We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Stars? For mold? Bugs? And bed stains?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twin Towers Hotel
Ranked #541 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4 Stars? For mold? Bugs? And bed stains?”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Admittedly, it was our tour group who claimed that the hotel was 4 stars, but regardless, consider this:

First stay - with a tour group - we were on the 8th floor of a "standard" room. The paint was lime green, had mysterious stains, and smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Same goes for our linens -- I flipped up the comforter and almost vomited. I got into the bathroom and the tile was severely cracked in several places, and all grout/crack lines were covered in black mold. This includes the ceiling tiles, where mold fuzzily clustered in angry colonies.

Against my better judgment, a group of friends booked us a "superior" room 3 days later. (Long story short, it was NYE, and we were desperate.) The superior room had not-lime-green paint, 10% fewer stains on the walls, and the sheets appeared clean and white. Same bathroom, however, mold army and all. We all woke up with mysterious bites clustered around our ankles.

Later, we found out that the only other difference between the standard and superior room, (besides 800 baht), is an in-room safe. When we complained about a broken temperature control panel and filthy sheets, they failed to respond until our THIRD phone call.

Stay tuned for pictures. They're pretty amazing.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try to stay in the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    251
    209
    76
    52
See reviews for
109
205
56
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The hotel itself was nice and the price, as in Asia very reasonable. I made the mistake of ordering from room service on my first night there and as a result received food posioning which knocked me out for the rest of my stay.... Be warned!!
The location is also very poor. The train line stops about a 20 - 30 minute walk from the hotel and there are no resturants or bars close by. If you are wanting to stay in the Siam area for a night or two to get some shopping in, I'd suggest either another hotel or more better still to avoid the area altogether. If you can stay along Sukhumvit Rd, the train to Siam will only be a stop or two away depending how far down you are and the area itself is more livley; food stalls, street markets, bars etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have stayed at the Twin Towers two years running. From the outside the hotel looks like a bit of a dive, but inside it is lovely. On both occasions we have stayed at the Twin Towers we have had a large, clean and comfortable room. The hotel swimming pool is a bonus. Breakfast is not fantastic, but there is good variety. A good base for exploring Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at Twin Towers Bangkok, first impression of walking in was WOW, the girl on the reception was very pleasant and check-in was a breeze. Our room on the 14th floor was spacious and very clean. I don't really have anything bad to say, except for the service at breakfast, we asked to eat out by the pool which we did but we had to set the table and there was no service, we had to go inside to ask for coffee which seemed to be a bother...No land of the smiles here!! The cocktail lounge is great, very relaxing with good service & prices.The service desk outside the hotel is great, the girls were lovely and very willing to help. Location is good only a short taxi ride to MBK etc, we used the hotel car service which was good. Overall not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here during my honeymoon trip.
The 1st night I stayed here, the room was spacious and clean.
After Pattaya trip, we stayed in this hotel again. But this 2nd night was totally different than the 1st one. We were given a room right beside the janitor storageroom with a hole behind the painting, and there was somebody's pants inside the bathroom!!
We asked for another room but they can only gave us another room at the other side of janitor storageroom. It was a bit dirty but we have no other choices and we were tired already :(
Location of this hotel is not so strategic and I dont recommend to go alone if you want to take a night walk around the street.
The breakfast menu was various and tasty.
The staffs are friendly, including the tuk tuk driver (the hotel has their own tuk-tuk with reasonable price).
Btw, there is a souvenir shop at back area of ground floor, in line with the elevator. Price is definitely much cheaper than the stall near the front door ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was where we stayed for our last night in Bangkok, and looked so impressive in the lobby....when we got to our room it was like being in a different building!! It was unclean and basic, worlds away from the marble lobby with its chandaliers! The breakfast was awful, but lunch next day in the dowstairs restauarant was very nice. The pool is nice, but the spa ye again had a great entrance, then we were led to a shabby room for our massage that looked like a third world hospital room!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed 2 night in June. Very clean and comfortable, but TV is old style. I like buffet breakfast wide selection. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#654 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#209 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Tongtara Hotel
#392 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#372 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Sukhumvit
Royal Benja Hotel
Royal Benja Hotel
#354 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twin Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twin Towers Hotel

Property: The Twin Towers Hotel
Address: 88 Rong Muang | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twin Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 660
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twin Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twin Hotel
Twin Hotel Bangkok
Twin Towers Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing