We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, nicely renovated”
Review of Furama Silom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Furama Silom
Ranked #238 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big room, nicely renovated”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Visited Bangkok 10 May 2014 - 13 May 2014 and stayed at Furama Silom, Deluxe Room.

We booked our room through Expedia.com at a very good rate with breakfast included. On the day of arrival, we were given a room with twin beds, but my booking was for a king sized bed. The staff assured us that they will change for us a room with king sized bed on the next day as none was available on our arrival day. Apart from the hassle of unpacking and re-packing, the matter was solved pretty fast.

Their deluxe room was exactly like advertised. Very spacious room with a working desk and sofa. The bathroom was unique with the see through glass - suitable a romantic moment. If you need privacy, just put down the roller blinds. Beds are comfy. Sheets and towels are clean. Toiletries provided. There is hairdryer, bathrobes and iron in the room as well.

Wifi signal ok, but gotta re-login every morning. Our rooms are towards the end of the corridor and still manage to get the signals.

TV channels are a little boring. It would be nice to have more international channel for movies. Most channels are in Thai, so understanding the show is a bit hard. Anyway, we hardly have time for TV so it's not much of a problem.

Breakfast spread was good, with slight changes to some dishes daily so you will not get bored of the food. Breakfast served from 6:00AM to 10:00AM. The crowd usually comes around 9:00AM, so be there early if you prefer a quiet breakfast.

There's a sky bar by the pool at the highest floor. We went up to have a look. Prices are reasonable, but seems like it closes early, by 10:00PM. No fun, if you plan to stay up late and enjoy the night view. Pool is small, water looks clear but tiles colour looks dirty.

The hotel is located within walking distance to Chong Nongsi BTS station. It's only 5 minutes walk. With the BTS, you can basically go to most tourists attractions! One station away is Sala Daeng, where all the shops and Patpong night market are. You may also walk there. Taxis are abundant outside of hotel, but be prepared to negotiate.

Overall nice stay. Staffs are very friendly and always greet you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    812
    411
    127
    77
See reviews for
216
701
216
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here with a friend. The glass walled bathroom was a little strange but with the roll down blinds we overcame that. Great hotel and would stay there again. Friendly staff, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53Paul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First appearance of the outside was poor, but walk through the front door into another world. We had a very spacious and extremely well appointed room on the 12 floor. Bathroom was glass walled and very spacious. Staff were great. The room was modern with a large clean bed. Shower and toilet also very clean. Great room and very well priced. Short walk to night markets and railway. Recommend a drink at the pool bar on dusk. Very good value. We got a special which included breakfast which was also excellent.

Room Tip: Room on the 12 floor was great, the door to the balcony didn't open but there really wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and highly recommend it. It has a fabulous sky bar and pool on the 20th floor. The rooms are spacious and have complimentary wifi. The breakfast is really good. Chong Nonsi Sky Train and Patpong are about 10 minutes walking distance away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenjenkins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at The Furama Silom for nearly 2 months in March & April and have to say it really was like home from home. The staff could not have be more welcoming and made me feel so relaxed and well looked after. There are 2 staff members who are particular brilliant 'Nat' who is the duty Manager on the front desk and 'Son' the young F&B associate. Nat is truly wonderful and couldn't have made me feel more welcome, he goes above and beyond what he's paid for and if I was his GM, I would promote him (A true professional) & Son, a young kid but very astute, Friendly and intelligent always with a smile and 'good morning' greeting . I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and I will do when I return on Business in October 2014. I am actually excited knowing that I will be well looked after and feel as equally comfortable here as I would at home for a number of months. 1 negative, I think they should invest in a few more English/American Movie channels :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It's my 2nd experience with Furama Silom. Apart from the chinese cemetry that was beside the hotel (a little key to take note for superstitious travellers), the deluxe room which I believe was newly renovated. Really beautiful concept. However, I actually upgraded my room to deluxe from superior as the superior was horrible. The room was dim, stained sofa, not a build in wardrobe (the doors was spoilt anyway) and the whole room smells. The red carpet eventually add on to extra eeriness of the whole room. Corridors doesn't have centralised aircon. Really very warm. Would advised travellers to take their deluxe room for a much better experience. Just pay a little more for a totally different kind of comfort for accommodation. Staffs was friendly anyway. An additional bonus to it. Just take note of those taxi drivers outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a much better accommodation. Would not advise their superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nestled in the business district by day/colorful, night life district by night of Bangkok, this hotel is well suited for going on foot to the main attractions in the city, or to taking the Skytrain. It’s a 15-minute walk to the Chao Praya river with its requisite temple visits.
The rooms are quite large compared with many places we have stayed in Thailand. We asked for a room with twin beds, and to our surprise ended up with two large double beds. The room was clean and suited our needs perfectly.
The buffet lunch (hotel quests get a discount) is extensive, and very good. We were surprised at the quality and ate far too much… the curry was fantastic! Tables and tables of Thai food, intermixed with a few Western dishes, are there for the taking. Breakfast was also good (wonderful coffee machine!).
There is a small rooftop deck with a swimming pool and bar (nice view at night).
Just outside the entrance massage parlors abound… $10. will get you a one-hour foot massage, topped off with a shoulder and neck massage.
If you’ve always wanted a pricey bag you could afford, the Patpong market is just a few blocks down the road, interspersed with a plethora of ‘specialty’ bars, pool halls, and live music venues with go go girls (it is aka the ‘knock offs and knockers’ part of town!) Around this same area is the fantastic open air Sky Bar on the 34th floor of the Lebua Hotel . Amazing view! Expensive drinks, but worth the ambiance and view. Not to be missed.
Another must visit is the MBK shopping center, also within walking distance. Six floors of goodies.
One caveat, unless one enjoys the experience of racing around in a tuk tuk, as we do… is the increasing, new approach by people wanting you to purchase items from businesses where they get a cut, which is prevalent around the Silom area. “Where are you going?... Oh, today is a holiday and the temples are closed…. But my friend here (an adjacent tuk tuk driver) will take you for only 25 baht (75 cents) to a place where you can get the best… come, come!” Knowing full well that it was not a holiday, we decided to go simply to ride a tuk tuk cheaply. Once at the shop, we walked in and out, and he offered to take us to the river to look around. It was exhilarating! And cheap. Then off we went to visit the temples. The next day we were heading to the MBK shopping mall, and a woman approached saying that MBK was opening only in the afternoon, because it was a Wednesday, but she knew a better place to shop. Also not true, as we knew, and continued on our way to the wide open MBK. Love the plays as they search for business! And on that note, Thai people are very generous to homeless and those in need who ask for money on the streets. We followed suit and gave change everywhere.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junketjotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#209 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#307 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#57 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#117 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#178 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Silom

Property: Furama Silom
Address: 533 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Unico Grande Silom)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furama Silom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Silom, Bangkok features 258 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a combination of modern and contemporary Thai style of sleek glass panels creating a luxurious yet cosy feel. An elegant flatship 4-star hotel features Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suite. Every room allows you to enjoy the dazzling view of metropolitan Bangkok. Contemporary High-rise Hotel located in city center, near business areaA large outdoor swimming pool on 20th floor located at the rooftop with cooling breeze of metropolitan air provides guests with the ideal place to catch a bit of sun to refresh your tan and a refreshing dip in the pool. Alternatively, the pool bar also offers light snacks and drinks. Other Facilities are also with well-equipped like fitness center, sauna, steam room and lockers. Likewise, 2 function rooms and banquet facilities with modern audiovisual equipment can accommodate up to 100 people. High-speed internet access is also available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Silom Hotel Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing