We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #122 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I was quite surprised at the value for money this hotel offered! It was a beautiful lobby, fast polite check in, room was great- cleaned daily, linen changed daily, everything in working order- fridge safe flat screen cable tv Internet etc -- all top notch. Hot water wonderful, decor tasteful. The staff were all polite no matter what rank all saying hello when it was not really even expected. Hotel decor in general was tasteful too. Really nothing bad to say. Location was amazing, right near airport train and also bts station. No hassle, no restrictions, just the very type of hotel that you would like to come home to after a long adventurous day. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Edward C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is very gratifying to hear that we surpassed your expectations across the board and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    650
    205
    54
    31
See reviews for
261
553
144
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

we traveled to Thailand in mid Nov and the hotel was picked by our agency...What a great choice...Rooms were clean...beds a bit harder then we were use to but comfortable...breakfasts were good...what a variety to chose from...the staff were all very attentive to all of us...highly reccommend it !! We did notice that there were few places to plug in things (recharge i-pads...breathing machine) that is the only fault we could find....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marydelila48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear marydelila48,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review, we are happy that you had a good stay with us and appreciated our breakfast buffet as well as the staff.

From everyone here at The Sukosol, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in room 1665 from 3rd dec to 6th dec and there is nothing to complain about. Having said that, we would like to throw in 2 sugg - 1. the shower - please consider to install shower curtain to prevent water from splashing out. 2. Have better varities of in-house TV programms. There are too many news channels .

Staffs are extremely polite, friendly and helpful!! I have a small incident at checkout and the staffs have dealt with the problem in the most professional way!! I have to say their customer service is far more better than my own country's ..

The hotel is 5 mins to Airport Rail and BTS train station thus it is relatively easy to move around (trust me - save you $$ from taking taxi). It is slightly further away from the noisy shopping area too.

On the whole - worth the money paid for (booked with Expedia), great stay, will returnfor subsequent visits and will recommend The Sukosol to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 090274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear 090274,

Many thanks for your kind words and positve recommendation. We are so happy that you enjoyed our good location and professional staff during your stay with us. You may also hopefully be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of adding shower curtains in our rooms.

Please do consider staying with us again for any future visits and note that if you book direct through our website, we do offer additional benefits such as later check-out and dining vouchers.

We hope that you will be able to visit again soon.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We used the Sukosol as a base in Bangkok for four nights during a trip to Thailand. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the end of the line for the RailLink, which proved to be very useful as we were able to quickly get to and from the airport for separate trips to the north and south, coming back to Bangkok each time. The hotel staff were pleasant and very professional, and the hotel was able to store our greater amount of luggage between each of the legs of our trip and pick us up and drop us off from the RailLink with our larger volume of luggage at the very start and end of our trip. The hotel is also close to the SkyTrain, which made it convenient to get to the river transports or other stops of interest along the main lines. The rooms were clean and had the expected amenities with a comfortable bed. Overall, the hotel does has a business hotel feel (with a very affordable nightly room rate) with views of the highway and other buildings as noted in other reviews, but it is a very good choice for convenience if you will be traveling to and from Bangkok repeatedly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear amnjcbnc,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is satisfying to hear that you were happy with your experience here.

As you noted, our location is very convenient for jetsetting business travellers, although thanks to the Skytrain, we are also suitable for guests looking to see Bangkok's sights too.

On behalf of the whole team, we hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

The only negative I can think of is the view. The hotel fronts a busy and unattractive road, but the window insulation works well and there is no traffic noise.

The location near the airport rail link is excellent, although beware....there are no escalators at the station and they are very long stairs.

Rooms are Ok and very clean. I've read a few reviews saying that the rooms needed updating, but this was not the case with ours ....it was fine.

The foyer/lounge area is lovely. Biggest plus for us was the excellent breakfasts with good coffee. The large selection of complimentary newspapers was also a nice touch.

If we came back to Bangkok again we'd be happy to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear AustraliaWanderers,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding your stay. It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, your room and our location.

The team was also pleased to read that you would be happy to stay again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a total of three nights in November with a tour group and was very pleased with our experience there. First of all, the hotel staff was always polite and helpful and very accommodating. We actually stayed one night after arriving in Bangkok and then again several days later for two nights. When we arrived the second time we were upgraded to huge rooms on the top floor of the left side of the hotel...the rooms were always clean, pillows comfy, beds abit firm but fine for sleeping. The hotel is in an area where you can walk outside to various shops and vendors and lots of street activity. The lobby and shops/ restaurant area are lovely with flowers everywhere. Breakfasts were excellent with a large variety of items to choose from. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Margot M,

Many thanks for your kind words, the team will love to hear your feedback on our service and facilities. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast buffet and our great location and we do hope this means you will be back to stay again soon.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Apart from traditional Thai luxury of the Sukosol, the location beats it all - right next to a Skytrain station, as well as to Airport Express Link and Pyathai Road. I have stayed at King Siam Suite and, apart from the luxury suite itself, enjoyed the private breakfast and afternoon drinks and delicious hot snacks at their exclusive club lounge. Not a single complaint re.service, and, of course, you should try their famous macaroons :) The bed was large and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a high, better club, flor, for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Victor K,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially that you liked our new suites.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to stay again soon.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#338 of 866 in Bangkok
327 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park Hotel
#147 of 866 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Vince Hotel
#191 of 866 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing