We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service in S/E Asia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok
Ranked #216 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst customer service in S/E Asia.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My friend  has already made a review for our expensive stay at Windsor Suites but I'd like my 2 cents worth also. We decided to stay in a double suite for a week that clearly stated max 3 people but we ended up having to pay for our third person (which ended up being hundreds) without any proper explanation as to why. We are in our 20's and were basically treated like scum from the Windsor staff, the customer service manager in particular was just awful to us, constantly speaking down his nose to us and  talking over me when I tried to ask him questions about additional fees. The room itself had a nice view but when you looked closely there was massive patches of mould left in places that I assume the cleaners presumed you couldn't see (on the floor under bathroom vanity, under all the taps, water spots on walls) there were also stains on all the furniture minus our bedding. We had a small 'living area' and the lounge and armchair were filthy. My main point however, is that during our stay I had a call from reception telling me that the 'boss' wished to meet with me and asked if I could speak with him in the next few hours. Now that day we had planned some sight-seeing so I stated that I could not today but I could the next morning. The receptionist then just told me a time in the morning which I agreed to and that was that. I thought this was a good thing as they should try to recover from leaving us with such a sour start. However it was never stated whether I was to go anywhere or if he was coming to me, so the next morning I waited for an hour in our room for either somebody to come up or reception to call to arrange a meeting place. Nothing. By this point I was so sick of spending MY time and money on this so called '4 Star' hotel that I just went out and enjoyed the rest of my day. Now after my friend reviewed I noticed that the reply stated that there was a meeting and 'we didn't show up', wow what terrible customer service, If I don't show up get your messanger to ring or make sure the message even got through. I work as a receptionist in my home country and as the old saying goes 'The customer is always right', well not at Windsor Suites. You're wrong, and if you decide to stay here then you are making the wrong decison. After 3 months all over South East Asia, staying in hotels, guesthouses, bungalows and villas alike Windsor Suites was the worst accomodation we experienced. They just want your money. Whether you have an enjoyable experience or not doesn't seem to be on their agenda. Steer clear.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss-n-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    624
    392
    108
    97
See reviews for
319
434
205
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed one year ago so read my full review from last time. This year I was given a "deluxe suite" in the main tower again, on the fifth floor. The suite outlay was the same, just a little further down. On arrival the TV channels (no flatscreen) had some white noise and not all channels were there. They fixed this the same day. The toilet was not flushing correctly during my 7 day stay and I gave up after reprting it 3 times. This time I tried the nice bakery of the hotel, great brownies! Do not use the hotel laundry, there is a one kilo for 80 baht laundry just outside the back entrance. The pool was quite cold this time, but hey, it was December. Would stay again, got my room through Agoda for 37-40 Euros a night. Extended daily, just because of the political protests in Bangkok so I was flexible to leave on short notice, without cancellations.

Room Tip: ask for a HIGH room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with my wife on 5th Dec 2013 after staying there 3 years ago. That last stay was 1st class, could not fault it.
This time however, we booked the so say delux garden wing room, and trust me, it is far from that.
The first room we were shown was like a rabbit hutch with no window in this so say delux wing. It was not what we expected after the standard room we booked last time.
After complaining, we were offered an alternative with a window in this same wing, which is seperate by the way from the main hotel.
We were made to feel like second class guests in this wing, and it was a real haul involving two lift rides and going through reception just to get to the pool.
It seemed that if you were a business guest, or from Japan, then you where the type of guest they really wanted.
We were so upset by this, we could have stayed somewhere better, for less money, and made to feel welcome, like the first time we stayed here.
I have recommended the hotel to many people, and to be honest, the facilities are superb, but this experience did leave a bad taste.

Room Tip: Don't book the so say delux Garden Wing Room, it is far from delux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was our second visit to the Windsor Suites and we would always return to this hotel when visiting Bangkok.

Our stay this time was very much improved as we paid slightly more for a Counsellor King Suite whereas we were in the older section of the hotel during our last stay. When we made the booking, we requested a room on a high floor and were allocated room 2207 on check in, in the newer section of the hotel. Although we paid more than our last stay, the view made up for it as we had floor to ceiling windows on the 22nd floor with views over Bangkok and views of the rooftop pool of the hotel.
The room was spotlessly clean and large with a comfortable bed, a settee, a table and chairs in front of the window and tea and coffee making facilities. Some may find the furniture slightly dated, but this was not an issue for us.

We enjoyed spending evenings at the rooftop pool watching the sun go down over Bangkok. The staff were friendly but we did not have breakfast included, so I am unable to comment on this. There is also a gym that my partner used and other facilities such as a nightclub and hotel based shops but we didn’t make use of these facilities.

The hotel is in a very good location, close to the Sky Train and the Metro which makes it an ideal location for exploring Bangkok. There are bars, restaurants, shops and a night market within walking distance. This was ideal for us after exhausting days sightseeing in Bangkok and not having the energy to travel far in the evenings.

Another great stay and would recommend paying the extra for the Counsellor King Suite and requesting a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the higher floors in the new section. We were in room 2207 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went there with special discount booking directly from its website. It was very comfortable with grand room even facility is a bit old... Very convenient location from BTS and close to many shopping centers. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Savy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

very conveniently located in the heart of the city.Nearby to some nice German bakery and Indian restaurant.We liked the suite and it was of high standard.The breakfast was of international quality with a variety of choices.Specially liked the location of the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Select higher floor for an excellent view especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaggu123135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good for one or two nights if you are on the budget. Not that easy to find when you arrive by train.
The selling point is probably the location, but I would not stay there for longer than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Higher floors would give better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
#179 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok

Property: Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok
Address: 10/1 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Suites Hotel invites you to explore the heart of Bangkok's vibrant CBD, shopping districts and rich Thai culture. Located on Sukhumvit Soi 20, 100 meters to Asoke BTS Sky-train Station & Sukhumvit MRT Subway station, the hotel features a total of 582 hotel rooms & suites, 23 meeting rooms, several Food & Beverage outlets from international to Chinese & Japanese cuisines, an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Neva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing