We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Room 40m2 with bathtub , Superb breakfast, Helpful cleaning lady”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Furama Silom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama Silom
Ranked #237 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
singapore
Level Contributor
266 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Superior Room 40m2 with bathtub , Superb breakfast, Helpful cleaning lady”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Superior Room with bath tub
Pros:
Big room 40m2 with comfortable sofa
Breakfast lots to choose from (Western, japanese, salad, breads)
Plasma tv
Wifi was ok
Nice Room with sofa
Housekeeping female staff very friendly, help us catch cockroach
Cons:
Bath tub water flow very slow
Cockroach inside room
Ants in bath room
10 min walk to bts
Walk to room from lift lobby takes 15 sec
Old Hotel renovated
Note:
Deluxe room at higher level, their bath tub nicer.
Their level floor have carpet

Room Tip: Choose a room that is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    802
    406
    127
    77
See reviews for
214
692
214
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room was on the seventh floor of this hotel, the corridor looked like a hostel, the heat was incredible no air conditioning. The bedroom was spacious that was the only good thing about it. The bathroom had two bath towels and two face cloths changed once per day, no hand towels. There was a step into the bathroom for a reason when you used the shower the water soaked the bathroom floor the step was there to stop the water entering the bedroom. The staff van be a bit slow, I asked for cups for coffee 3 times we waited almost one hour before eventually going to the restaurant to pick them up myself. The bedroom shown on the web site bears no resemblance to the room we stayed in. The pool area is very short of loungers although deckchairs are available. The wardrobes did not smell very fresh, we bought air fresheners for them - worked a bit. Another tip for this hotel would be ear plugs the noise from the air condition unit in the bedrooms is extremely loud.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are better - so I was told the day I was leaving. There were some good poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

blackpool
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

First time in Bangkok so can't compare with anything else I'm afraid. We got an offer on Travelzoo and we've had some great offers with them so maybe we expected more. Paid about £30 GBP per night for two nights wouldn't have been happy if paid more.

Location seemed good, short walk to sky train and on a good direct route into centre. Nearby some bars and restaurants etc.Also very handy for the night markets too.

Don't think looks as good as the photos, we had an upgraded room which think means you get a desk? LOL. Balcony not suitable to sit out on but a reasonably good view. Nice bathroom and toiletries etc, seems more of a business hotel to me, very smart staff at front of house, concierge etc but quite formal rather than friendly.

Staff friendly enough but not overly helpful and although they spoke English wasn't particularly good enough to answer questions, give advice etc.

Lacking in a few areas, not enough sunbeds/towels really, pool area looked bit dated/run down. No towels in sauna area (where you can use room if already checked out for shower etc) Excellent breakfast buffet though.

Overall it was just OK nothing special. Wouldn't particularly recommend but as said never been before but seems is lots of nice hotels and offers so you can probably find better.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother upgrading unless you want a desk or need a bigger room. Our deluxe had nice bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was good but we had an old room. The room was clean but nothing more than that. The service in the hotel was good with friendly staff. Situated on walking distance from night market and skytrain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Lovely hotel with very clean, spacious modern rooms. Staff aren't too helpful or friendly but are okay. Excellent views over the city and very central for shops, cafes and restaurants. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I arrived at this hotel very early so must wait until 1pm for check in
the staff was very nice with me but could not do an effort to check me in earlier.
the room was on the 10th floor , very nicely decorated with perfect wi fi , beautiful view.
the breakfast was very good as well .

Room Tip: If early check in book a room the night before .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malika080273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Good:

Check-in:

Our stay was 3 nights (March 7 - 10), and we booked the best deal for a DELUXE room from Agoda, which was about SGD90 per night. At the confirmation page, my usual practice is to fill out the Special Requests section. After researching and reading about the varied qualities between rooms in the Furama Silom, I left very detailed instructions for a non-smoking, high-floor Deluxe with city view.

Upon arrival, I brought a printed copy of this and was pleased that not only do they have it in their system, but also honoured the requests with no questions asked. The front desk was excellent, and the contact with them throughout my stay was superb. I also asked for an extra keycard, as well as, late checkout, and it was all handled very professionally. The same can also be said of the doormen and luggage attendants, very courteous, systematic and detail oriented.

Very often despite leaving special requests via Agoda or hotel email, front desks still do not have a clue upon check in, or will come up with a lame last minute excuse, with no follow-up or service recovery. So this is a definite thumbs up, and their attention to bookings and guest needs is exemplary. Really good job here!

Location:

The nearest station was Chong Nonsi (BTS). Arriving quite late at 9pm, it was a bit of a challenge trying to find the hotel, but luckily we spotted the logo of the Pullman Hotel first, and then after walking towards it, saw the yellow Furama logo as well. Never really thought how important it was to have a well-lit logo at the top of your building, in this case, it was a lifesaver!

The hotel is also along the famous Silom Road, so staying on the same road will bring you straight into the heart of the red light district, with gay clubs & girly/boy shows. As usual in Thailand, the atmosphere is less sleazy but more celebratory and tourist-attractive. And even if you don't partake in any of the "activities", there is plenty to see and do. There is the Patpong Night Market, as well as evening road stalls and various massage houses along adjacent Suriwong Road. Sarika Toyo in particular is a no-nonsense massage establishment, with serious masseuse. No hanky panky.


The Not-So-Good:

Room:

I do have to say the size of the room was astounding. Having recently returned from a Japan trip of minuscule hotel rooms, the Deluxe Room was positively palatial. The fixtures were new, the bathroom was very nice, and the massive bed was extremely comfortable. The reports were true that the Deluxe Rooms were the newly refurbished in the hotel. Room 1702, in this case, was true to that.

Having checked all the basic necessary elements to a good room, somehow the little flaws start to appear. Despite the big furniture pieces (the bed, writing desk and sofa set), the room felt a little bare. It could be due to the lack of TV console, in this case, it was wall-mounted with a shelf below.

The wardrobe with sliding door was also virtually un-usable, as the doors slid over the luggage storage that was next to it. The door always had to be slid closed, or just opened a smidgeon to access the safe, but basically, because of the design, we did not hang any clothes up and lived out of our luggages. This was manageable considering our short stay, but for those staying over a week, it could very well be maddening to have wardrobe space, which cannot be used.

We were also a bit disappointed that we could not access the balcony looking towards the city. I suppose this was a leftover feature from the old room setup, but in the new room, it felt kind of obsolete, as the balcony wall obstructed half of the view. The city lights at night were beautiful though.

The bathroom, though new, seems to harbour some kind of infestation behind its walls/fixtures. Soaking in the bathtub one night, a baby roach casually walked along the edge of the tub. We managed to kill that one with a tissue, just as another was scattering back behind the sink cabinetry. And on another night, upon returning there were two more baby roaches scattering when the bathroom lights came on. Luckily, we were not especially squeamish, but this could be a huge deal breaker for some folk, and the hotel would do well to take care of the issue while they still can! The roaches are breeding!

Gym:
Located on the 5th floor, the gym was small but well equipped with two full sets of barbells (yeas!), a bench press, a chest machine, and lats pull machine. On the cardio side, there were also 2 treadmills (1 broken), stationary bikes, and incline cycler. Also a hi-fi for some music, and a cold water dispenser, it was a perfect gym to upkeep your physique during your vacation. Towels however, seem a bit lacking. On the two days we visited the gym, we had to locate a service staff each day, for the gym towels.

The Bad:

Breakfast:
The quality of food is in no way bad, there was a variety that suited many palettes. On the first day, we saw the European vacationers happily tending to bread rolls, toasts, croissants, eggs, while the Asians guests (Indians, Japanese, Koreans) had more traditional fare like rice, noodles and porridges. The hotel did attract a slightly older Asian clientele, so I could tell the grannies really appreciated these familiar foods. On top of this, the standard cereals, fruits and small salad selection. This was all well and good.

However, on the second and third day, it seemed clear that there was not going to be a rotation of food. It was the same selection, every day for three days straight that we were there. By the end, we were miserably looking at one another, one European family even giving us a sordid understanding look. We didn't ask how long their stay was, but judging from their dreadful faces, it must have been longer than us! Basically that last day, we had enough of the breakfast, and just had muesli/cereal and some fruit. #firstworldproblems

Conclusion:

For the price of SGD90/night, we had minimal expectations. And was pleasantly surprised at the room size, breakfast and general amenities. However, there were a few wrinkles that over a simple 3 nights stay became genuine problems towards the end. We are still unsure if we will return, knowing that the low price we secured the room for was an Agoda promotion. Paying full price, we would have been very disappointed, without doubt.

On a last note, taking the stairs up from the gym, we did pass the lower floors where the Supreme rooms were, and while they were airing/cleaning out the room, managed a quick glance and safe to say, cough up the extra moolah and book the DELUXE!

Room Tip: Request rooms on floors 17, a good height to enjoy the city lights, and close enough to the roof top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Narai Hotel
#209 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#311 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#54 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#122 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#177 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Silom

Property: Furama Silom
Address: 533 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Unico Grande Silom)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furama Silom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Silom, Bangkok features 258 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a combination of modern and contemporary Thai style of sleek glass panels creating a luxurious yet cosy feel. An elegant flatship 4-star hotel features Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suite. Every room allows you to enjoy the dazzling view of metropolitan Bangkok. Contemporary High-rise Hotel located in city center, near business areaA large outdoor swimming pool on 20th floor located at the rooftop with cooling breeze of metropolitan air provides guests with the ideal place to catch a bit of sun to refresh your tan and a refreshing dip in the pool. Alternatively, the pool bar also offers light snacks and drinks. Other Facilities are also with well-equipped like fitness center, sauna, steam room and lockers. Likewise, 2 function rooms and banquet facilities with modern audiovisual equipment can accommodate up to 100 people. High-speed internet access is also available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Silom Hotel Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing