We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so service, far from the action”
Review of TK Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TK Palace Hotel
Ranked #460 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“So-so service, far from the action”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My overall experience at TK Palace was underwhelming. First, it took me a long time to get here from the airport. The hotel is close to the old airport (Don Muang), but most international and domestic flights are in Subharnabhumi Aiport further south. It's the Chaeng Wattana area of north Bangkok. It is close to the new government complex, so if you have business with government agencies such as tourism or ICT, you might the location convenient. But if you're a first time visitor to Bangkok, this place will be very far from most of the sites downtown, and there are no BTS or subway station servicing the area. But since you are far from the tourist areas, you will have a more authentic suburban Thai experience. There are a Big C and Tesco Lotus supermarkets 10-15 minutes walk on the other side of the highway, if you want to do some groceries or eat out.

The hotel itself is a bit dated, and hard to get to. Taxis won't usually know the place, so bring a map. Lobby is pleasant enough, as is the reception staff, but not too helpful. English is limited, as I suspect they don't get too many foreigners. The room I got was on the old wing. I was greeted with a musky smell, dark red carpeting and Asian 80s-style furnishings. The size of the room was large, but unfortunately, the window faced a firewall, so I almost got no sunlight. TV had limited English channels. Hot water was not working in the shower. There was leftover cigarette smoke, and the room was not too clean. The breakfast had a limited selection, which did not vary much during the 4 days I was there. Surprisingly for Thailand, the food was not good. The restaurant staff seemed uninterested in providing good service, and were not smiling.

I was here for a meeting, but nevertheless, the overall experience left me disappointed. You would stay here only if you want quick access to the Don Muang airport or have business with the government agencies in the area. This is definitely not a place for holidaymakers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the window actually faces the sky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
17
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We loved the TK PALACE HOTEL ! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the hotel is near shopping center it is just across the street. It is located in a pretty touristy area and we still managed to have a great sleep undisturbed by any noise. I would definitely come back here if I return to Bangkok , it was well worth the money !

Room Tip: Only 15 minutes to Airport and shopping center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohsyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I didn't want to write a terrible review because a lot of the staff such as the maids and the bellboys were very gracious, so I will give you only the facts:

1. The hotel advertises karaoke, even on posters in the elevators: when we asked the front desk, they looked at us like we were crazy to be asking where the karaoke was and told us there was no karaoke at the hotel.
2. When we asked for more stationary because it was not replenished in our room, we got the same reaction & response.
3. There were ants and small insects in the room.
4. The breakfast... ok, so they tried, but nothing to write home about.
5. Slow and expensive internet. You can buy 15 minutes, 45 minutes or 24 hours (which needs to be used within 48 hours). You cannot purchase 12 hours or anything. 45minutes ~24hr gap is quite large and you know that either way, you are being ripped off. Reception was also rude about this issue.
6. Very poor water pressure for the shower and sink.
7. Toiletries are very poor quality, especially the shampoo.
8. Construction going on at the time beside the hotel. Usually, hotels give something complimentary such as internet or at least a fruit basket when there is construction noise going on all day right next to the hotel.
9. Thin walls. Very thin, you can hear next door and the corridor.
10. Staying in over hundreds of hotels in my life, I have never come across one that has called up to the room to tell us not to wash clothes in our room. Even some 5 star hotels offer retractable washing lines so that you can wash simple things like hosery or underwear (even if they offer laundry service). We left things to dry above the bathtub, but we didn't think that they would have a problem with this. Evidently, they did.. which is petty. In a way, it was an invasion of privacy and free right.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Jetsetta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We stayed one night in this accomodation and had a good stay.

The lobby was stylish and the staff helpful, with our luggage being taken to our rooms for us.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with comfy beds, TV, and modern clean bathroom.

We ate in the restaurant and the menu was a good selection, at reasonable prices and was very tasty.

We had a very early start, our wake up call happened on time, and a small breakfast was provided for us despite the very early hour.

We booked on line and got a good price of around £18.

Our only problem was that now that Don Muang airport has closed down and the new international airport is dealing with all flights, this hotel is now a good hour away from the new airport.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — distance from airport
  • Tips/Secrets — look around on line for the best deal
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2006

I was just recommending this hotel to friends, so thought I would write a review. We stayed here three years ago when we were arriving very late at night and leaving the next day for Chiang Mai. It is close to the airport. Sequestered away in the middle of a block in a suburb, but a short walk to a department store in case you realize you forgot to bring.....??

Reception staff extremely helpful and understanding. Room squeaky clean. Wake-up call when requested, and taxi waiting to take us to airport.

We were so pleased with the service that we booked our "exit night" three weeks hence, and we were welcomed back like royalty.

For a stopover, this hotel can't be beat! We didn't have time to take advantage of all the facilities, but the price was right and we felt very well cared for.

  • Liked — proximity to airport, excellent front desk personnel, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cab driver professed not to know where it was!
  • Tips/Secrets — be sure to have phone number and directions to give to cab driver
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sagelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
0.9 mi away
Casa Residence Hotel
Casa Residence Hotel
#502 of 862 in Bangkok
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centra by Centara Government Complex Hotel & Convention Centre Chaeng Watthana
1.2 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
1.8 mi away
ibis Bangkok IMPACT
ibis Bangkok IMPACT
#4 of 10 in Pak Kret
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Wanda Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TK Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TK Palace Hotel

Property: TK Palace Hotel
Address: 54/7 Chaengwattana Road | Soi 15, Laksi, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TK Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TK. Palace Hotel is a Boutique Hotel. located in peaceful natural surroundings within the central of business area on Chaengwattana road. The hotel is only ten-minute-drive from Impact Exhibition and Convention Center (Muang Thong Thani). It also takes less than five minutes to the expressway leading to the heart of Bangkok 280 accommodation luxury rooms and suites are deal for business traveler's facilities within the hotel include business center. 8 meeting room are also Cattleya Coffee shop. Please specify the dates of your stay in a hotel online with our secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your TK Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing