We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as impressive as last time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #146 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as last time.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Chose to stay at this hotel for my other half's birthday after our wonderful honeymoon experience earlier this year. Although I contacted the hotel to inform them of the reason for our trip and they acknowledged it, it was not acknowledged when we checked in or at any other time during our stay.
Because of the occasion, we upgraded to a club room. Probably wouldn't do it for a normal trip, but the quiet and civilised breakfast in the classy club room was incredibly relaxing. Breakfast is to be avoided in the regular restaurant-- very mediocre.
Speaking of breakfast, we slept in the first morning and missed the club breakfast, so ordered room service. Awful food, waited forever for them to deliver tomato sauce which didn't come the first time, and the worst thing-- eggshells in the eggs!
Will the hotel management please ban smoking around the pool-- this time around there always seemed to be one or two rude Europeans smoking and they were clearly in the minority-- why should their antisocial and unhealthy smoking be tolerated?
Club room was no different to regular room, really. Some issues with maintenance-- electricity socket wasn't working so made it impossible to style my hair on the first morning. Unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.
I was most disappointed this time around. Not a bad stay, but not memorable. Having had such a great experience before, I'm sad that our reason for staying was not acknowledged.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room facing the road if you don't want to hear faint sound of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear bimdonesia,

Thank you for detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize on behalf of the whole team that we were not able to match the standards we set for your previous visit.

We have taken your comments very seriously and have already implemented a no smoking policy at the pool, as well as undertaken a complete review of our room service process to ensure that these kinds of issues do not happen again.

I do hope that you will give our hotel another chance to impress you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    631
    203
    54
    31
See reviews for
243
536
136
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
서울특별시, 대한민국
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stay there for 3 nights and it is very closed to BTS Phaya Thai. 2 stops to Siam Paragon!!
Hotel is comportable to stay! Name of hotel have been changed to 'The Sukosol Bangkok'

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 푸우우
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear 푸우우,

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel, which I have passed on to the team. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that you will return again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August. I believe the hotel is new renovated and it is very easy to see this in the public areas. The lobby, the Bar and the restaurants are all very nice. Unfortunately, the room I stayed in was the same one I stayed in 5 years previously and it was outdated then. It wasn't bad as there was plenty of space but it is very old. The bathrooms seem like something from the 1990's.
Aside from the room, everything was very good, great location, excellent breakfast, friendly and accommodating staff (allowing us to order food not on the menu in the Thai restaurant). Overall, I would very happy to stay here again, so long as I get one of the newer renovated rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunky353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Chunky353,

First of all, thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations regarding your room. As you mentioned, we have been renovating throughout the hotel over the past few years, including many of our guest rooms.

We have just finished up our new suites too, which are very spacious and we hope that you will have a chance to come back to experience them soon.

Best regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for five nights only as stop off.
Good location for sky train as you turn right and the station stop is just five mins walk.Lovely and friendly staff. Food excellent. Nice pool on roof if its not too smoggy and spa for massage.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear sassie319,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted our location, staff and food.

On behalf of all the staff here, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

For many years I have been staying at the Sukosol {Siam City Hotel} Bangkok, and every year the Hotel just gets better in all ways.

The Management and Staff are amazing, nothing is every a problem to them, the food is superb.

I recommend this Hotel to travellers for your relaxed holiday in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrlygallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Shirleyg7025,

Many thanks on behalf of the whole team for your recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed the food and service here at The Sukosol.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for both business and leisure. It's location is very convenient to the office and the sky walk.

The concierge was pretty much knowledgeable when it comes to giving restaurant recommendations.

The pool, spa and gym were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHermitIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are very happy to hear you highlight our good location and the team will also be pleased to hear you had a good stay.

On behalf of everyone at The Sukosol, I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Traveled here with a friend this summer and the service was wonderful. The rooms were very clean, the staff helpful and the food was incredible! I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury stay at a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have the address to the hotel on hand because most of the taxi drivers did not kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeless_Wanderer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Hopeless_Wanderer91,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments, the team will be so happy to hear them, especially regarding the food and service. We appreciate your recommendation and hope that we can welcome you back to The Sukosol soon.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#328 of 852 in Bangkok
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park Hotel
#145 of 852 in Bangkok
1,620 reviews
Vince Hotel
#194 of 852 in Bangkok
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing