the wonderful rooms, large shower/bathroom and fantastic outdoor pool. Lovely service as so often in Thailand. My only caveat is the acute food poisoning from a crab/shellfish eaten in the 1st floor cafe/restaurant (Bangkok is hardly close to the sea - not an intelligent choice with hindsight).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

As we were traveling with our 2 small children, we chose to stay at the Conrad Residence in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment for 3 nights. The Residence shares the same building as the Conrad Hotel but occupies the first 20 floors (not exactly sure on this detail – we were on the 15th floor). It has it own small lobby and reception area and a separate bank of elevators that is reached by walking just past the hotel elevators. Guests at the Residence have access to all of the same amenities as the Hotel guests and we found ourselves coming and going mainly through the Hotel lobby. The pool is lovely although by mid-afternoon (in Dec) it was shaded. There is a small mall connected the Conrad where there are a few restaurants, a bookstore, Starbucks and Tops grocery store. It is pretty convenient. Restaurant Tip: had a great meal at ‘Curries and More’ located about a block away on the road behind the hotel.

The apartment consisted of 2 bedrooms (the master was very large) each with it’s own flat-screen tv, a living area with a dining table/four chairs, sitting area and large flat-screen tv (with Playstation) and a kitchen fully stocked with dishes, cutlery and glassware. There is also a washing machine in the kitchen but no clothes dryer. The apartment was spacious and gave us a bit of breathing room to relax. The beds are comfortable with good quality linens and both bathrooms are well-stocked and include separate a shower & bathtub. Our first day, the master bathroom shower absolutely flooded the entire bathroom. The drain didn’t seem to be working well. Reported it to the reception desk and although it was a bit improved the following day, the end result was the same. Just gave up and moved to the other bathroom for showers! The décor was nothing special - but for the framed black ink drawings of Thai architecture you could be anywhere in the world! – however it was clean and housekeeping did nice work.

While we did not have an auspicious beginning at the Conrad – upon arrival we were informed that the hotel would have no electricity, including air conditioning, from 11 pm - 5 am our first evening – the Manager (Dan, I think) made every effort to give us options and worked hard to make sure we were satisfied. As a matter of fact, the electricity was off for longer than planned and the next day we received a beautiful delivery of chocolates and fruit as an apology for the inconvenience. Also a nice service touch: while asking a question at the reception desk, I happened to mention I would be celebrating my birthday in Bangkok later in the week. A birthday cake was delivered to our room the evening of my birthday. We thought the employees were friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

For a family, the Residence is a great set-up and we found it made traveling with kids just a bit easier and a lot more comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amieeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

I have stayed in the Conrad several times and always enjoyed the experience.
Perhaps due to the ongoing financial issues I found things not quite as good as before.
I particular the following issues disappointed me :
1. Charging 750 Bath per day for internet access is outrageous, especially in a business hotel.
2. I found the new barber shop in the lobby to be unhelpful and bad attitude.
3. Confusion regined when I tried to use the wireless printer.

The spa staff were excellent , as usual and I enjoyed my trip overall.
Just not sure if I will return as there are better deals in the 5 star market in Bangkok.

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Went here for a night in Bangkok on Thanksgiving with work friends. Expensive but weel worth it. Liked Pattaya better, lol.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hennessy369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#74 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Bangkok Hotel

Property: Conrad Bangkok Hotel
Address: 87 Wireless Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Bangkok Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world's most exciting and innovative luxury hotels. Located within the stylish All Seasons Place in the heart of Bangkok, and close to the city's major commercial and shopping centers as well as Lumphini Park. Suvarnabhumi International Airport is just a 40-minute drive away. The Conrad Bangkok fuses luxury and technology, artistry and expertise, and presents guests with cutting-edge design, cuisine and service. Our luxurious guestrooms and suites are furnished with beautiful silk and natural wood giving a sense of contemporary Thailand. With hi-speed internet access, stay connected in true style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your Conrad Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Bangkok
Bangkok Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing